We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our 3rd stay at the Ilikai, mainly because it offers a full kitchen (which we use with our 2 young kids) and the location (easy walk to Ala Moana). We have always stayed in the 2 bedroom apartments, but have had friends/family stay in the hotel rooms too, and these are always huge and clean. It's showing it's age, and could do with a refurb, but it's clean, and the staff are always polite.
This is the perfect hotel when you have young kids (ours are now 5 & 3), and can choose between swimming at the pool (pretty average pool area), the lagoon or the beach.
We take the kids scooters with us, so it's easy for them to scooter to Ala Moana, or even into Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    801
    180
    40
    22
See reviews for
686
733
89
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Excellent Hotel. Great location.Very relaxing vacation spot. Great restauarnt and view at Sarento's on the 30th floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have come to like this place after a bit of a rough start and mediocre first impression. I found out via email that not all rooms have a full kitchen; some have only microwave and mini fridge. So we paid $40/night to upgrade to full kitchen (with 2 kids that was the primary reason for this choice). When we got to our room, we found a king bed and sofa bed. I had specifically asked for two doubles/ queens. Chester at the front desk said that all full-kitchen rooms have only one bed. This was not mentioned in my emails with their staff. So, after my complaining, Chester upgraded us to a newly remodeled room ("just released"). A big improvement! We also really disliked the concierge service that was relentlessly trying to get us to sign up for their time share orientation. Honestly, we just wanted to ask about where to eat dinner without being sold anything. Please eliminate the salespeople sitting at the concierge desk. The grounds are in a bit of disrepair (need to renovate the exterior) so plan to enjoy the exquisite grounds next door at the Hilton. However, we talked to another family and discovered that it's $100 less/night to stay at Ilikai than Hilton plus we have kitchen and fairly good service (not available at the Hilton).

Room Tip: Request a high floor for better views. Be specific about # beds, kitchen, beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights going to Alaska and 1 night on our return to Sydney. The rooms are large, clean and showing ware but well maintained. Independent air conditioners helped with our changes in climate. Location is fairly good with a variety of restaurants, shops and the Ala Moana Shopping Centre within a short walk. Access to the beach is in one direction only however it is close to a family safe, man made lagoon. Resent restyling of the Lobby area meant that many of the hotel shops and restaurant are yet to be fully occupied and operational. We arrived very early in the morning and expected to have to store our luggage but were given access to our room immediately…Great service Ilikai! As with most Hawaiian businesses the friendly and very helpful staff did not disappoint.

Room Tip: A Mountain view room is on the street which may be noisy. Quieter rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Ilikai. It was my husband, two daughters ages 13 and 7, and myself. We stayed on the 24th (2424) floor with two double beds.
Pros: Lovely lobby, beautiful views, good location, close to Waikiki and many restaurants, Hilton's lagoon next door, friendliness/helpfulness of staff, Ala Moana center nearby.
Cons: Small swimming pool, dated rooms (need new carpet and new covering for chair...The chair was thread bare in places), air condition was over the beds and blew right on you laying in bed, but you had to leave it on, or the bathroom got warm.
We would also like to make a recommendation to put two queen size beds in the room instead of two double beds.
We stayed here three nights, and we had a good stay.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DLKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 85 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,071 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 85 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites

Property: Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1777 Ala Moana Boulevard, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,510 - ₹ 32,157
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites is a classic oceanfront hotel situated on the Ala Wai Yacht Marina at the edge of Waikiki and just a short stroll to Ala Moana Shopping Center and 2 blocks to the Hawaii Convention Center. Internationally-recognized as the famous opening shot of Hawaii Five-O with Jack Lord as Steve McGarrett standing on the penthouse balcony overlooking Waikiki Beach, the hotel is truly a Waikiki landmark. Each guest room and suite features extra spacious accommodations with a large lanai offering fabulous views. The hotel walkway from the lobby leads to the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon and beach.
With our hospitality fee for all stays, Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi throughout the hotel, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, and Water in Lobby, You'll also enjoy the heated swimming pool, fitness room, coffee shop, rooftop restaurant and more.
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilikai Hotel And Suites
Ilikai Hotel Hawaii
Ilikai Honolulu
Ilikai Hotel & Luxury Suites Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing