We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT Location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“PERFECT Location!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

The new Otani is in the perfect location in Waikiki! Walking distance to the main attractions
and minutes to Diamonhead. Visit the Waikiki aquarium or Kapiolani park across the street.
It lies right on the water and has rooms with great views!! While it is a little older
the location, views, bar & restuarant are wonderful. We asked for a microwave which was
perfect for a quick oatmeal breakfast along with the coffee and fridge in the room. Staff
was always available when needed. The beach front is a common place for many local swimmers and we often saw many turtles swimming right in front of the hotel. Plenty
of snorkleing right in your own little beach!

Room Tip: Ask for suite with wrap around balcony-great views from every location! Beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    362
    109
    51
    16
See reviews for
141
481
71
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We visited the New Otani because my boyfriend had wonderful memories of staying there many times before...he couldn't wait to return. Boy, was he shocked and stunned! The room was so small' we didn't have anywhere to put our two suitcases...nasty old tile and grout in the small bathroom. The old louvered door to the bath was layered with dust and old grime. Ick...we were unable to upgrade after trying, trying, trying....so we left after two nights. Be careful! The pictures on their website don't show any of the nasty old rooms...they only photograph the renovated suites. The restaurant breakfast and service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Countryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Nestled in the foothill of Diamondhead and literally within the confines of the Kaplolani Park with it's ancient banyon trees and multitude of birds ,it's hard to believe this oasis is just a 5 minute walk away from world class shopping, restaurants, cultural and sporting opportunities galore. The staff is Japanese, precise and service oriented. Our room(#614) was spotlessly clean with beautiful ocean and mountain views.there is a fridge, iron, ironing board, robes, extra pillows for the asking and a coffee pot, which you should request as soon as you arrive.closet and drawer space is cleverly designed which made unpacking a snap. This is our third trip to Hawaii and it was definitely the most relaxing and fun.... It's all about location, location, location, which this place has in spades. If i could change one thing I would have asked for room617 which has a wrap around lanai, but what the hay, we spent most of our time outdoor on the secluded beach(which does have a life guard) ( beach mats and towels are in the lobby, free for the asking, we usually had the beach to ourselves! Nirvana!!!!!or venturing forth toward Kalakaua avenue via the beachfront flagstone and mortar esplanade that connects the beachfront to the commercial center of Honalulu. It's wide enough to accommodate both a slow lookie lookie or a fast calorie
burner. Beautiful either way.we stopped for lunch at the Sheridan Waikiki (rum fire terrace bar) but it was way too frantic With kids running roughshot over their harried parents . We just squeezed our hands, finished our Mai Tais and returned to our Otani ..... Don't miss brunch in the Hau tree Lanai, a favorite of discerning locals. Make a reservation to avoid disappointment!!!!! Do stay on the 6 Th floor or higher for the most glorious views. You will be so glad you have discovered this gem!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsunder106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The pictures look NOTHING like the rooms -at least not the standard rooms. The rooms were "new" in the 70's maybe but definitely nothing modern about them now. We asked the front desk if there was another, renovated room and he was rude and sarcastic.

There were leftover hairs in the bathroom, we could hear our neighbors TV, alarm clock and conversations through the walls - not their fault. The walls are just that thin.

If I could do it over, I would have selected a more affordable place downtown. Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Autumn G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KaimanaHotel, Director of Sales at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Aloha and thank you for selecting The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel on your recent trip to Hawaii, and for your comments made on Trip Advisor. We strive to provide our guests with the best possible service, and when you feel that we had failed to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know. The Moderate room is our most economical room out of the 16 other categories we have here on property. We apologize if you had any misconceptions of the room itself. Our website does list an accurate description of the each of the categories, which includes the size, view and photo, so guests will expect the kind of room they paid for.
We are currently undergoing full renovations to our ocean view rooms. The hotel is committed to make continuous investments to its facilities, aimed to maximize the quality and ambiance guests have come to expect at when visiting. Your patronage is important to us, and we hope that you’ll continue to give us opportunities to serve you. Thank you again for bringing these matters to our attention.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Staff & Management at The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This hotel is hidden gem. Its the best location, has the best beach and is across the street from the largest park in Honolulu. Its quiet and not crowded like off of Waikiki. The hotel is on the beach and has better rates than the big box hotels on Waikiki that arent even on the beach. Big sandy beach with Life Guards. Reefs for snorkeling. Best area to do lap swimming as reefs are located in one area so it makes for a better swimming beach as well. Lots of access to the water with boats, kayaks, paddle boards etc. Next to the aquarium, zoo, park and only 5 minutes from downtown shops. Very nice restaurant as well. If I come back to Honolulu I will stay here every time. I like that its not crowded. Great beach for families and very nice staff here as well.

Room Tip: I stayed in an ocean view junior suite and had a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbk51691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel

Property: The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Address: 2863 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,765 - ₹ 19,910
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take advantage of its paradisiacal setting, The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel is a refreshing escape from the crowds of Waikiki. This boutique hotel sits right on one of Honolulu’s best white-sand beach, cradled next to the slopes of Diamond Head Crater, and located directly across from the 108 acre Kapiolani Park, perfect for those seeking a recreational or romantic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Kaimana Beach Honolulu
Kaimana Beach Hotel
New Otani Hawaii
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing