We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tantalus Lookout Puu Ualakaa State Park
Save
Honolulu Instagram Photo Tour with Kaka'ako Street Art
14

Book in advance
from
$90.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Tantalus Lookout Puu Ualakaa State Park
from $90.00
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
from $90.00
More Info
from $170.67
More Info
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
685
280
64
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
685
280
64
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews diamond head winding road hairpin turns panoramic view of honolulu pearl harbor punchbowl cemetery waikiki oahu viewpoint rainbow rainforest hike
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2022 via mobile

Absolutely stunning views. As we arrived it started to rain but without rain you don’t get rainbows.
Windy drive but worth it

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank chocolatey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 May 2022

If you are looking for spectacular views, then Tauntaus Drive/Round Top is the place to go. A two-lane, ten-mile road offers hairpin turns, sheer drop-offs and views of Honolulu that cannot be beat. Instead of hiking to this point, we chose to drive the switchback road and enjoy the beautiful scenery. From here, you get the best views and a different perspective of Honolulu, Waikiki and Diamond Head. There are several areas where you can pull over for photo ops or simply to enjoy the view. Tantalus Drive begins near the entrance to the Punchbowl Cemetery and ends at Round Trip Drive, the road that leads back to the city. The road rises to an elevation of 1800 feet and has several lookout points. The many trees and plants along the road give the impression of traveling through a rainforest. This area is considered one of the most scenic areas of Honolulu. It was built over a period of 25 years and is Oahu’s only state and national historic road.

Date of experience: March 2022
5  Thank ITRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 April 2022

Offers a panoramic view of Honolulu, from Diamond Head to Waikiki and downtown. There is a security gate that closes after sunset. Only 4 miles north of Waikiki on Round Top Road, driving up a winding road through the lush suburb of Manoa. Don't miss it.

Date of experience: March 2022
1  Thank beachboywantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 March 2022

OK we did not quite get up here, read about this online and followed the GPS, however found signs it was closed at a certain point and the GPS also showed the park itself as closed. As we drove up Tantalus Drive, lots of pullover spots were full of what appeared to be Hawaiian youth drinking - lots of trucks and beer, etc. Since it was dusk, we drove up but were a little leary about the closure at the top and being stuck there in the dark, plus not being familiar with the area, we turned around on a one lane residential road and headed back down. The few pull out spots we did manage to pull over and score some wonderful sunset photos from as I'm sure while they were amazing, I'm guessing nowhere near amazing than if we made up to the top.

Date of experience: March 2022
1  Thank antonette b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 March 2022

Better to have a car as taking Bus 5, you will need to walk another an hour or so uphill (depending on individual's stamina) along a residential area, and some stretch can be pretty quiet.

I also understand, e-hailing cars can get us there but to get one to return, would be a challenge provided you ask the driver to wait for you.

The panaromic view from a 1048ft hill is definitely fabulous and amazing.

Date of experience: January 2022
Thank Lengtan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews