We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
691
128
27
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
691
128
27
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel free coffee in the morning one bedroom suite cool hotel great boutique bath products the penthouse special thanks pool area we loved our stay awesome hotel the aloha spirit the main strip minute walk to the beach waikiki beach beach towels loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

The hotel is an old building that has been reno'd fantastically and is excellent in light of its construction room fantastic and good value

It's funky and a great location reservation staff are excellent and small central pool is cool very retro

Restaurant has so much potential but needs work - food quality not great and very carb and sugary- service does try but needs help. As a resident staying you very rarely get the opportunity for a table for a cocktail in the evening as it always booked out and they won't let you sit in the seats ....

This place is cool and really good but could be great if you sort the breakfast, food and bar service out

Sooo close guys keep going you will get there just needs a few tweaks

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank quirky76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We initially had reservation with another hotel but we had some problem after checking in (around 11pm) and decided to stay at another hotel, which was the surfjack hotel. Although it was past midnight, a front desk staff name Chris was extremely friendly and helpful. He provided a very clean and nice room. Also, other staffs were very friendly ad well. Considering the price compared to other nearby hotels, the surfjack hotel is very affordable and has surpasses our expectation. Definitely recommend and will come back here when i visit hawaii next time again.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

The surfjack was great, the rooms were nice and the staff were excellent. Special mention to Kenny who went the extra mile to make sure we were satisfied. Would definitely stay here again. The restaurant is very popular so make sure you book in advanced.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This hotel has been recently renovated. We were a group of 6 plus a baby, so we staid in a 3 bedroom suite. The style/theming of the decor is very nice - very beachy vibe. The staff are all very friendly, especially the valet guys.
The location is excellent - you are minutes away from various shopping places, restaurants, and the beach. Also not a far drive to the airport. But you are also just enough off the main strip that its more quiet here, which is nice.
We did have a few minor issues, so i will point them out here, but that said, i would stay at this hotel again if I ever go back to Honolulu:
Not all of the power outlets worked (which made charging the phones, etc a pain)
Of the 3 rooms, only 2 had tvs in them (to be fair, they also had a sitting room with a couch and that room had a third tv)
The overhead light in our bedroom would randomly turn itself off and on at ALL hours of the day and night (ghost? lol)
Two of the rooms are adjoined, which meant that one couple would have to walk through another couple's room to get to their own room.
One of the lights in the bathroom was burnt out, we requested a new bulb but never got one.
very unclear about the breakfast rules - first few days the staff said the breads/muffins were complimentary, then last few days we were told we had to pay.
Had a sit down breakfast once and only once at the hotel and even though there were only 2 other tables which had already been served, it took about an hour for our food to arrive. The waitress was apologetic. But due to that issue we never dined there again.
Again, the above grievances are just nit-picking, and they wouldn't effect whether or not I return to the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette E, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Aloha Laura,
Mahalo for your review! It sounds like you stayed with us earlier this year when we opened as we were working out all our new hotel issues. But just in case, we appreciate the heads up so we can go thru all the power outlets to ensure they all work! I also am working with Mahina & Sun's Restaurant Manager to ensure we are all on the same page. We do not offer complimentary breakfast but serve an awesome Surfjack complimentary coffee each and every morning!

Mahalo again for saying that you were just nit-picking and would stay with us again in the future. We appreciate that you enjoyed yourself with your family!

A Hui Hou, until next time,

Lynette Eastman
General Manager
The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

The Surfjack is a beautifully designed hotel that made us feel comfortable and appreciated as soon as we pulled up. The retro-modern design invited us to relax in every area. The breakfasts are the best in Waikiki. Our room was beautifully designed. We decided to have our wedding at the Surfjack because of it's unique ambiance. Our guest absolutely loved every aspect of the wedding. I recommend this hotel to everyone, whether it is to relax, or have a party. Service was excellent. Workers, from maintenance to management were very courteous and helpful. This hotel stands with the best in Waikiki, at a more affordable rate. I recommend you stop by the place and see for yourselves.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette E, General Manager at The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2016

Aloha and congratulations Mr. & Mrs. Dennis T!

The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club are honored that you and your bride were our very first couple to get married and have a reception in our Swim Club! It was a beautiful day and an awesome wedding!

Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you visit with us again soon!

Lynette Eastman
General Manager
The Surfjack Hotel & Swim Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews