We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Laylow, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Laylow, Autograph Collection
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

This was my first time in Hawaii. I had planned & budgeted, but without the help of Nicole@traveltoparadise, I would never have tried this hotel. It was next to the International Marketplace, close to all the local beach attractions, and 2 blocks from the beach itself. All the tours I went on were a local pick-up and when I needed information on ANYTHING!!! Kisha, James and the fromt desk staff helped me tremendously. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone who is budget minded and wants a great experience with a caring staff.
BTW, the rooms were immaculately kept, 7 there was tea, coffee, a micro wave and refrigerator available for my use. could it get any better than this??!!!

Room Tip: BUdget minded, go through the front desk or your travel agent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cece N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    980
    419
    169
    91
See reviews for
739
840
196
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We booked this hotel the day of our stay as our plans in Oahu had changed. The customer service was great and matched all online deals. The hotel location was great!!! off the beach but a short walk and it backed up to the international open air market place, which is always fun to walk through. The hotel doesn't have many amenities, but the rooms were surprisingly large and well decorated for the price. Beds were very comfortable and the balcony was nice. It does get loud at night so try and get the highest floor possible.Room had a refrigerator and microwave! The only down sides are..... Only 1st floor ice machine, elevators were very slow had to wait sometimes 5 min, lower floors were loud, parking is $20 but that is standard for Waikiki ( if possible don't get a car for the whole time in Waikiki....just rent the car for the day to travel to the North Shore. There were many local car rental places walking distance and save yourself all the parking fees). Overall would defiantly stay here again.... Great value, good beds, and GREAT LOCATION!!!!

Room Tip: BE sure to get the highest floor possible..... its worth the extra money as the street noise can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmmoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

The building is older but well-maintained and clean, and the staff is awesome! We held business meetings in the meeting room, which was always ready for us and was FREE! Amazing! This hotel would be my choice in Honolulu every time.

Room Tip: The higher floors give you the best view and keep you farther away from street noise (which were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdurene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

We booked the Wave for our last to nights in Hawaii and were out off by the high prices on Waikiki Beach. The Wave was half the price and we had some concerns at what we would find.

The first impressions were troubling as the lobby is not imposing - the hotel shares it with several shops - but when we got to our room we were very impressed. It was very roomy, had two huge beds, was well decorated, and was clean and well presented.

The Wave also has fitness facilities - and who wants to swim in a pool when Waikiki Beach is just yards away.

The hotel is only a block away from the beach and in any case we just wandered into the posh hotels, sat on the terrace next to the beach and ordered drinks - no problem!

There are drawbacks - such as getting fed, and the noisy street outside (earplugs were provided) - but unless you are unwilling to walk a yard or two for a meal and normally live in monastic silence, these issues in no way over-ride the huge saving to be made, and the great rooms.

We loved the hotel, liked being in the middle of things, and would return anytime for short stays.

Room Tip: Try for one high up and away from the street and elevator. Higher numbered rooms are best - rooms en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianochaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

All we wanted to do was relax with a few unbrella drinks by th ocean, and we ended up doing a whole lot more, and loved it. Thank you front desk staff for all your wonderful smiles every morning. Thank you Lisa the conceirge for your friendly attitude and great suggestions, it really made a difference in our stay. Though the hotel is a bit off the main drag we really prefered it. The rooms were great they invited us to just chill....and we did. Everyone was so friendly and made us feel like it was more than just a hotel. Since getting back home we have done nothing but rave about our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hyatt Centric Waikiki Beach
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Laylow, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Laylow, Autograph Collection

Property: The Laylow, Autograph Collection
Address: 2299 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2632 (Formerly The ‘Okina, Autograph Collection)
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,332 - ₹ 22,251
Hotel Class:4 star — The Laylow, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 1960’s Hawaiian Modern aesthetic in a lush garden surrounding sets the scene for a relaxed vacation vibe. Visitors are transported back in time through authentic mid-century furnishings and decor. Centrally located in the heart of Waikiki places you just a short walk to the ocean, restaurants, shops, and nightlife. The pool is the ultimate amenity, lush greenery, lounge seating and teak accents surround this communal gathering place.Classic cocktails, fresh fruit, a thatched roof, hanging plants, and woven lanterns create a remixed tiki vibe in close proximity to the pool. Enjoy an eclectic healthy menu of fresh fish, farm-to table dishes, craft beers on tap, and an extensive wine list in our warm greenhouse style restaurant. Memorable service moments, nostalgic details, tropical greenery, and modern comforts make for one-of a kind Hawaiian getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Laylow, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Wave Honolulu
The Laylow, Autograph Collection Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing