We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaiian hotel in Waikiki”
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Good hotel next to the Ala Wai canal. Nice big rooms with a balcony and a kitchen and a dining areal. Nice bathroom but the walls needed some new paint. Safe in the room.
We had a nice view of the canal from our lanai and all the hustle and bustle from the street next to the canal. Friendly staff and very quick when it came to fixing things like the temperature in the little pool. very close to restaurants and shops and Waikiki beach. Free parking if you can find a parking space in the adjoining parking (part of the hotel).
The local bar is a little lively but harmless.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bjarne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations and amenities met your needs. We are glad that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017

First let start by saying that it is not the Ritz Carlton; however, this hotel is located right in the middle of Waikiki Beach. When you walk out of the lobby it is ½ block walk to the International Marketplace and a 1.5 block to the beautiful Waikiki Beach. The place offers free parking and each tenant is required to display a sign on their windshield to indicate that they belong there. I have read some reviews that the lot was full and they were unable to find a spot. We never encountered that problem even after arriving to the hotel after 11:30 pm. There is a pool on the lobby level that opens at 8:00 am and closes as dusk. The hotel is quiet, in fact we never heard a single neighbor the whole time we were there. Our room had a great view of the channel where canoe races were constantly happening throughout the day and a golf course. Each room comes with a stove, microwave, refrigerator, and all the utensils necessary to help make it feel like home. There was a large wide screen lcd tv in the room, but we never turned it on. When we travel we basically sleep, shower, and sometimes eat at the hotel; so over the top amenities aren’t that necessary. The room was clean and the staff was excellent. They were very friendly and provided beach towels, pool towels, bamboo matts for the beach and driving directions. On the third day I was there my room key stopped working. When I went to the front desk to get the key reprogrammed the person working the counter stopped checking a customer in and helped me right away. It was nice to know that they do not move current customers to the back burner after they are checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations and amenities met your needs. We are glad that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This hotel was affordable and was one of the only hotels with free parking. It had air conditioning. This hotel was dated. Most of it was from the 70's. Nothing luxury if that's what you are searching for.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmkastanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at the 'Ilima. We appreciate your feedback and are working every day to create the best guest experience possible. We hope that you had a comfortable stay and will recommend us to friends and family seeking value at a reasonable price in Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We had a lovely big room overlooking the golf course and mountains, included kitchen and balcony. Wifi was a bit touch and go but great location. Pool and sauna were great.
Staff are always so willing to help.

Room Tip: Great views on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandra268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Aloha

Thanks for taking time to comment on your recent stay at 'Ilima. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including the accommodations and amenities and are pleased that the staff provided service in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and we look forward to your next visit to 'Ilima Hotel!

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We just spent 11 nights at the Ilima in Waikiki and would recommend this hotel for budget conscious travellers. We had a two bedroom unit with a kitchen which was more than adequate for our needs. The place was clean and comfortable with a daily service. Great front desk staff who can provides lots of recommendation for the island. Great having free parking within the building, we never missed out on getting a park. Other things that were good was the Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and a very adequate swimming pool and also the guest laundry.

If you are looking for a great economical hotel consider the Ilima.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHIL S, General Manager at Ilima Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Aloha,

Thanks for taking time to comment on your stay at 'Ilima Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our accommodations and amenities met your needs. We are glad that our staff welcomed you in the true Aloha spirit. We hope you will tell your friends about us and look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to sunny Waikiki.

Phil Sammer, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
308 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,663 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 9,683 - ₹ 22,594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing