We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with private quiet beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I stayed here October 2016 and it was very beautiful with a touch of old Hawaii. Our room was a renovated and newer room with an ocean view. It wasn't the biggst of rooms but it held our suitcase had a couch and queen size bed. This hotel has no pool but does have a private beach which is quiet and the waves are calm. We noticed that the rest of the hotels were loud and super crowded. It is also at the end of the Waikiki strip away from the craziness but not far enough where you couldn't walk to or take a quick uber to everthing. The hotel has a great restaurant available for breakfast and a great dinner with great ocean views. It is also really close and across from Diamond head. Just fyi if you book any tours, you will be the last stop to be picked up or dropped off. It also was fairly close to the airport. There was very little noise if any at all, we always slept comfortably. I would also recommend dinner at the surfs club next door for a romantic ocean view dinner. There are also towels and beach mats provided for guests at the beach. Close to a lot great restaurants and all of the ABC stores which you can get snacks and gifts and anything you need really.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Vtravels5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

My sister and I both had an ocean view room. Room 716 has an amazing view towards Waikiki, the ocean and the park. Room 720 is a view straight out to the ocean. Both wonderful clean rooms, totally updated with lovely granite / vessel top sinks in the bathrooms and clean, clean clean! As noted in previous reviews the ocean view rooms are a bit small BUT perfect for a single. I think if I was sharing a room I would go one step up for a little more space but other wise both my sister and I can say nothing negative about the rooms. We both enjoyed going down to breakfast at Hau Tree Restaurant in the hotel. IF they are busy don't worry they will let you eat in the lounge which we much preferred. The staff as noted in many reviews are the best of the best. Aloha and kindness and helpful and fun! This is a wonderful hotel to stay at away from Waikiki and all the homeless and noise. It is not luxury but it is a beautiful hotel! I walked daily at sunrise from the hotel up to the lighthouse and sometimes through the residential area in Diamond Head that has many historic homes. The beach in front of the hotel is never crowded and an easy place to swim. I really think you'll love it here. We would stay here again in a heart beat! Thank you Otani!

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

If you want to stay just outside of Waikiki
by Diamond Head this hotel is perfect.
Great staff. Great air conditioner.
Close to sweet kids beach.
Bus transportation, taxi, Uber/lyft. All here
Famous Superb restaurant . Everything is good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kittyrascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Love the location!! No garbage trucks, party animals or annoying city noises..Fantastic beach out front. Super friendly, helpful staff. Love the shower and amenities. Exercised daily with jaunts to busy Wakiki.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Olivia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

You can't beat the view great hotel staff is very nice goo restaurant downstairs.
A wonderful place to relax just a block or 2 off Waikiki beach so it not crazy wonderful place to relax and chill.
Shhh monk seals share da beach with us and her new baby!!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fuzzy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,755 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,751 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,658 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 12,443 - ₹ 22,294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing