We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Advertised”
Review of Waikiki Shore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikiki Shore
Certificate of Excellence
Muncie, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not As Advertised”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We reserved a 1 bedroom suite expecting a separate bedroom from the living room area. We we surprised and disappointed to find the a corrugated pull out wall was all that separated the queen size bed from the living room area. The pull out separator did not provide much privacy to quite as it was 3 -4 inches from the floor and did not fully extend to the opposite wall. This room should have been advertised as an Efficiency Plus not a 1 bedroom suite. The pictures and descriptions were/are misleading.
Otherwise, the room and overall facility could use a makeover and updating. The location was great and views very good from our ocean view room. I would not stay here again if returning to the area.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suite is actually an Efficiency plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAhlo, General Manager at Waikiki Shore, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Aloha
Thank you for your comments. We will make every attempt to improve on the description of the 1 bedroom rooms to best describe our rooms. It has always been our intention to do the very best we can for our visitors. Our concerns are to offer a quality product, great service in a very clean, safe atmosphere for a fair price.

Again please accept our apologies. I do hope you have an opportunity to return to Hawaii once again and enjoy the island life, the culture and it's people.

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much)

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    266
    77
    40
    28
See reviews for
302
201
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I just spent 10 glorious days in 912/914 Waikiki Shore. Both condos have been very recently updated (appliances, fixtures, furnishings, etc.) and couldn't be more comfortable and tastefully appointed. Our million dollar ocean view was more than enough to make me want to leap out of bed and rush to the window every morning. And the evening sunsets viewed from our private lanai were nothing short of breathtaking.

Location is ideal. With the exception of airport transportation, we walked EVERYWHERE. Lots of great restaurants and shopping (that rivals even NYC) within just blocks of the condo -- not to mention, of course, the beach right outside our back door with concessions offering everything from catamaran rides to water bikes to kayaks to umbrellas/chairs.

We essentially had full run of the Outrigger Reef (hotel next door) -- including use of its pool and fitness facility -- and took full advantage of the three great restaurants on that property.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Honolulu!

Room Tip: I loved being on a higher floor (9th) on the beach side of the building. Has to be the very best pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Essiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the top (15th) floor, overlooking Fort De Russy park and with views over the beachfront. The units can be booked through the Outrigger chain or another company. Location was excellent but apartment needed work. Louvered windows didn't close properly so the apartment was noisy, the air con was only adequate, bathroom really needed renovating and carpet looked dodgy. However, we decided to put these negatives to one side and enjoy our stay. By booking through the Outrigger you get to use the facilities at the adjacent Outrigger Reef hotel, including their pool and beach/pool towel service. However, you no longer get charge back facilities at the restaurants etc. We also got use of their luggage storage facilities on the day of our departure, and got complimentary use of one of their hospitality rooms to shower and change before departing that evening. Not sure if this is standard or whether we were just lucky! We had a great time in Waikiki but would not stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mimi110022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

If you are looking for more than a hotel room right on Waikiki beach, this is perfect. We were in unit 918 which had fantastic views of the ocean, sunsets, rainbows, a park and city lights. It had a very comfortable living room, good sized kitchen with a dishwasher, 2 baths and 2 bedrooms, washer and dryer. The balcony was great - we sat there every evening enjoying the warm breezes and gorgeous ever changing views. One bedroom is actually part of the living room which can be separated by a partition. The lobby area is very plain and tired, but since we booked through the Outrigger next door, we had access to their facitilities. If you are sensitive to noise or are a light sleeper, this condo is not for you. The street traffic noise (cars, buses) is present from early morning to late at night (even with the windows closed). We felt that the great location and views more than offset having to deal with the noise. But if you want a quiet beach experience, this isn't it. Although we had to pay for parking, it was very easy in and out and having a car was wonderful to be able to explore the island. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher floors probably have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BJE_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights in a two bedroom apartment on the 8th floor(room 818) at the Shore and loved it.I think the view and location compensated for aspects of the condo that were dated and tired.The bathroom was clean but was in need of a bit of modernising and the decor dated but as I said the view was amazing.The apartment was right at the back away from the beach but had great city views as well as ocean.The only disadvantage however was it was close to the road and very noisy but we werent too bothered about it .If you were a light sleeper I would try and get a room closer to the front and away from the road. We booked through the Outrigger so was able to use all the facilities at the Reef hotel next door.Being able to use the pool was a great bonus.Waikiki Shore is so close to the shopping,restaurants and transportation you couldn't be in a better place.Ala Moana shopping centre was only 15 minutes away and the bus stop right outside the hotel.We had 4gorgrous days of sunshine ,Mai Tais during happy hour at the Reef and lots of swimming.It was our first visit to Hawaii,we loved it and would definitely stay at the Waikiki Shore again ..no question

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,298 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikiki Shore? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Shore

Property: Waikiki Shore
Address: 2161 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,241 - ₹ 39,659
Hotel Class:3 star — Waikiki Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waikiki Shore is the only beachfront condominium on Waikiki Beach, located amid the famed restaurants and upscale boutiques of Waikiki Beach Walk. Studios, one- and two-bedroom suites are equipped with kitchens and in-room washers and dryers and have stunning views of the ocean, park, and weekly fireworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waikiki Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Shore Hotel Honolulu
Castle Waikiki Shore
Waikiki Shore Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing