We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 483
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 380
US$ 332
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 314
US$ 305
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$ 242
US$ 213
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 271
US$ 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 513
US$ 414
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 243
US$ 217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$ 293
US$ 229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
417
391
119
55
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
391
119
55
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshau treekapiolani parksans souci beachdiamond headminute walkwaikiki skylinewrap around balconyprivate beachquiet end of waikikiquiet sideocean frontquiet hotelthe main hotelconvenience storehomeless peoplethe hotel's websiterooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We visited the New Otani because my boyfriend had wonderful memories of staying there many times before...he couldn't wait to return. Boy, was he shocked and stunned! The room was so small' we didn't have anywhere to put our two suitcases...nasty old tile and grout in the small bathroom. The old louvered door to the bath was layered with dust and old grime. Ick...we were unable to upgrade after trying, trying, trying....so we left after two nights. Be careful! The pictures on their website don't show any of the nasty old rooms...they only photograph the renovated suites. The restaurant breakfast and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Countryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Nestled in the foothill of Diamondhead and literally within the confines of the Kaplolani Park with it's ancient banyon trees and multitude of birds ,it's hard to believe this oasis is just a 5 minute walk away from world class shopping, restaurants, cultural and sporting opportunities galore. The staff is Japanese, precise and service oriented. Our room(#614) was spotlessly clean with beautiful ocean and mountain views.there is a fridge, iron, ironing board, robes, extra pillows for the asking and a coffee pot, which you should request as soon as you arrive.closet and drawer space is cleverly designed which made unpacking a snap. This is our third trip to Hawaii and it was definitely the most relaxing and fun.... It's all about location, location, location, which this place has in spades. If i could change one thing I would have asked for room617 which has a wrap around lanai, but what the hay, we spent most of our time outdoor on the secluded beach(which does have a life guard) ( beach mats and towels are in the lobby, free for the asking, we usually had the beach to ourselves! Nirvana!!!!!or venturing forth toward Kalakaua avenue via the beachfront flagstone and mortar esplanade that connects the beachfront to the commercial center of Honalulu. It's wide enough to accommodate both a slow lookie lookie or a fast calorie
burner. Beautiful either way.we stopped for lunch at the Sheridan Waikiki (rum fire terrace bar) but it was way too frantic With kids running roughshot over their harried parents . We just squeezed our hands, finished our Mai Tais and returned to our Otani ..... Don't miss brunch in the Hau tree Lanai, a favorite of discerning locals. Make a reservation to avoid disappointment!!!!! Do stay on the 6 Th floor or higher for the most glorious views. You will be so glad you have discovered this gem!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jsunder106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The pictures look NOTHING like the rooms -at least not the standard rooms. The rooms were "new" in the 70's maybe but definitely nothing modern about them now. We asked the front desk if there was another, renovated room and he was rude and sarcastic.

There were leftover hairs in the bathroom, we could hear our neighbors TV, alarm clock and conversations through the walls - not their fault. The walls are just that thin.

If I could do it over, I would have selected a more affordable place downtown. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Autumn G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Aloha and thank you for selecting The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Hawaii, and for your comments made on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service, and when you feel that we had failed to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know. The Moderate room is our most economical room out of the 16 other categories we have here on property. We apologize if you had any misconceptions of the room itself. Our website does list an accurate description of the each of the categories, which includes the size, view and photo, so guests will expect the kind of room they paid for.
We are currently undergoing full renovations to our ocean view rooms. The hotel is committed to make continuous investments to its facilities, aimed to maximize the quality and ambiance guests have come to expect at when visiting. Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Staff & Management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel is hidden gem. Its the best location, has the best beach and is across the street from the largest park in Honolulu. Its quiet and not crowded like off of Waikiki. The hotel is on the beach and has better rates than the big box hotels on Waikiki that arent even on the beach. Big sandy beach with Life Guards. Reefs for snorkeling. Best area to do lap swimming as reefs are located in one area so it makes for a better swimming beach as well. Lots of access to the water with boats, kayaks, paddle boards etc. Next to the aquarium, zoo, park and only 5 minutes from downtown shops. Very nice restaurant as well. If I come back to Honolulu I will stay here every time. I like that its not crowded. Great beach for families and very nice staff here as well.

Room Tip: I stayed in an ocean view junior suite and had a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. If you want a view of downtown Honolulu you need a corner room or a park view room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jbk51691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I live on Oahu and spent a weekend at the New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were friendly and made sure we were having a nice experience. The junior suite Ocean view room was clean and the view of the park, ocean, sunset and Waikiki was great! Dinner at the Hau Tree Lanai was superb! We had the prix fixe dinner and the portions were huge, presentation beautiful and everything was delicious! Reid, our waiter was attentive and made the evening fun. We will definitely return for another relaxing stay-cation!

Room Tip: Northern ocean view suites wrap around for Diamond Head views, too.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanHana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews