We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We Liked It!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
1 review
“We Liked It!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Clean, recently renovated. I think this must be an older hotel, but it has been updated. It is beautiful. The room we were in was small, but had everything we needed, and was very clean, attractively decorated, and perfectly comfortable and modern. The staff could not be nicer, and there is recycling on every floor. Laundry facilities available on several floors, very nice grill out by the pool if you do not have one on your lania. The pool is small but very nice, and the area around the pool is really beautiful. The lobby has comfortable seating, computers (fees apply for internet access there or is free in your room), complimentary iced tea, lemon water, and apples. Wonderful valet service for your rental car (reasonable rates) - but within walking distance of everything you need, just a couple of blocks from the beach (the hotel loans complimentary beach towels and body boards, etc...), dining (can be pricey, so we opted to use our in room kitchen and the grill at the pool to save money!), convenience stores, shopping, etc....

Room Tip: I would always choose a room with a kitchenette. You will save more than the difference in price by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Aloha Melynda H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so happy that you found our hotel to be comfortable and clean and that you enjoyed the many amenities we offer such as beach/pool amenities, BBQ grills, beverages, recycling and laundry facilities as well as internet services. We are thrilled that the staff was nice and you enjoyed the close walks to shops, restaurants and Waikiki Beach.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    638
    214
    85
    46
See reviews for
372
754
135
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

2 blocks from the only real grocery store in Waikiki, another 2 blocks in the other direction to a warm-water, protected beach (near the Duke statue). The bus stop is right across the street and we made good use of it. The street noise didn't bother us much; we were able to tune it out.

If you want to spend the big bucks to stay in a large resort beachside, go ahead. But this was perfect for us. Just a few steps from our room to the elevator, and from the elevator to the pool and hot tub.

We found a great little Korean takeout (Me's) right around the corner.

Much appreciated: the free coffee, cold drinks, and newspapers in the lobby. (How many hotels do this? Not many.) The free use of boogie boards, rafts and beach chairs, which we could take to the beach. The clean room with new appliances. The serenity of the small, quiet pool area (where I would often sit on a lounge chair and read a book after dark).

I could tell this hotel really cares about its guests. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Aloha OhioGal2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so happy that you enjoyed the many amenities we offer such as beach/pool amenities along with beverages and newspapers in the lobby. We are happy that you found the hotel’s location to be a convenience to you with close by bus stops, restaurants and Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled that the staff‘s care and concern for all of our guests was apparent.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I have been long time Aqua hotel customers, even going so far as to host our entire wedding party at the Aqua Aloha Surf when we had our wedding a few years ago.

We arranged a last minute trip to Hawaii for our wedding anniversary, and I booked the Aqua bamboo luxury one-bedroom suite.

As soon as we got up to our room it was love at first sight; you would be hard pressed to tell which has more square feet, the Lanai or the room; honestly the lanai is huge. The hotel staff, who I had advised of our wedding anniversary when I booked the room, had a bottle of chilled champagne and chocolates waiting for us on arrival; a really nice touch, and the reason we keep choosing bamboo properties. We enjoyed both on the lounge chairs of the lanai. The lanai included a BBQ grill, and enough seating for about a dozen people; it would be a great place to entertain.

On the topic of entertaining, there is a small kitchenette (2 burners, microwave, small fridge) and a wet bar on the other side of the room with another fridge, stereo, TV, iPod dock, and DVD player. Across the street and one block west there is a large grocery store, where I was able to buy everything we needed for a few nights of grilling food and enjoying cold beer out on the lanai. It was truly a home away from home. Next time we go we'll have to bring some friends with us so we can make better use of the entertainment space.

On the topic of construction, yes they are refurbishing the exterior and yes it is loud during the week from the hours of 9AM to 5PM. It is a good motivator to get out of the room and get moving; you didn't come to Hawaii to sleep, right? If you need to get away from the noise, the lanai is almost completely immune, so a nice cat nap in the sun will make you forget all about the construction. Other reviews mentioned roaches, we didn't see any during our stay; I saw one outside, but I'd say that doesn't count.

The location of the hotel is great, right in the heart of Waikiki without being right on the strip; Kuhio Ave can get noisy at times, between street traffic and people partying on the weekends; I only noticed it during our stay on Saturday night.

We're already planning our trip back :)

Room Tip: Quieter rooms will be on higher floors and away from the street. Room 904 (Luxury one bedroom suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikediliberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Aloha Mikediliberto,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our Deluxe Luxury One Bedroom Suite with its suitable kitchenette, along with the BBQ grill and ample lounge space on the lanai. We are delighted that you found the convenient location to benefit you with our close by grocery stores and Waikiki Beach, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki to be able to put your feet up and relax in peace.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I recently needed a relaxing overnight stay and came across the Aqua Bamboo when looking for a hotel with kamaaina rates in Waikiki. Being from the area and walking by daily never would I have suspected such a relaxing atmosphere from the room to the pool area, indeed an oasis on Kuhio avenue. My reservations were for a standard room and was pleasantly suprised by the updated furnishings and cleanliness all around. Giving it a spa like feel from cozy robes hanging in the closet, orchids around the bathroom, to hot and cold tea, lemonade and coffee in the lobby at your 24 hour disposal made it just that extra special. I will certainly be recommending it and returning my self! Mahalo nui loa from this kamaaina!

Room Tip: They were continuing to renovate so I was on Kuhio ave which was fine.... I think the poolside rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Aloha Kathy H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are so pleased to hear that you found comfort in our relaxing atmosphere. We are thrilled to hear that you also enjoyed the complimentary amenities offered such as beverages served in the lobby.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a room with 2 double-beds. It was fine but nothing special. Our room faced Kuhio avenue, which has a lot of traffic noise, even at night.

The hotel is still under construction. During the day the hotel balconies were being jack-hammered so the entire building vibrated. The hotel limited construction to daytime hours - 9am to 5pm, in the hope that most guests would be out during the noise. Since we have a small child we spent a fair amount of time at our hotel during the day.

Only stayed for 2 nights and then the hotel staff moved us to a sister property - Aqua Surf - which is on a side street and not under construction and so much quieter.

Also the room at the Bamboo felt cramped. The same price room at the Aqua Surf was bigger and had a better layout.

Room Tip: The location is very central which is good, but also means there is traffic noise from the street. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tbetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Aloha Tbetel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are thankful for your honest feedback as it is a vital tool for our improvement and growth.

Please except our sincerest apologies for the construction noise you encountered during your recent stay. Most regrettably, there is never a good or perfect time to complete needed repairs and renovations while staying in operation. We are glad that we were able to better accommodate you at our sister hotel, the Aloha Surf.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and we hope that you will give us a second chance when you return to Hawai’i.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,032 - ₹ 21,929
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing