We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mochi Ice Cream Mecca”

Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream
Ranked #7 of 128 Dessert in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Anyone who knows us knows that we love mochi ice cream. The first time we tried these were from Lawson Station in Waikiki and then we found that they had lots at Coco Cove too. Well, after our windward beach-hopping tour and hike up to Makapuʻu Lighthouse, we headed to the Mecca of mochi ice cream… Bubbies.

Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream and Desserts is located in the Koko Marina Center of Hawaii Kai (a short jaunt away from Hanauma Bay and Halona Blow Hole).

Clockwise from the top: guava, lychee, sakura, pistachio, lilikoi and blueberry in the middle. These delectable cold treats have a thin, chewy layer of mochi that is wrapped around ice cream. They were so good after the sweltering hike up Makapu’u.

They also have a selection of ice creams, floats, malt and sundaes if those are more to your liking.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pennyandrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2017

I had lychee, lilikoi and sakura mochi ice cream. The ice cream flavors were really good and the mochi wasn't too soft.

There are a variety of flavors to choose from, but some flavors also sell out quickly.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank kisssmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

If you don't know Bubbies, you want to. Yes, they have regular ice cream and all the shakes and sundaes that implies, but if you're in the know, you're here for the ice cream wrapped in mochi (pounded rice). The mochi here is thinner than the ones you find in the grocery store on the mainland, but that's okay, because that's not where the flavor is. They were sadly out of guava when we went, but we had lilikoi (passion fruit), lychee, and the winner, sakura, which was a cherry mochi wrapper and creamy vanilla ice cream.

Delightful. Will definitely return.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank MamaLiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We were pretty boring and just had some basic flavours (chocolate, choc chip, strawberry) in a waffle cone and milkshake but both were excellent. We ate inside and in our time there everyone who came in ordered the mochi ice cream... especially the green tea variety. If we had more time on the island we would've come back to try it!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Lucky13LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Stopped in to try their ice cream it had great reviews ,
overall it was good, nice selection of ice cream flavors
worth trying if you are in the area

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SGLA2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing