We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$275
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$242
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/02/23
Trip.com
$221
View deal
travelup.com$255
Agoda.com$282
Priceline$323
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,009)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveller rating
959
734
203
75
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
959
734
203
75
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish hook fort derussy park bbq area partial ocean view full kitchen across the street kalakaua ave valet parking queen bed city view minute walk to the beach fitness center beach towels coffee maker mini fridge resort fee small pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2022

Second stay here. First time was in studio condo room, this stay was in studio hotel room. Very impressed that the hotel room had almost everything the condo had as far as kitchen ware except for a microwave and stovetop. We had half size fridge with small freezer, Krups full size coffee maker and toaster oven, and more than adequate utensils, plates, etc. lovely ocean view overlooking Derussy park. Very clean area and felt safe. Very friendly helpful staff. We were given wrong information regarding amenities when we booked with the hotel staff, but the manager followed through and verified what happened and provided us with the amenity package. Note: No beach chairs or boogie boards were available during our stay, and staff did not know when they would be received. Fortunately, we were able to purchase some beach chairs from CVS.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cosmopolitan455219
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
clem lagundimao, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Aloha Cosmopolitian455219,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us again, at the Luana Waikiki Hotel and Suites.

The new beach chairs are in! We apologize for the delay receiving the beach chairs. With the world recovering from the pandemic, we are all experiencing shipping delays. Am hopeful, the credit we provided to your account due to the inconvenience, proved sufficient to purchase beach chairs from CVS.

We are happy you had another enjoyable and memorable stay. We will be sure to have beach chairs at the ready for your third stay.

Best regards,

Clem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2022

I am from Vegas and have been in the Hospitality Industry for 32 years - this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at as the staff and service was truly incredible! No complaints at all as the hotel was fantastic!

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alycase
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
clem lagundimao, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Aloha alycase,

Your 5 star rating, from a 32 year veteran in the hospitality industry, is coveted and a heart felt compliment.

We appreciate that you felt the Luana Waikiki was on of the "best hotels" you have ever stayed in. And that the staff and service was "truly incredible".

If you ever need another break from Vegas, we would be happy to host you again.

Best regards,

Clem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2022

The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating; rooms were clean and spacious overall; and having small kitchenettes in many rooms is a big plus. They have wine and cheese events for free a few nights a week with live music, and that was fun. It's not right on the beach, and the walk to the beach is a little long, but it's across the pretty Fort Derussy Park. I had organized an entire government group which stayed there (34 people), and the only reason I can't give it a 5 is that a few people complained about noisy ACs, one person had mysterious bugs in her bathroom (she was on floor 2 and was moved, might have been a localized termite issue), and a couple thought the beds were too soft (though mine was not). Parking costs seemed a bit high, but I don't usually rent a car in a city like Honolulu.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank blueoceanheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
clem lagundimao, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Aloha blueoceanheidi,

Mahalo for your review of the Luana Waikiki Hotel and Suites.

We are happy you had a "Great Experience at the Luana Waikiki"! We appreciate your successful organization of the 34 person group. And when you return on your next trip, please feel free to contact us directly.

Thank you again, for choosing the Luana Waikiki Hotel and Suites!

Until we meet again,

Clem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2022

The rooms are fairly large and there is plenty of counter space. Drawers are situated throughout the room, so we had our stuff all over the place. The closet could have been a little bigger, but it was fine. Housekeeping came every other day. We had no problems getting fresh towels or toilet paper.

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SuTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
clem lagundimao, General Manager at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2022

Aloha SuTx,

We thank you for stating that the Luana Waikiki, a "Great place to stay", in Waikiki.

With 17 Tripadvisor.com contributions, we realize and appreciate your 5 star rating.

Mahalo for staying with us!

Regards,

Clem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2022 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Luana Waikiki for 9 nights. Overall we had a good stay, and would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a more budget friendly option in Waikiki.

Starting with the good:
- the staff were all friendly and helpful
- the pool area was quite nice
- the inclusions were very good (wine and cheese nights, lei making, museum passes, fish hook credits)
- the fish hook restaurant was excellent, and the staff there was very friendly
- the closest beach (walking through the park) was in our opinion the nicest beach area in Waikiki.
- the beds were quite comfortable
- the kitchens were well stocked
- the drawers in the beds were great for unpacking!
- the bbq area was great and helped save some money on dinners out

The not so good
- the location is very loud. We were on the 16th floor facing north and the traffic noise was 24/7. We found the a/c quite loud as well and often didn’t need it overnight.. but the sirens and traffic noise were constant.
- the bathroom was not great. The shower head was pretty low so we had to crouch down or bend back to get under the shower head. Overall the bathrooms could use a complete revamp.
- the bedding was a miss for us. It had a sheet then wool blanket, then another sheet on top. We would prefer a comforter or duvet rather than layered bedding. Also, perhaps something under the mattress so it doesn’t slide all over the platform.

Also - valet was $40usd/day. Valet parking seems unavoidable in Waikiki but $40/day with no other options is steep. Also the area is quite small so got a bit hectic when multiple groups were coming and going. The valet guys worked hard but I wish the fee wasn’t so high. The daily resort fee ($27/day) on the other hand seemed worth it if you took advantage of the amenities and inclusions.

Overall we had a good stay but likely wouldn’t return due to the improvements needed in rooms and noise level.

Room tip: Get ocean view to help reduce street noise
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank chelseapaige37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dedicated Management, Owner at Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2022

Aloha chelseapaige37,

We’re glad to hear you received friendly service from our staff, found our pool area to be nice, enjoyed our offerings and activities, and had an excellent time at our restaurant among other positive experiences. However, we’re disheartened to learn that other factors of your stay fell short of expectations. We strive to provide comfortable accommodations that guests can rest and relax in, and we’re sorry your experience differed. Thank you for the detailed feedback. We will send it to our team.

With Aloha,

Clem Lagundimao
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews