We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a cracker!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostelling International Waikiki
Reviewed 10 April 2012

In the heart of some of the most expensive hotels on the planet is this gem!

My girlfriend and I stayed in a private room and for $58 a night, you can't beat it. Cracking location, 2 mins from the beach, 2 mins from the airport bus stop.

Rooms were clean, kitchen was clean, good vibe in the hostel, sure some outside noise, but all of Wakiki is pretty dense in population, can't avoid it.

Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Binga007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Hostelling International Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

I can honestly say ,nice place, nice comfortable beds,
nice & clean bathrooms, front gate lock & key 24/7 rooms
Clean & nice ,

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deandalbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_HI_Waikiki, Manager at Hostelling International Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thanks for commending our cleaning staff, I know they do a hard job everyday cleaning the dorms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I booked this hostel online. From Honolulu Airport take the speedi shuttle or roberts shuttle about $14 to the Hostel.All the staff is great and helpful, Anjel-Nikki-Melissa-Cory, but their main job is to check you in and out. In the lobby are free beach chairs and snorkel gear or maybe it was a dollar to rent I never used it. The kitchen is big and there is a table and lots of pots and pans and two fridges. You have to mark your food with a tag and it is best to keep it in a plastic bag. There are also some shelves with leftovers and such like salt and pepper and oil. The rooms are fine and showers clean. You can book tours from the advertisements in the lobby. They don't really run any of their own vans or tours. There is no smoking or drinking of alcohol on premises, other hostels allow that. I go into the kitchen after dinner there are always some people hanging out, don't be afraid to say hello, most everyone likes to go out and have a drink. Waikiki Beach is two blocks, rent surfboards there or take a lesson or just chill. There is a rental car and motorcycle rental shop 100 feet out the front door for day usage and not badly priced. If you get 4-5 people together you can get a car for under $10 a day. There are restaurants and liquor stores that have anything you need within 2 blocks.Overall it is quiet and well kept.There are three other hostels in waikiki, one by the college, and the two on lemon street about 5 blocks south are larger but all are about $20-$25. Most only allow a 1 week stay so on long vacations most people just jump around back and forth. You can catch a bus about two blocks going south or north for $2.50 US$ or maybe it was $4 all day. Hawaii busses go everywhere but sometimes do not run late at night. Don't miss out on North Shore or East Coast. Most bars have happy hours check the board in the lobby.Some free stuff to do locally, honestly you can have alot of fun for under $50 a day. Rooms are not coed. Guys are in rooms 3-5 on 2nd floor girls in 6-8?. I was in #3. If you are a light sleeper get a semi private room or ask for a room not by the entrance door or main walkway, windows are kept open to keep cool. Parking is $5 a day. Lost keys are $10, yes I lost mine.No overnight guests.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kbrown154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_HI_Waikiki, Manager at Hostelling International Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to describe our place! Sometimes guests seem to forget why they came to a hostel instead of a hotel in the first place- to meet other travelers from around the world and explore the island together searching for adventure!! And all you have to do is say HI! Our staff works one at a time, so it can get busy for us sometimes, but we have made folders with daily events, great happy hours, free activities, and of course if you want to do any tours, we have all the best ones, many at a discount. The beach stuff is all for free!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Clean, basic, usually quiet, ridiculous price in excellent location, just 2 blocks from central sea shore. We booked a private room for 2 for just 56$ and are completely satisfied. It seems that they may be short in parking, just 7-8 lots in the ground floor, so better to verify. Booking of dorms is online and simple, and they are also good. Booking rooms is only by phone.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My girlfriend and I shared a private room with its own bathroom. Room was very clean. Not a party hostel, which is great if you like to sleep soundly. Location can't be beat in Waikiki. One block to major bus routes, grocery store, and the beach. Kitchen facilities were well kept. If you are planning a trip to Waikiki and don't mind staying in a hostel, this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,434 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,413 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
851 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
Waikiki Beachside Hostel
#13 of 46 in Honolulu
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International Waikiki

Address: 2417 Prince Edward St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3229
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 3,570 - ₹ 5,063 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha, we host all kinds of short term travelers from around the world: backpackers, gap year travelers, airline & cruise ship employees, students, families & single travelers. Thanks for considering HI Waikiki! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostelling International Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hostelling International Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing