We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveller rating
767
558
195
89
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
767
558
195
89
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hilton hawaiian village kalia tower lagoon towers grand waikikian great lawn hgvc owners paradise pool full kitchen time share living room ocean view friday night fireworks great resort super pool family vacation great vacation abc store
Filter
Updating list...
947 - 952 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We just returned from 1 week at the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, HI. It was a fun place with lots to do right on the property! We enjoyed Maui Zaui pizza at the Round Table - Yum! We went to the Hawaiian Luau on the property (HGVC owners get free upgrade to inner circle of tables - orchid leis - first in line for food) and enjoyed the singing, dancing, and traditional clothing. We shopped along the Rainbow Bazaar and were pleasantly surprised at the prices right there in the resort. For example, the shop downstairs in the Lagoon Tower had bottled water - 1.5 L for $0.99! Also there was an ABC store on the property that had different Hawaiian items to try: pineapple wine (YUM), local craft beers, Kona coffee, macadamia nuts, etc. By staying in our fabulous HGVC room in the Lagoon Tower (2 BR, 2 BA, full kitchen, dining room, living room, and 2 balconies overlooking the lagoon and the beach), we could also eat out on our balcony with food from the ABC - coffee in the morning was the greatest! Don't miss the Honolulu Cookie company, and the Pitake Jasmine lotions, candles, etc smell divine. We ventured out of the village for several excursions:

On Sunday, we took a van to the Swap Meet at Aloha Stadium - not to be missed - can find all sorts of great Hawaiian items for reasonable prices: 7 Beefy T-shirts for $20, basket purse $20, watercolor paintings with woven matting and local wood frame $85, fabrics $3.75/yd, Tiki lamps $45, King's Hawaiian bread $7 for 3-4 loaves, shirred dress $30, etc. Loads of fun and you can munch of FRESH pineapple as you walk around.

Next day, we hiked up Diamond Head (go for the very early morning tour - our 10 am one was HOT). Rana was our guide, and she was full of local information and how to get up Diamond Head the right way - hydrate often. Did you know that Diamond Head is not a crater??

We also took a hike, kayak and snorkel tour to Chinaman's Hat island. Awesome - drove through rainforest to get to the other side of Oahu, short hike to a lookout point above a working ranch, kayaked out to Chinaman's Hat, ate lunch, snorkeled, kayaked back, and then drove back to Waikiki. It was our favorite outing.

Rented a car from Enterprise just down the street from the property for about $50 for the day (kept it overnight so we did not have to be back to return it by the time they closed at 5 pm). We headed east to Hanauma Bay for snorkeling - it was like snorkeling in a fish tank - tons of fish right in front of your mask. You pay to park, pay to enter the park, and have to watch a video on protecting the wildlife. We freshened up there, and then headed on the road around the island - stopping for the photo ops at the blow hole and other well-marked areas. Had an early dinner at Giovani's Shimp Truck (shrimp scampi to die for) and then doubled back to see the Polynesian Cultural Center. After taking in some of those sights and shopping opportunities, we headed to Sunset Beach for.... sunset pictures! We saw lots of surfers off to the left in the Banzai Pipeline. Then used the GPS to find Ted's Bakery - just 0.4 mi down the road - for pineapple cheesecake, etc.

From the Hilton, we took the catamaran tour to Turtle Canyon and snorkeled with lots of Green Sea Turtles. It was also fun to walk out to the main drag and see all the fancy shops - go to the Hard Rock for Happy Hour - but even more fun once we found the International Marketplace. Even met Wally Amos of Famous Amos cookies! He's still smiling.

Room tip: Loved our room #466 - corner suite with fabulous view. Fourth floor was also good because not only did the main balcony overlook the lagoon and beach, but there was a great coconut palm almost framing in the area. Fun to watch the birds that would perch on the trees, etc.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank balinesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed for a week in a king bed, full kitchen suite on the 12th floor with an ocean view. The view was wonderful as we could see the ocean, the lagoon, the big pool, our own pool, and a bit of the shopping village below. We were high enough for it to be quiet and to see surfers in the waves off the beach. The room was updated and clean with only minor annoyances (broken hair dryer and playstation connection) that were quickly remedied with a call downstairs. Concierge was always friendly without being too pushy. On site dining was a bit pricey and somewhat bland, but it's on-site and in Hawaii so we expected as much. I found the prices mostly comparable to other restaurants nearby. Landscaping is fantastic and I took several photos of the water features, birds, and fish. The village is very large and it might be useful if there were more maps posted around the site. We stayed during the off season and it was busy without being overly crowded. No problems getting choice seats at the pool or on the beach. Overall, I'd give it a 4.5, with the deduction only being because it wasn't absolute perfection.

Room tip: Book high floors and go in the off season to avoid crowds.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSHAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Been here many times since 06. My wife prefers HGVC Lagoon tower to all the other resorts in the islands we have stayed at so far. The Grand Waikikian is nice but we held out buy our timeshare at the lagoon tower instead, just like it more there. We always get a car but it really is not needed as everything is in walking distance from the resort.

Date of stay: October 2011
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We are back for our fourth year here! Last year, we were a little concerned about the units showing a substantial amount of wear, but we are very pleased to see that things have been spiffed up! And someone took note to add a wine bottle opener (missing the last three visits) and a coffee pot with a gold screen filter... Hooray to whoever has been taking note! This trip, the dishes match! Yeah!!! Looks like the cabinetry has been updated! What a relief.
I read some of the reviews before writing my own. We usually come in September so we can miss the crowds. This year, the entire area is busier than I have seen (only my 5th or 6th visit to Hawaii)... including the resort, beaches, and pools. We could not find two chairs together yesterday at the pool, and everytime I spotted two together, before I could get to them, they had been snagged! And the pool by Lagoon Tower was too busy to go in. If my husband did not have a recuperating knee, we would be in the ocean!!! I wish they had an adults only pool!
I was also concerned about John L.s review about theft. We have seen more security this stay, which creates mixed emotions. The resort does not have lockers and my husband's swim shorts don't have a zipper pocket! Where to leave your room key and credit card while swimming??? Inquiring minds would like to know...
I also am concerned about the plans to add another tower. Certainly the resort is busy enough as it is!!! More people means more traffic, more bodies, more waiting, less room at the beach, more bodies in the water... etc. We will see what happens. There is a reason we vacation as far away from L.A. as possible... there is also a reason we bought at "the quiet end of Waikiki"...
In short, HGVC Staff is great! The rooms are back to being beautiful... and someone has been paying attention to detail! I remembered to bring salt and pepper this year, but didn't need the wine bottle opener or coffee filters I packed!
When you book try to get a room as high up as possible if you are near the pools. Since we are oceanfront owners, we are close to the pool as it is, and the noise can get a little grating... but we must accept the tradeoffs for such beauty... Noisewise, higher is better... now if the guy next door did not think he was a foghorn... Aloha!

Room tip: The higher the better... The views from Lagoon Tower are astonishing. If they have rooms left, and you are going to buy... look into Lagoon. We love it!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheilaMc1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving looking at the beautiful gardens we thought wow this is heaven. Our room not so much, they have shutters in the rooms which don't keep a lot of light out. It was meant to be relaxing but the bed wasn't comfy and we really didn't get much sleep. The lagoon pool was great but the other pool near the lagoon tower was extremely slippery and I was too scared in case of injury. The pizza shop at the hotel was great though. Luau entertainment was great the food wasn't, I'll stay somewhere else next time

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelvitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

We appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We're sorry you had a disappointing experience with us. We aim to provide an exceptional guest experience and we are disappointed to hear we fell short with your stay. Thank you once again for your comments.

Henry Perez
General Mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews