We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,536)
Filter reviews
4,536 results
Traveller rating
3,158
948
280
97
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,158
948
280
97
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the study morimoto restaurant sunrise pool day bed pool area waikiki beach adult pool ala moana shopping our honeymoon main pool amazing hotel min walk pool staff turn down service the main strip partial ocean view friday night fireworks
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 4,536 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room was seemingly more spacious than conventional hotels; A nice 50 inch flat screen was provided. It lacks the kitchenette set-up nor a microwave that other Diamond facilities offered.
There’s a great pool patio area serving drinks and food. The pool area has a board walk that meandered dow to the Waikiki Beach area near the Hilton village.
One annoying feature is that the boarded bed frame juts out a few inches from the mattress; this led to ankle bruises if one is not careful.
Staffing was friendly and engaging.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BillF698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here the last week October 2018. It is comfortable, nicely appointed, very clean and quiet. My family and I liked it very much. The only complain would be the lack of a microwave and a place to dry swimming gear.

Room Tip: You can park across the street at the Marina structure for $23 a day. The Ala Moana Mall is a 10 minutes walk, parking there is free.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blckmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Well we’ve stayed at the Modern many times over the years. One of our favorites off the strip and feel well taken care of. But not happy with the new resort fee tagged on to the room for WiFi, coffee pods in the room-and other things that should be standard for a place like this. When I’m paying over $200 a night should I have to pay for a warm towel when I check in? Actually the coffee you offered in the lobby years ago as a compliment was much better than coffee pods.
Also...please give people the option to have more than a thin bed covering to sleep in. Have maybe an extra blanket in the room. Need some weight on more than a sheet.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank maui-no-ka-oi967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Loved the Modern Honolulu. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable with a nice view. The gym was great, equipment was in good shape, and there was cold towels with a refreshing scent in the fridge. Both pool areas were inviting. The pool on the 2nd floor had a view of the harbor and the ocean beyond it. The staff was outstanding. In fact that might have been the best part.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sightsee324923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Modern for 4 nights. Had a room with a partial ocean view on the 12th floor. Staff were friendly upon arrival. The hotel is located within a walking distance to waikiki beach and the lagoon as well not too far from shops. Rooms are very clean. Bed was okay (not soft if that's what you prefer). We had no balcony but could at least open the windows. Shower was good with high water pressure. The only issue we had was that we had planned on our last day to chillax by the pool however, they had closed the pool areas all day because of a private function (food & wine festival). We didn't find out about this until the previous night. This was a major inconvenience. Not to mention we're forced to pay a daily resort fee yet were are unable to use the resort facility (such as the pool). Go figure.

Also upon arrival, the concierge did try to lure us in offering us a "welcome pack" but then he wanted for us to sit down for a chat. After a long haul flight we were tired so then we chose not to engage and headed straight to our room to rest up. And it was good thing that we did as we had then stumbled upon negative reviews from other guests on how the hotel staff wasted their time in trying to sell them timeshare via a long presentation.

For parking, it is alot cheaper to simply park across the road for $23 a day which worked out well.

Stayed: October 2018
2  Thank ngockkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews