We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay with no surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I've never stayed at a Ramada before, but this hotel was comparable to other mid-priced chain hotels I have stayed in. Rooms were clean and modern with unexceptional decor. We had a tiny fridge, microwave and safe in our room which were nice. We used the pool quite a bit and it was always well maintained as were the lobby and other common areas. Hotel was quiet for sleeping and had a decent view of Ala Moana Blvd. Staff was courteous and friendly to us. One complaint was that one of the hotel's two elevators was broken during our stay which made getting to and from our 15th floor room rather slow. Not the hotel's fault, but I learned that it was broken for 6 weeks. A nice location with short walk to beach and restaurants. One tip: there is a Food Pantry store (also bank and Post Office) in Eaton Square behind the hotel that has a better selection of food, drinks, etc. than the ABC stores which are everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Aloha DavidC from Poestenkill NY: I hope we have changed your mind about staying at Ramada Hotels. Ramada is now under the Wyndham Brand and in fafct our hotel was voted one of the top 30 Ramada's in the country. Yes, we are an off-beach hotel and able to offer affordable rates and it sounds like you were please with our free amenities. Thank you for your patience with our elevators - both are now up and running. Being in Hawaii and having repairs needed is a challenge since the parts have to be shipped from the mainland but we're so happy all is well now!

We are proud of our neigborhood and the near-by restaurants and shopping opportunites.

Thanks again for staying with us and if you come back, let us know,
Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,362)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,093 - 1,097 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed here for one night because we flew in one day early before going to Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club. We got a super rate for only $99 through Hotwire.com HotDeal. The hotel is small, typical Ramada. Room was small, but had a little fridge for drinks which was convenient. Beds were comfy and room and bathroom were clean. It was fine for one night, but I am spoiled so I can't say I'd want to stay there longer then one night. Parking was $20 which was a rip for non secure parking. Location was easy with about three ABC stores to walk to..I woukd stay here again in a pinch, but only if I paid $99 not the full price. Wasn't worth more than that..

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lavarock777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Aloha CandyCadeCA from Southern California: Thanks for staying with us for the one night. We apreciate the feedback and understand your frustation with parking. Because of comments like yours we now have added 24 hour parking security.

Thank you for coming to Hawaii - we don't think you are spoiled - everyone is entitled to their own opinions and we appreciate you letting us know your thoughts!

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Affordable clean rooms with small frig and microwave located across the street from the Hilton Hawaiian Village. (The military hotel Hale Koa is behind the Hilton. So,if the Hale koa is booked the Ramada is a great alternative.) Free breakfast buffet only gets 3 stars (food is ok, but I'm not a fan of Chinese food for bkfst) but the staff's hospitality more than makes up for it, thus overall the 5 stars! Parking was $20/night, or you can take your chances parking on the mostly residential streets behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher level floor to avoid the street noise. I was on floor 15 and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophiePJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Aloha Sophie PJ in San Diego: Thank you for the complimentary reveiw. WOW! I'm glad our off beach prices and great amenities helped make your stay enjoyable. Our staff is awesome and I'm so glad you recognize that they truly have the Aloha Spirit!

We are planning on upgrading the restaurant in the ensuing months so if you have a chance to come back you will be able to enjoy the renovations and new food concept.

Thanks so much for staying with us -

Warmest Aloha,

Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My wife and I were hit with an awful smell of Chinese food when we hit the room. Only to find out the next day that there is a sub-par Chinese restaurant downstairs. The room was ok. The walls were filthy, but the restroom was clean. The bed was comfortable and we slept well once we got use to the smell. If you are on a budget and you only plan to use the room to sleep then this place is ok. I think I will spend a few more $ next time and avoid this place. Parking is $20.00 a night be aware.

Room Tip: The Hilton down the street is excellent and Turtle Bay on the North Shore is the best experience you...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Aloha JS from Houson: I are pleased that you stayed with us and would like to apologize that we did not meet all your expectations. The "smell" and the fithy walls are not typical of any responses we have had but we are advising both our housekeeping and maintenance departments to follow up. Parking does seem expensive at $20 a night but because we are on an island parking is premium. Most hotels on Ala Moana Blvd charge $20 - $25. The Hilton across the street charges $35 per night. We are offering a discounted parking rate $15 to join our Wyndham Rewards program and if you were not offered that we are very sorry.

It's only with comments like yours that we can know what we might be missing and can fix it.

Thank you very much for your comments and we hope you will give us another try.
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Our stay at the Ramada Plaza Waikiki was great. The staff are helpful and friendly from Management to Housekeeping, rooms are very clean, location close to Ala Moana shopping was very convenient. Very good value for the money - and included all the amenities we needed. Quiet rooms, everything worked, AC was wonderful. The staff make you feel very welcome - it feels like a home away from home! We will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Manager at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Aloha!

It was great that you thought of us as your "home away from home"! We strive to provide each guest with a welcome feeling, as well as a safe, clean, and aesthetically pleasing environment. Plus, our location can't be beat! We are so close to the beach (without the beach prices) and dining, shopping, entertainment, and anything else you might be looking for. Thanks for staying with us and we definitely look forward to hosting your time here again.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
1,485 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,897 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
531 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,873 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 8,293 - ₹ 13,757 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing