We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week on Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

My all adult family spent the week at the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at Hilton Hawaiian Village and we were pleased with our experience. It was a timeshare exchange and we could not have been happier with our accomodations.

It was a large 2 bedroom on the 16th floor with an ocean view in the Lagoon Tower and it was beautiful. We could see the ocean and the private Lagoon on the property. From our room we could see the fire works displays they have on Friday nights and the entertainment on the roof of the adjacent building at the Luau. This is a very large facility and a little over crowded even in Oct. I do not swim but I noticed the pools were very full. As others have mentioned you have to get a towel card to get a beach towel and return the towel for the card , then turn the card in at check out or be billed for the towel.

There is construction going on to build another pool on the property and to add more stores. This facility is almost a self contained little town. There are all kinds of shopping and restaurants and a small ABC store with groceries. Items are a little higher but the convenience is worth it. Although milk was $9.99 a gallon in there we were told it was about $7.00 a gallon average on the island.

The room was clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Master had a king bed and the other bedroom had 2 double beds. It had 2 full baths, living area, dining area and kitchen with all utensils. Only complaint I had was there was only a 1/2 gallon pitcher and I am from Texas and drink lots of iced tea.

The beach is only a few steps from the outer edge of the facility and you can walk all the way down the beach side on a sidewalk. In addition to shopping there are several small clubs with free entertainment on property.

It is an all non smoking facility with only a couple of designated areas for my bad habit. I did not find the large area with benches until the day I was leaving.

We came in early from another hotel and they held our luggage for us and called as soon as the room was ready.

There is a thermostat in the unit for Heat and A/C but it just says warm/ cool with different settings in between and a three speed fan. We found we had to shut off the vents in the living area to keep the bedrooms cool at night. And you can't leave the balcony door open or the unit shuts off.

The balcony was furnished with a nice table and four chairs.

Big flat screen TV's in living and each bedroom with a playstaion and dvd player in living room. You will get a card to use at the kiosk in the lobby for free dvd movies and playstaion games.

Decent water pressure in the showers and I never ran out of hot water.

Staying for a week we only got maid service once but, if you need anything, all you have to do is catch the maid in the hall and she will be happy to provide you with items from her cart. To get clean towels just take your dirty ones to her to count and get fresh ones.

There are 2 free washers and dryers on each floor of the Lagoon Tower. You can buy detergent in the ABC store in the lobby. So pack light and wash. Save yourself baggage fees.

We did not rent a car during our stay we used the Waikiki trolley but I heard that parking was $20.00 per night.

Did not take my laptop as I read different stories about Wi-Fi availability and prices.

All staff was friendly and helpful. I did notice that there wasn't much security. Only saw 2 guards driving a 4 wheeler through the property once and guards at the private events they had on the lawn by the Lagoon.

If I was planning on going back to Waikiki I would definitly stay here.

Room Tip: Book early so you can ask for an ocean view no matter which tower you are in. They won't promise...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlcrush54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,401)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 788 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

We just returned from 1 week at the Hilton Grand Vacations Club at the Hilton Hawaiian Village, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, HI. It was a fun place with lots to do right on the property! We enjoyed Maui Zaui pizza at the Round Table - Yum! We went to the Hawaiian Luau on the property (HGVC owners get free upgrade to inner circle of tables - orchid leis - first in line for food) and enjoyed the singing, dancing, and traditional clothing. We shopped along the Rainbow Bazaar and were pleasantly surprised at the prices right there in the resort. For example, the shop downstairs in the Lagoon Tower had bottled water - 1.5 L for $0.99! Also there was an ABC store on the property that had different Hawaiian items to try: pineapple wine (YUM), local craft beers, Kona coffee, macadamia nuts, etc. By staying in our fabulous HGVC room in the Lagoon Tower (2 BR, 2 BA, full kitchen, dining room, living room, and 2 balconies overlooking the lagoon and the beach), we could also eat out on our balcony with food from the ABC - coffee in the morning was the greatest! Don't miss the Honolulu Cookie company, and the Pitake Jasmine lotions, candles, etc smell divine. We ventured out of the village for several excursions:

On Sunday, we took a van to the Swap Meet at Aloha Stadium - not to be missed - can find all sorts of great Hawaiian items for reasonable prices: 7 Beefy T-shirts for $20, basket purse $20, watercolor paintings with woven matting and local wood frame $85, fabrics $3.75/yd, Tiki lamps $45, King's Hawaiian bread $7 for 3-4 loaves, shirred dress $30, etc. Loads of fun and you can munch of FRESH pineapple as you walk around.

Next day, we hiked up Diamond Head (go for the very early morning tour - our 10 am one was HOT). Rana was our guide, and she was full of local information and how to get up Diamond Head the right way - hydrate often. Did you know that Diamond Head is not a crater??

We also took a hike, kayak and snorkel tour to Chinaman's Hat island. Awesome - drove through rainforest to get to the other side of Oahu, short hike to a lookout point above a working ranch, kayaked out to Chinaman's Hat, ate lunch, snorkeled, kayaked back, and then drove back to Waikiki. It was our favorite outing.

Rented a car from Enterprise just down the street from the property for about $50 for the day (kept it overnight so we did not have to be back to return it by the time they closed at 5 pm). We headed east to Hanauma Bay for snorkeling - it was like snorkeling in a fish tank - tons of fish right in front of your mask. You pay to park, pay to enter the park, and have to watch a video on protecting the wildlife. We freshened up there, and then headed on the road around the island - stopping for the photo ops at the blow hole and other well-marked areas. Had an early dinner at Giovani's Shimp Truck (shrimp scampi to die for) and then doubled back to see the Polynesian Cultural Center. After taking in some of those sights and shopping opportunities, we headed to Sunset Beach for.... sunset pictures! We saw lots of surfers off to the left in the Banzai Pipeline. Then used the GPS to find Ted's Bakery - just 0.4 mi down the road - for pineapple cheesecake, etc.

From the Hilton, we took the catamaran tour to Turtle Canyon and snorkeled with lots of Green Sea Turtles. It was also fun to walk out to the main drag and see all the fancy shops - go to the Hard Rock for Happy Hour - but even more fun once we found the International Marketplace. Even met Wally Amos of Famous Amos cookies! He's still smiling.

Room Tip: Loved our room #466 - corner suite with fabulous view. Fourth floor was also good because not only...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank balinesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed for a week in a king bed, full kitchen suite on the 12th floor with an ocean view. The view was wonderful as we could see the ocean, the lagoon, the big pool, our own pool, and a bit of the shopping village below. We were high enough for it to be quiet and to see surfers in the waves off the beach. The room was updated and clean with only minor annoyances (broken hair dryer and playstation connection) that were quickly remedied with a call downstairs. Concierge was always friendly without being too pushy. On site dining was a bit pricey and somewhat bland, but it's on-site and in Hawaii so we expected as much. I found the prices mostly comparable to other restaurants nearby. Landscaping is fantastic and I took several photos of the water features, birds, and fish. The village is very large and it might be useful if there were more maps posted around the site. We stayed during the off season and it was busy without being overly crowded. No problems getting choice seats at the pool or on the beach. Overall, I'd give it a 4.5, with the deduction only being because it wasn't absolute perfection.

Room Tip: Book high floors and go in the off season to avoid crowds.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSHAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Been here many times since 06. My wife prefers HGVC Lagoon tower to all the other resorts in the islands we have stayed at so far. The Grand Waikikian is nice but we held out buy our timeshare at the lagoon tower instead, just like it more there. We always get a car but it really is not needed as everything is in walking distance from the resort.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We are back for our fourth year here! Last year, we were a little concerned about the units showing a substantial amount of wear, but we are very pleased to see that things have been spiffed up! And someone took note to add a wine bottle opener (missing the last three visits) and a coffee pot with a gold screen filter... Hooray to whoever has been taking note! This trip, the dishes match! Yeah!!! Looks like the cabinetry has been updated! What a relief.
I read some of the reviews before writing my own. We usually come in September so we can miss the crowds. This year, the entire area is busier than I have seen (only my 5th or 6th visit to Hawaii)... including the resort, beaches, and pools. We could not find two chairs together yesterday at the pool, and everytime I spotted two together, before I could get to them, they had been snagged! And the pool by Lagoon Tower was too busy to go in. If my husband did not have a recuperating knee, we would be in the ocean!!! I wish they had an adults only pool!
I was also concerned about John L.s review about theft. We have seen more security this stay, which creates mixed emotions. The resort does not have lockers and my husband's swim shorts don't have a zipper pocket! Where to leave your room key and credit card while swimming??? Inquiring minds would like to know...
I also am concerned about the plans to add another tower. Certainly the resort is busy enough as it is!!! More people means more traffic, more bodies, more waiting, less room at the beach, more bodies in the water... etc. We will see what happens. There is a reason we vacation as far away from L.A. as possible... there is also a reason we bought at "the quiet end of Waikiki"...
In short, HGVC Staff is great! The rooms are back to being beautiful... and someone has been paying attention to detail! I remembered to bring salt and pepper this year, but didn't need the wine bottle opener or coffee filters I packed!
When you book try to get a room as high up as possible if you are near the pools. Since we are oceanfront owners, we are close to the pool as it is, and the noise can get a little grating... but we must accept the tradeoffs for such beauty... Noisewise, higher is better... now if the guy next door did not think he was a foghorn... Aloha!

Room Tip: The higher the better... The views from Lagoon Tower are astonishing. If they have rooms left, and y...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 19,554 - ₹ 50,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations At Hilton Hawaiian Village Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing