We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, greate location, wonderful staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel, greate location, wonderful staff...”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This hotel is above value, very nice room and has been upgraded recently. The staff all are very helpful. The location is just outside of Waikiki (avoid the crowd) and it is next a very nice mall. The parking lot is huge and we can always find parking. The beach park is very close by and full of locals hanging out at the weekend. You never have to wait long for the elevator.

We got a ocean view room and it is a awesome deal. The room is very clean and bright. It has a small refrigerator and Microwave. It also has a safe (free to use). Parking is $25/night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slaulau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    1,130
    608
    193
    157
See reviews for
721
661
313
708
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Ala Moana is a comfortable hotel with good enough amenities and nice views. Not at all a bad locale for a business trip or, I suppose, retail therapy as you can walk to the Ala Moana Center. The brunch, however, was less than mediocre and so I would encourage you, if you stay here, to check out the great food options at the Ala Moana Center. These will be less expensive and vastly better.

Room Tip: Get an ocean-facing room for superior views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Featherlessbiped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My stay was way better than expectations. Room was modern and clean with a nice soaking tub in the bathroom. Location was perfect for me - right next to a mall with a great choice of dining, from food court to up scale. Same with the shopping. Easy walk to beach and Waikiki, as well as easy bus ride back and forth - and to popular tourist sites. I really enjoyed sitting on the balcony, looking at the ocean and city lights. With pool, sauna and steam room, I had a very relaxing visit.

Room Tip: Stay in main tower with bigger rooms and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLGhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I wish I could have stayed at a more luxurious hotel on the beach...yeh right for about 3 times more per night, but for a really decent hotel room at a great price, this is a good choice. We did have a partial ocean view and night lights of Waikik which was really nice. The hotel employees were ALL very accommodating, friendly, and super NICE! Andrew at the front desk was especially nice and bell person Dean. A few really nice shops in the hotel too. Some of my favorite gifts I purchased were at the gift shop in the corner on the lobby level. Sorry I cannot remember the name of the shop, but the shop owner had some really lovely things like exquisite scarves, lovely teacups and teapots, jewelry; also she makes the most gorgeous faux florals for your hair and also faux floral leis - one-of-a-kind absolutely stunning and beautiful!

Room Tip: Highest floor; ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Spent a week in Honolulu on business and due to a pre-negotiated contract, had to stay at this hotel. It's not billed as a resort, so don't expect all the amentities you'd get at some of the places in Waikiki. The public areas are very nice. The lobby includes a tour desk, several shops, a business center (you have to pay to use the internet, copier, printer). Right outside the door is a restaurant open for breakfast only from 0630-1030. Your options are a hot buffet, cold buffet, or both. Kind of pricey, but I guess the hotel figures business travelers will be reimbursed. My room was 2002 in the Waikiki tower. Not fancy and kind of small, but since I worked all day, it wasn't a big deal. The room included a king size bed, a nice balcony with chairs, a small sofa, chair and table, a desk with a hard wire internet connection (no wi-fi), a large flat screen TV, a fridge, a microwave, closet, and small bathroom. Housekeeping is okay; one day during the week had to call the front desk since my room wasn't made up when I returned. They are also skimpy on the amount of towels you get and also the coffee. You get only one 4-cup package per day. From the 2nd floor, you can cross over to the Ala Moana Mall. On the 3rd floor, is the large pool (very nice) and a large fitness center. Towels are provided. Parking is either by valet or self-park in the garage nearby. Self parking is $20 per day. Overall good location - the beach is across the street and the Mall allows shopping and several food options.

Room Tip: The Waikiki tower has balconies, the other tower does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.5 km away
Pagoda Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
500 reviews
0.7 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
2.8 km away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,646 reviews
1.1 km away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
1.6 km away
OHANA Waikiki Malia by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra

Property: Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra
Address: 410 Atkinson Drive, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-4730
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,229 - ₹ 17,338
Hotel Class:3 star — Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra 3*
Number of rooms: 1169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Ala Moana Hotel by Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala Moana Hotel By Mantra Honolulu, Hawaii
Hotel Ala Moana
Ala Moana Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing