We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Equus clean and cozy”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Really enjoyed the location of this little hole in the wall hotel. Stayed in the smaller part of hotel, not the tower. Great location, walking distant to versatile restaurants, shopping mall, stores, beach. Small, but, comfortable clean room. Great place just to rest in. Continental breakfast was perfect start of the day. Be prepared with parking situation, and rainy days. B+ on Hotel and Staff.

Room Tip: there are two parts of the hotel, one is 10 stories high and the other is the 3x higher. The Equus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreenie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Doreenie S.,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate every opportunity to improve our services, and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is ideal for those wanting to visit Waikiki, have access to both beaches and shop at Ala Moana center. We do have a small lot for parking, however, whe there is great demand for parking, there is access to a lot just across the steet for a reasonable price. Waikiki is an extremely busy destination, however we will always find a space to park within walking distance of the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed your vacation, and will return to stay with us again soon.

Many mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 958 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

When ever we come to Oahu we always stay at the Equus Hotel. The location is perfect for us. We always look forward to see the staff at the Equus Hotel. Where greeted by your bell man Keo in the parking lot to help check us in and take our bags up stairs to the front desk. The front desk employees are so wonderful and there hospitality.Doing the check in process Puka is such a helpful guy and always make sure that we are satisfied, before we leave the front desk. But of course we always look forward to see Renee. We just luv that great smile and Renee is always dressed in hawaiian attire with a haku lei, Renee always speaks in a humble voice, and always make sure that we have da best care. So we just want to thank Renee and her staff at the front desk of the Equus Hotel for the Aloha spirit. Keep up the good work. ALOHA!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the the mauka side is quieter and the end rooms seems to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Shelby K,

Many many mahalos for choosing to stay with us on your visits to Oahu. Our staff is grateful to have you and your family as part of The Equus Ohana. Rene and her front desk team strive to make our guest experience full of aloha, and to create a unique feeling of home. We are so glad that Keo, Puka, Rene, and the rest of our staff really made your experience a memorable one. We all look forward to your return. Please let us know as soon as you plan your next visit to Oahu!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

It may not be the Ritz, but it has a wonderful cozy charm to it. The rooms are very nice, the staff is friendly, and Waikiki and Ala Moana are easily accessible by foot. The price was very reasonable as well. I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for something a little more boutique and laid back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cooper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Cooper H,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased to have offed you the ease of location and service, with a personalized boutique feel. We strive to cater to each individual guest experience, and create a memorable stay. Please come stay with us again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Me and the ohana stayed at the Equus from Friday thru Sunday (Staycation) and we loved it! The rooms are very cozy and the staff is very friendly. Rene did a great job in setting us up in a nice room with comfortable beds! We didn't get a chance to swim or spend much time in the hotel over the weekend, but the time we did spend there was awesome. Rene treated us like VIP, so much aloha! The location was perfect for us because my daughter had a prom at the Alamoana Hotel, which is less than 5 minutes away! And of course, the Equus was alot cheaper than the Alamona Hotel, especially for staying for 2 nights. Thank you, Rene, for making our staycation an awesome one!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina Girl Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Lina girl Q,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay. Thank you for complimenting our front desk staff. Rene will be pleased to hear that she was able to provide excellent service and make you feel at home. We are glad to have provided you with the convenience of location, and individualized service to make your trip to town a luxury escape. We hope that you will return to stay with us again soon! Like us on Facebook and get access to some amazing deals and events for your next getaway!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A very nice, reasonably-priced and walking distance to Waikiki Beach. and I just can't say enough about the staff. KEO who checked me in and brought my luggage to the room - very friendly and helpful Hawaiian gentleman. RENE: oh Rene, I miss you already - she even made a fresh LEI with frangipani flowers at home the 1st night, brought it to the Hotel and put it around my neck the next morning and wished me a very warm ALOHA welcome. She even brought in artistically cut half pineapple to represent a birthday cake for my 60th birthday on April 3rd. And all the other staff: Puka, Jason the house-maids - very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIGGS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

JeffMAHARAJ,

Many mahalos for your complimentary review. It is such a pleasure to hear we were able to make your birthday a memorable one. Our team is delighted to be recognized individually, as we strive to provide the most excellent experience for our guests. We are ecstatic to have you as part of our Equus Ohana, and we look forward to your return.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
614 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
588 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,380 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 8,325 - ₹ 16,195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing