We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at the White Sands Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Sands Hotel
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Great experience at the White Sands Hotel”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the White Sands Hotel in Waikiki. The Service desk was most kind and helpful. Cristina, Christlina and Christy-Ann were so pleasant to work with. Meeting Josiah at the tour desk was also a pleasure. Room service was especially good with the diamond jewel Harlene doing a super job for us. Ron at the service desk helped us out alot especially with the internet. Just a super experience in our lives staying at the White Sands Hotel. Kud

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOlsOns32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    244
    117
    53
    40
See reviews for
139
273
79
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We were flying out at 11:30 and decided to save some extra $ by staying here. We were given a room with 3 single beds. I felt as if I was back in a dorm room. The TV was awful. Only 7 American channels came in. There was hair all over the bathroom and in the sheets. We did manage to push together two of the beds to take a nap. The $15/nt parking is just another add-on. Positive is the location is two blocks from the strip and a block from some resteraunts.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soki816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
las vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Centrally Located -- 5 minutes from Beach !

Friendly Staff ! --- Our room was old and the kitchenette area is very small -- but for 1-2 people it will do. It is NOT the cleanest place !!!.

Dissapointed that the jacuzzi never worked -- and the Pool is FREEZING ! The little waterfall by the Jacuzzi was cute .

But if you can get it for a descent price -- its ok !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I was looking for budget accommodations for a quick trip to Honolulu, and this hotel came up as a package option on Expedia. “Budget” doesn’t have to be synonymous with dirty or dumpy, but that’s pretty much how I’d have to sum up the White Sands Hotel.

When we arrived, I discovered that the parking lot consisted of about 8 parking spaces. There was no parking garage. Even with my small economy car, it was tough to maneuver through this tight parking lot. This task was made even more difficult by someone’s long truck that was parked by the exit and hampered one’s ability to get through the tight turn. For this, you pay an extra $20 per day.

We accessed our rooms by walking down a hallway with filthy carpets. It wasn’t a comforting first impression.

Our “suite” came with two twin beds, a Hollywood-style daybed that doubles as a sofa, and a tiny kitchen. The beds must have had the cheapest mattresses the hotel could obtain, perched on wobbly metal frames. There was one small pillow on each bed. The scratchy blankets made me think longingly of my former Army barracks in basic training – the Army beds and blankets were more comfortable. My daughter pulled the blankets off one of the beds and slept on the daybed, as it had a slightly better mattress.

The bathroom was none too clean – the floor could have used a good mopping with some strong cleaning fluid. The shower was about 30” by 30” in size.

The kitchen consists of a microwave, a half-size refrigerator, a sink, and two burners. It’s very tiny, but was adequate for preparing breakfast cereal and light meals. I would have appreciated it if the kitchen had been stocked with some salt and pepper. The first night I was there, I poured some unused lemonade down the sink and didn’t notice that the sink stopper kept it from draining out of the sink. When I returned at the end of our first full day in Oahu, I noticed that the lemonade was still in the sink; the maids hadn’t drained it or cleaned it. As an experiment, I deliberately left it there the second day. It didn’t get cleaned then, either.

There is a safe in the closet, which seemed like a good idea for security purposes, but you have to go to the lobby and obtain a key for $2/day for the privilege of using it. Better hotels have safes with combination locks that you can set yourself, and they don’t charge you for their use.

The lanai “view” was non-existent, and there are no sheer curtains. It’s either reveal yourself to the world or have your room plunged into darkness by the drapes.

The HVAC unit appeared to have a thermostat, but the A/C ran constantly, despite the setting.

The wireless internet seemed to work adequately.

The only reason that I ranked this hotel two stars is because one star is the minimum on TripAdvisor, and I’ve stayed at two other motels in my lifetime that have been worse. Since the locks and deadbolts worked, I didn’t feel overly worried about my safety, and at least the maids had made an attempt to clean the unit before our arrival. And the air conditioning worked, so we didn’t roast. I have to admit that the hotel was surprisingly un-noisy for its location in a busy urban section of Waikiki. If all you want is a place to crash, this might be OK, but I think there must be better budget options out there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SML-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort worth
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for a week in Sept. 2011 & really enjoyed it. We were upgraded free to a large double room with a view of the hot tub & swimming pool. Everything in the rooms worked & the staff were friendly & very helpful!
We were close to everything & had an assigned parking space.
If we go back to Oahu we'll surely stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back let you look out on the hot tub & swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.1 km away
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
439 reviews
0.9 km away
Ewa Hotel
Ewa Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
451 reviews
0.2 km away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
Aqua Waikiki Pearl
#72 of 84 in Honolulu
1,165 reviews
1.3 km away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
1,859 reviews
0.7 km away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Property: White Sands Hotel
Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2622 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,514 - ₹ 12,243
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our daily convenience fee for all stays White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing