We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
US$ 285
US$ 206
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$ 400
US$ 372
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 275
US$ 249
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 282/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 422
US$ 280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 272
US$ 202
Outrigger.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 274
US$ 232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 311/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 281
US$ 229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 312/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 480
US$ 332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$ 306
US$ 249
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 566
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveller rating
427
402
121
56
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
402
121
56
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshau treekapiolani parkminute walksans souci beachdiamond headocean frontwaikiki skylinewrap around balconyprivate beachquiet end of waikikiquiet sidequiet hotelconvenience storehomeless peoplerooms are smallbeach matsmain waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Liked this hotel a lot for its location,and being small. Nice little beach with easy access for surfing or snorkeling (which is good there). Locals access ocean here, so feels not so touristy. No pool, but who needs it. Being close to Diamond Head & across the streeet from Kapiolani Park, great for morning walks & runs. The rooms are smallish, but adequate. Parking is expensive, but had no problem parking for free in the park area. Parking across the street is free from 6PM - 10AM. Access to highways is not bad either, and you don't have to cross Waikiki. Easy walk to Waikiki, but late at night it feels a little dicey, recommend a cab..

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel, only 9 floors.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J_PBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your review on Trip Advisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo, Staff & Management of The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We have stayed here four times in transit to other islands . We have enjoyed rooms overlooking the wonderful Sans Souci beach and rooms with a view down Waikiki Beach and up the mountains.The hotel is quiet and very friendly. The two restaurants in the hotel are excellent. The Hau Tree Restaurant is a great place for a relaxing breakfast on the edge of the beautiful beach. The Miyako restaurant serves exceptional Japanese cuisine and has a very affordable early bird special with many choices of delicious entree every night. The sunsets views over the beach from the restaurant are spectacular. Walk down the beach towards Waikiki and past the aquarium ,you will find the Queen's Surf Cafe on the beach. This terrific outdoor cafe receives rave reviews from locals. There is live music every night, delicious shrimps and barbecues every weekend.
It is great fun to be a part of the local fun in Kapiolani Park, a wonderful place for long walks behind the hotel.There is an excellent convenience store on site.
The hotel is well situated for public transportation to many island sites including Hanauma Bay snorkling park, China Town and the public bus that circles the entire island .
This hotel is a respite from the crowds and frantic pace of Waikiki but is within easy walking distance of the action .
There is a convenient and inexpensive shuttle service to and from the airport.
This is not a huge hotel so we always worry that too many good reviews will increase its popularity and make it a challenge to reserve space when we return.Request a renovated room.
Our only concern this trip was the noise in the hotel during the day because of the renovations to the ocean front and ocean view rooms.We were there on two occasions, ten days apart and the noise made it difficult to remain in our rooms.During both visits renovations were occurring in nearby rooms despite requests for a quieter location. I am sure that this is a temporary problem but if you plan a visit soon, it would be a good idea to check on the status of the renovations.
This is one of the finer places to stay in the Hawaiian Islands and has received many awards for service and location.
Highly recommended! The best and most affordable hotel directly on the beach. We hope to return again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank eastcoastdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you very much for your recent stay and your detailed comments made on Trip Advisor. The management reviews all comments and we take your concerns very seriously. We apologize about the contruction during your stay. As we continue to improve our product, we hope to welcome you back again on your next trip to the Hawaiian Islands. Mahalo from the team at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I recently stayed at the New Otani as part of a conference. The hotel was selected for participants specifically because of its location to a great beach. The beach was easy to access, not too crowded and perfect for swimming!

Reviewers who said the decor is outdated are correct. The facility is in need of upgrade, which appears to be in progress. I was upgraded to a room with a beautiful view of Diamond Head (no view of water), that was delightful to look at. The nice patio was a plus.

The room itself is in need of refurbishment. The bed appeared to be two twin beds pushed together, and there was no work desk in the room. The tub had a hard time draining. However, the room was clean and spacious. Though I would not choose it for a romantic getaway, it was fine for a solo business traveller.

The restaurant downstairs under the banyon tree was beautiful, and a great place to start the day. However, if you weren't dining at the restaurant, coffee was hard to come by. The hotel does set out the airpots and small styrophome cups from 6:30am-7:00am, but beyond that time you'll need to leave the hotel. Starbucks (the closest coffee shop) was about a 10 minute walk, each way. The hotel bar stops serving food at 9pm, so this is also an issue if you come back late at night. You'll need to walk into town to find a bite to eat.

The staff were friendly, and free beach towels and internet access were real plusses, too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oregonfamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really like this hotel. Easily walkable to Waikiki but quiet and away from the hustle & bustle. Rooms small but remodeled ones are really nice. Very clean & a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Perfect hotel for us. Ok it was a bit of a walk to waikiki main town but at least you are out of the hustle and bustle. Nothing but the sound of the waves from your balcony doors. Only took 15 minutes to walk and it felt very safe. My husband and I would definitely go back and really enjoyed our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews