We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Renew
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ewa Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Queen Kapiolani Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waikiki Resort Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Reviews (2,321)
Filter reviews
2,321 results
Traveller rating
1,361
723
156
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,361
723
156
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspineapple juicecontinental breakfastboutique hotellighting systemwaikiki beachbeach matssmall hotelbottle of champagneour honeymoonhalf blockgreat boutiquethe breakfast areaocean viewvalet parkingabc storeamenity feediamond head
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
935 - 940 of 2,321 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My family stayed there for 3 nights and loved the location(half block from beach), the modern decor, clean room, and the free boogie boards, towels, beach toys and chairs for our beach days. The continental breakfast with buns, cereal, toast, fruit was just enough to hold us over to lunch. The best part was the "courtesy room" available for us to wash up since we had a late night flight.
My sister upgraded her room with a view and it was a beautiful view of all the boogie boarders/surfers on Waikiki beach but be aware that it also faces the hotel next door with the live music at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeaRan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Our travel agent recommended us staying at one of the hotels smack in the middle of all the tourist traps...we decided to stay here and boy were we glad! It is still only a few blocks away from those other hotels, but what a difference those blocks make! It is a hidden gem! Smaller, more personal, and extremely quiet-Hotel renew exceeded our expectations and then some. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us. The extra bonus was the price. 5 star hotel at a much more reasonable price. Everything was clean, plus they had a continental breakfast! We will no doubt be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philliesfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Just spent the first week of a two week honeymoon at Hotel Renew, and we could not have been happier! The fact that this is a smaller, boutique hotel is such a huge plus. The entire staff was amazing, especially all of the wonderful valets (especially Adam!). We got so many suggestions on places to eat and trails to hike that we would have completely missed without these guys. Also, the fact that it's a smaller hotel means that your car is ready in seconds (unlike the larger resorts)!

Also, the free beach equipment (chairs, towels, body boards, etc) was awesome! Made the beach experience (which is only a 1/2 block away) that much better! And who needs a pool when you have Waikiki 30 seconds down the road?

People complain about the continental breakfast, but we honestly had no issues with it whatsoever. Cereal, yogurt, granola, fresh fruit, pastry, kona coffee, and pineapple juice....what else could you ask for in a FREE breakfast?

We had a late night flight out, but the hotel offered us an hour of time in a room to shower after a day at the beach! Let us use the travel day to the fullest, and not waste it!

After staying here, we went to Kauai and stayed in the St. Regis Princeville for a week and honestly missed our hotel experience at Renew even though it was 1/3 of the price! Don't miss out on this true gem!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndrewThomasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 July 2012

Dear AndrewThomasG,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback in regards to your recent stay here at Hotel Renew. We are truly honored to have played a part in celebrating such a special occasion. I am delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic experience, and were able to enjoy the friendly staff, premier location, and complimentary amenities.

Here at Renew, we pride ourselves on offering up world-class guest service with a smile. We always try our best to accommodate each and every request, as they are all very important to us. As you have discovered, that is the foundation of the Renew Experience.

Thank you once again for your wonderful endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Aloha,

D. Sakakibara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We have just spent 4 nights here and were more than happy with our stay. We had an ocean facing room which was very comfortable. Service here was impeccable. If I had any grievances, I would suggest that breakfast could be improved, one choice of tea ie. earl grey was not good enough and seating was very limited. The view from our room could have been improved 100 per cent with a roof top garden in front of the hotel. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank glentrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Renew for two nights last month.

The hotel is small and intimate; a lovely respite in the heart of Honolulu and just a block from Kuhio Beach on Waikiki.

We had a partial ocean view that I would consider a full ocean view---very nice. The room was clean and comfortable and the continental breakfast sufficient.

The value can't be beat in Honolulu, very reasonable rates for a nice room and great location. However, it's the service that puts this place at the top of best values. No request is a problem and we did have a few-asking Anne and Michael where we should eat; if they could cancel one reservation and make another after our fantastic driver, Luke, from Go808Express recommended Yanagi for sushi; requesting beach mats and towels; etc. Service was always with a smile and addressed professionally and promptly. Housekeeping came while we were out and relatively early, which we appreciated. Just the right timing to get out in the morning and be able to return to a clean room in the afternoon to shower before dinner.

If you are looking for a more intimate hotel in the heart of Honolulu, then this place is it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews