We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“We have loved our many stays here since 1976!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Polynesian Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Polynesian Plaza
Ranked #78 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We have loved our many stays here since 1976!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

During the first 16 years of our marriage, as backpacking travellers to parents with young children moving to Hong kong, the Polynesian Plaza was home to us on all 6 of our visits! We always thought it was a perfect gem; a quiet, well-kept secret! After almost 20 years away from Hawaii, now that we are semi-retired, we decided to come "home" once again. An e-mail to our old friend, Rachel, received a quick reply. And here we are! While we have seen many changes in Waikiki over the years (many are delightfully for the better), all the changes to the Polynesian Plaza have been additions of services and improvements. The pool is now solar-heated. There are so many more organized social events - Friday morning coffee by the pool and a wine-and-cheese party. The lobbies on the 2nd & 3rd floor are now comfortably furnished for gatherings. We really appreciate the extensive sharing library that is there now. The rooms are even better-equipped than ever - a large, flat-screen T.V., an iron & ironing board, a hair dryer, beach towels, and many more kitchen dishes and utensils than before. We did join the wireless internet, and it has been a pleasure to sit on the lanai or by the pool, accessing our e-mails. It is obvious that Rachel has continued to keep up the decor, new rugs, etc... The owners are so lucky to have had her to care for this place. She has always been warm, friendly and professional. This is what all travellers search for when they travel, and rarely find. All the other staff have always been great as well. We remember Otis, Carmelita, August and Gail so fondly. But now we have met Tina, Cecilia, and Lito, we appreciate that they continue the wonderful tradition.

What hasn't changed, thankfully, are the warm welcome, helpful staff, superb location, quiet and safe environment, and total comfort. We appreciate making our own meals and not feeling like we could be in any hotel in any country. This place feels very "Hawaii". It has its own unique "Aloha Spirit". An added treat is watching the Friday night Hilton Hawaiian Village's fireworks from our poolside lanai. Our month here has been all that we remembered about the Polynesian Plaza, and more.

When we prepare to leave in a week, it should be no problem cleaning the apartment. Cecilia lends us the cleaning supplies and vacuum cleaner whenever we ask. Like so many of the people who stay here these days, we will return again - and again!

Room Tip: Since we have stayed in many of the rooms here, we can honestly say the rooms all have the same layo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dale T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    51
    40
    24
    25
See reviews for
30
61
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at the Polynesian Plaza for 9 days the end of February, beginning of March 2012. To be honest I wasn't sure when I first saw the place. It's far from new and the decor is old to say the least.
On the positive side, the place is clean, it's location is great. Restaurants steps away include P.F.Changs, Senior Frogs and The Hard Rock Cafe. Waikiki beach is, at most, a 15 minute walk away. City buses are 2 minutes from the door. Many residents we met have been coming back for years and stay for 6 weeks or more. If we visit Honululu again I hope the Polynesian Plaza has a vacancy so we can stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EDviewpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
big thicket Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is a vacation rental property, not a hotel in the usual sense of the word.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank biggestfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Months before our arrival, we felt very comfortable communicating with Tina. Upon our arrival,my wife and I were very happy and pleased with the accomodation and location of the Plaza. It is in the heart of everything and within walking distance. We spent three weeks from 12/19/11 to 01/07/12 and enjojed every minute. The price for staying in Waikiki could not be more affordable. We would definitely return to the Plaza and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Front rooms are good for the view of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank monrtyandshirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed for one week - the 7 nite minimum, and paid $570 including taxes for the entire week. One can easily pay that much per night in Waikiki and so we were very happy with every aspect of Polynesian Plaza, from the Aloha Welcome, to the VERY affordable rates, to the fully equipped accommodations! The location is perfect, very safe area, bustling with activity, and just a block from the Beach, and Fort DeRussey Park ( where you will find grassy areas, palm trees, beautiful beach, and best of all picnic tables and grills for a beachside barbecue. Easy walk to this park even carrying picnic supplies.) While it is a slightly longer walk to the more activity filled Kuhio Beach park (where you can rent long boards, or a ride on an Outrigger Canoe) , it's still only 10-15 minutes easy walk down the 'main' street of Kalakaua Avenue. Our studio room (316) overlooked the very pretty pool and palm lined courtyard, with a lanai and plastic patio furniture. The studio was very completely equipped with flat screen tv, table and chairs, comfy sitting chair, dresser, and kitchen. The kitchen consisted of a cooktop range, and microwave (no oven) so plan accordingly. Small apartment sized fridge and toaster, coffee maker. Every item was handy including dish towels, mixing bowls, can openers, pots and pans, dishes, cups and mugs, spatulas, and even salad tongs that we were able to take to the park to use for our barbecue. There was a drink pitcher for making lemonade, and even a whisk, so no complaints in the kitchen equipment department. Iron, Ironing board (who uses those when in Hawaii, though??) and hair dryer. Two beach towels, and a few towels (note: only two bath towels for the whole week) but, with the coin laundry just down the hall, that wasn't an issue. We did clean the room ourselves at the end of our stay (NO maid service) and you DO need to have your own cleaning supplies, but, we bought some laundry detergent as 'soap' and used that for everything including the dishes, and it worked just fine! There is a garbage bin at the end of the hall, so it's easy to just bag your garbage and drop it there daily on your way out to see Hawaii. There are several grocery stores within walking distance, which we walked to, and hopped the BUS on the way back when carrying bags. We made most meals in the room and it was easy and convenient - saved a ton of money and also time -- there is so much to do on Oahu, you'll not want to spend every meal waiting in line for breakfast or dinner. It was not only affordable, but, time-saving to eat in the room or on the lanai, and instead splurge on a few expensive drinks at the elegant Hale Kulani resort, just a 5 minute walk away. The Bus is amazingly convenient all around the island, and just steps outside the door. We took the bus to hike Diamond Head as well as to Haunama Bay for amazing snorkeling, and out to dinner at a local restaurant called Ono Hawaiian foods on Kapahulu avenue (local not to be missed, yum!) Be sure to ask for a transfer ticket when you step on the bus no matter where you are going, and you will basically be riding 'round-trip' for only $2.50/person as the transfer can be used on your return. Officially, this is within a two hour time window, but, when we hiked Diamond Head, and exceeded the two hour window, it was still no problem to use the transfer. The Pool at Polynesian Plaza is on the cool side and during our stay hovered around 74 degrees. On a hot day, this is very refreshing and we used the pool many times. We were happy to see that they also have boogie boards, beach chairs, and even a few sand toys stored near the pool that can be used by tenants to take to the beach! We were very grateful for the beach chairs, which made going to the public beach much more enjoyable and no need to 'rent' a beach lounger. The 'office' is only open 9-5 weekdays, so if you are the type that needs a lot of 'service' from hotel staff, you'll need to re-think staying here, but, we found it to be not a problem at all. Honolulu is easily navigable, and everything you need is at your doorstep, with two ABC stores (of course) within a 2 minute walk. They stock everything from tanning lotion to water and liquor and beer. There is a fun little Tiki Bar / Dive Bar in the alley around the corner from Polynesian Plaza, and beers are just $3 and Mai Tai's and Margarita's just $5 - again a big savings in what can be an expensive destination city. With the most minor planning, staying at Polynesian Plaza will save you literally hundreds of dollars on your stay in Waikiki! The room was very clean, and as stated fully equipped. It's certainly nothing 'fancy' and there is lots of evidence of years of wear and tear - in the bathroom tiles, fading paint, etc... but, this is minor and with the value for the money, if you are looking for a clean, safe and friendly place to 'live' while in Waikiki, you'll be very happy here. Be aware that some rooms overlook the pool and 'back' of the property, and others overlook the street. It seemed the most of the 'street' properties were for longer-term residents, though this is just observation, and not a set policy. You will most definitely want to explore the island beyond Honolulu, the scenery and laid back island life is not to be missed. To do this, there is a daily (or more) car ental just a two-minute walk down the street (on Beachwalk). We rented and older Geo Tracker, top down, for just $50 for the day, and spend just $13 in gas to drive the entire island, stopping at Pipeline on the Northshore as well as Waimea Bay Beach Park, the Dole Plantation, and Byodo-In temple Valley of the Temples. The only caveat with the car rental is that if you keep it beyond their 5 pm closing time, you are responsible for finding parking overnight (can't return it to the rental lot). This seemed a bit dismaying at first, but, we found two public parking lots just a few blocks away for only $15 for the overnight rate, so it was simple and inexpensive. Overall, this property is just great - literally next door to the Hard Rock Cafe, and Trump Towers - not a bad neighborhood! Two caveats - hold on to your sets of keys - a lock-out will cost you $50 if you lose your keys, so not the same as simply getting a new one at your typical hotel, and probably not very convenient were that to happen at night when the office is closed. Our only issue with the room, is that the "King" bed is actually two twin mattresses on a King frame if you choose to have the room configured that way. While the mattress is comfortable, it is not particularly conducive to sleeping 'together' snuggled up as there is a bit of a 'crack' that one or the other always seemed to fall into!! It's a bit of trick to 'bridge' this gap in the two mattresses. This isn't terrible, and with all the other wonderful things about Polynesian Plaza, certainly worth the minor inconvenience. The bed IS comfortable, but, just something to be aware of going in..... We would love to come back, and recommend this property without hesitation!

Room Tip: Ask about how your bed will be configured! Ask whether you'll be poolside, or streetside..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
39 Thank rainydayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#83 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Waikiki
Breakers Hotel
Breakers Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polynesian Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Plaza

Property: Polynesian Plaza
Address: 2131 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2346
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,940 - ₹ 13,821
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Polynesian Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Polynesian Plaza is situated on Kalakaua Avenue and Beach Walk, the focal point of Waikiki, just one block to world-famous beaches. Comfortable studios feature private lanai balconies and fully equipped kitchenettes with a 2-burner stovetop (most), microwave, and refrigerator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Polynesian Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Plaza Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing