We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay!!!!”
Review of Hotel Renew

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Renew
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!!!!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Very close walk to everything, especially the beach. The location is excellent for buses which bring you to different shopping centers and attractions. The breakfast was tasty and filling. The price is excellent for what you get, a great value. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkuraToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    692
    152
    47
    27
See reviews for
283
1,321
146
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family stayed there for 3 nights and loved the location(half block from beach), the modern decor, clean room, and the free boogie boards, towels, beach toys and chairs for our beach days. The continental breakfast with buns, cereal, toast, fruit was just enough to hold us over to lunch. The best part was the "courtesy room" available for us to wash up since we had a late night flight.
My sister upgraded her room with a view and it was a beautiful view of all the boogie boarders/surfers on Waikiki beach but be aware that it also faces the hotel next door with the live music at night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeaRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaks, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our travel agent recommended us staying at one of the hotels smack in the middle of all the tourist traps...we decided to stay here and boy were we glad! It is still only a few blocks away from those other hotels, but what a difference those blocks make! It is a hidden gem! Smaller, more personal, and extremely quiet-Hotel renew exceeded our expectations and then some. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us. The extra bonus was the price. 5 star hotel at a much more reasonable price. Everything was clean, plus they had a continental breakfast! We will no doubt be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philliesfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just spent the first week of a two week honeymoon at Hotel Renew, and we could not have been happier! The fact that this is a smaller, boutique hotel is such a huge plus. The entire staff was amazing, especially all of the wonderful valets (especially Adam!). We got so many suggestions on places to eat and trails to hike that we would have completely missed without these guys. Also, the fact that it's a smaller hotel means that your car is ready in seconds (unlike the larger resorts)!

Also, the free beach equipment (chairs, towels, body boards, etc) was awesome! Made the beach experience (which is only a 1/2 block away) that much better! And who needs a pool when you have Waikiki 30 seconds down the road?

People complain about the continental breakfast, but we honestly had no issues with it whatsoever. Cereal, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, pastry, kona coffee, and pineapple juice....what else could you ask for in a FREE breakfast?

We had a late night flight out, but the hotel offered us an hour of time in a room to shower after a day at the beach! Let us use the travel day to the fullest, and not waste it!

After staying here, we went to Kauai and stayed in the St. Regis Princeville for a week and honestly missed our hotel experience at Renew even though it was 1/3 of the price! Don't miss out on this true gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndrewThomasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Renew, responded to this review, 8 July 2012
Dear AndrewThomasG,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your recent stay here at Hotel Renew. We are truly honored to have played a part in celebrating such a special occasion. I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience, and were able to enjoy the friendly staff, premier location, and complimentary amenities.

Here at Renew, we pride ourselves on offering up world-class guest service with a smile. We always try our best to accommodate each and every request, as they are all very important to us. As you have discovered, that is the foundation of the Renew Experience.

Thank you once again for your wonderful endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Aloha,

D. Sakakibara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights here and were more than happy with our stay. We had an ocean facing room which was very comfortable. Service here was impeccable. If I had any grievances, I would suggest that breakfast could be improved, one choice of tea ie. earl grey was not good enough and seating was very limited. The view from our room could have been improved 100 per cent with a roof top garden in front of the hotel. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank glentrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,218 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Renew? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Renew

Property: Hotel Renew
Address: 129 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,442 - ₹ 18,858
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Renew 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the center of it all, yet a world away from ordinary, Hotel Renew is an oasis of calm for savvy travelers seeking a more intimate Waikiki experience. This designer boutique hotel is a one-of-a-kind property offering sophisticated serenity throughout its 72 freshly designed rooms. Situated at the center of Waikiki's vibrant shopping and dining area, the hotel is a retreat that promotes wellness and rejuvenation with natural elements reflecting the beauty of Hawaii. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Renew reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renew Hotel Honolulu
Ocean Tower Hotel
Hotel Renew Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing