We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“must take a tour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor

Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor
Book In Advance
US$ 35.00*
and up
Aviator's Tour
Ranked #24 of 317 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the principal Pearl Harbor Historic Sites, our unique interactive museum is located near the Battleship Missouri in the battlefield hangers of historic Ford Island which were attacked by the Imperial Japanese Navy on December 7, 1941, the beginning of WWII. Aircraft, such as a Japanese Zero and the Stearman in which former President George H.W. Bush soloed as the war's youngest aviator, illustrate how aviation helped stem the war. You'll view historic videos, including a movie of the beginning of the war. Enjoy the authentic gift shop, 1940s themed cafe Laniakea, and the combat flight simulators in which you can virtually fight the battle of Guadalcanal in either an American or Japanese plane.Pacific Aviation Museum's mission is to develop and maintain an internationally recognized aviation museum, which educates young and old alike, honors aviators and the support personnel who defended freedom in the Pacific Region, and is dedicated to preserving Pacific aviation history.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“must take a tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

A good docent will make this place come alive with not just the exhibits, but also the ground on which you walk here. Without a docent/interpreter, it's rather small compared to other mainland museums and collections.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tsaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    345
    146
    39
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kurri Kurri, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I visited this museum and found it to be very interesting. We paid $10 pp for a guided tour which was well worth it. Our tour guide was excellent and as we were the only people on the tour he answered all our questions.

The displays were informative and it was great to see real aircraft, learn about their history and use and to also see the current restoration projects of the museum.

I would definately recommend travellers make the time to visit the museum.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worked an Airshow here Lots of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Worked the biggest little airshow here in late October. Didn't get to do much inside, but they do have some static planes inside as well as flight simulators. The kids would enjoy visiting here for a few hours and it's a nice piece of history to see.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Whilst not a large museum, a really interesting and worthwhile visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Whilt on honeymoon in Hawaii I had to visit the Pearl Hrbour attractions. Being an aircraft buff I was looking forward to Pearl Harbour attractions and I was not disappointed. Being English it was my first US air museum and a change from seeing all the usual exhibits such as Spitfires and Tornadoes. The introductory film makes the events of 7th Decenber 1941 so real and gives a sense that you are are actually standing on history. The main exhibit is well put together and has good description about the aircraft and their roles on the Pacific Theatre. The Hangar has some iconic jet fighters that you can get close to, and not roped off, as long as you respect the aircraft. Growing up in the Top Gun era, I was like a kid when I saw the F-14 sat there.
Also make sure you take in the hangar detail and the airfield as that is living history. Bullet holes in the glass from the Japanese attack made it all so real along with the air control tower and wide Ford Island airfield.
A great museum and well worth a visit if you are on O'ahu. A number 42 bus from the city centre drops you off at the USS Arizona Memorial and a free shuttle is provided to Ford Island when you purchase a ticket.
Thanks for a great day I won't forget in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank CraigChewMoulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
510 reviews
207 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
“A work in progress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

There are several aerospace museums that offer a more comprehensive selection of aircraft and exhibits. However this museum does focus on the events of 1941 and the second world war in the Pacific. Several of the exhibits have wonderful providence with the events and leaves one with the impression that we had touched history.

I was also impressed with the enthusiasm of the volunteers who are working to improve the aircraft on display

The movie is well done. Mt highlight was recognizing and shaking the hand of one of the pilots that appeared in the movie and told of his flight on December 7, 1941 who now works as a volunteer at the center ( and looks 20 years younger than he must be!)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Aviation Museum Pearl Harbor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing