We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food, gracious hosts”
Review of Karai Crab

Karai Crab
Reserve with OpenTable
Karai Crab is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 2,634 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Karai Crab is a Fun and Spicy seafood restaurant 10 minutes from Waikiki. RESERVATIONS ARE HIGHLY RECOMMENDED NOT REQUIRED! We do take walk-ins if tables are available because guests do cancel or no show. We do have inside or outside seating as well but the arrangements are on a first come first serve basis and NOT guaranteed. Parties of 12 or more require a deposit, please call for more information. Our hours are from 5:00pm - 9:00pm. Last seating for the restaurant is 8:00pm, last call for the kitchen is at 8:30pm, and we close the restaurant at 9:00pm. Our restaurant closes on some Holidays, including Mother's Day, Thanksgiving, Black Friday, Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve, and New Year's Day. We also close the restaurant when we have private catering events.
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

catfish fried was tasty, could have stood more seasoning but came with a dipping sauce. Fries were seasoned and yummy. Lemonade a tad flavored with rind and needed sugar. parking across the street was easy, though i'm not sure it is intended for the restaurant patrons.
The wife really enjoyed the snow crab - said it was top five. The cioppino looked good, but as we had not ordered it we sent it away.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank ParisOrNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

The food is AMAZING. You can see from the photos how tasty the food here is. The prices are very reasonable which is another reason why we keep going back to Karai Crab every time we visit Waikiki. We had the king crab, prawn and clams which were all so good. I recommend the karai and garlic sauce. To top it off, staff are very friendly! I recommend this hidden gem to anyone who visit Honolulu.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Paulie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Found Karai Crab on Yelp on spur of the moment search after a all day rent a car drive to North Shore and back. Food highlight of 2 week trip. Fresh crab, and lots of it, served in large metal bowls with your choice of sauce. Fun to eat, large finger food with cracker to help. Snow and King both wonderful. Sides are very tasty, garlic noodles a hit, but with all that crab barely dented it. Well selected wine list. Located on a side street , seating in front or better yet inner courtyard has serene pond with bridges to gazebo. Go early or you need a reservation. Friendly in touch owner makes sure things run smoothly.

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

Read about this restaurant being one of the "Top Ten" rated on TA. Called ahead for reservations (3 days prior)and was given my conformation #. Asked to confirm the day before....never before asked? Took the taxi from the busy blvd. into the narrow streets. Let out in front of this plain looking building with a small sign, WARNING! Was this the place? Walked in a very big room with bright lights and scattered tables with plastic chairs. Was this the romantic spot I had made reservations? We were greeted warmly by our hostess who lead us to a door that lead us into a grand patio with beautiful decorations and a lily pond! Very, very nice! Our waiter Brandon, gave us a detailed rundown of the menu. The night manager/owner recognized we were visitors to Hawaii, and welcomed and thanked us in choosing this fare. The meal was GREAT! Big bowls of tasty crabs with all the fixins. A very nice variety of spices to cater to your tastes. This place is a little pricey, but it's worth every penny. Enjoy!! You are on vacation!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank maildudeusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

We live in Kona, but every chance we get to travel to Honolulu, we HAVE to have dinner at Karai Crab. The way they flavor their crab is beyond description. I prefer the snow crab and I can't eat it any where else now. The garlic noodles are the perfect compliment. The General Manager, Jon Shimotsukasa, is amazing and really takes pride in his restaurant. For those of you who are familiar with The Willows on Hausten Street, Karai Crab is part of The Willows. You can ask to be seated outside which will put you in the Willows. The service is A+. Don't miss it!!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IslandGirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karai Crab also viewed

 

Been to Karai Crab? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing