We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still "The One"!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at Trump - this time checking in NYE leaving 9th January 2012.

Once again everything was gorgeous - including staff and rooms.

And once again Trump spoiled us! First we were upgraded to a 1 bedroom plus den apartment. Then we received a few surprise gifts of chocolates, slice of cake then the piece de resistance - a bottle of Taittinger Champagne.

Love everything about Trump and will not stop elsewhere whilst in Honolulu.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hqsmumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,876)
There are newer reviews for Trump International Hotel Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,562 of 2,876 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

First of all when your are in Hawaii and paying "5 star" pricing the hotel should be waterfront. Trump (who even tried to get his name taken off the hotel/condo's as we learned) is not on the water. The pool is extremely small. Service was good, but not outstanding. Rooms were nice as well. Overall it was okay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tsba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Trump International Waikiki for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon and it was fantastic! From the moment we were greeted at the car door, to when we were waved off at the end the service was always exceptional. When we arrived we were greeted with a lei each and welcomed by name. And the cool towels and complementary drink are a nice touch. Although we were 2 hours early for check-in this was of no trouble to them as they took us to reception. We had booked a premium king room with sea view, and I had requested a high floor. We were upgraded to a 1bedroom Sea View Suite with Den which was huge! 2 lounge areas, kitchen, 2 balconies, 2 bathrooms, deep soaking tub looked out through floor to ceiling french windows to the sea and the views to the ocean were fantastic! The infintiy pool on the 5th floor really is not done justice by the pictures. Yes it is relatively small but was never busy! You could always find a patch of sun (particularly good in the afternoon so we always headed to the beach in the morning then the pool after lunch). The hotel is slightly set back from the beach behind a small park but you are talking a 1 minute stroll, and don't forget to pick up your daily beach bag from the concierge (who was also excellent, we spoke to him daily for advice, bookings, directions etc) which includes cool bag, towels, water, fruit and sun screen. We only ate in the hotel a couple of times as Waikiki has so much choice but the food we did eat was great and their 'World's best Mai Tai' is worth visiting for on it's own. Location is at one end of the beach just before the Hilton Hawaiian village, which is nice because it's slightly quieter but still right on the edge of all the shops and restaurants. I am glad we ended up here after many hours of internet research as I didn't see another hotel that topped it! Will definately return.
If you visit there are a few things I would thoroughly recommend:
'House with out a key' at the Halekulani (2 hotels along) - Beach front cocktail bar / restaurant, plays live traditional Hawaiian music every night from 7 with accompanying Hula dancer. Great fun for a couple of hours although I would recommend arriving before 6 if you want a seat!
Surfing Lesson - Loads along the beach, all excellent, and where better to learn.
Aloha Stadium swap meet - about a 15min drive from central Waikiki, $1 to park, great market for all your Hawaain essentials (shirts, jewellrey, ukelele etc) and a lot cheaper and seemingly more authentic (I'm sure they are probably not but is a more enjoyable experience) than town.
North Shore - You must take a drive around the island to the north shore to see alll the surf towns and fantastic beaches! The hotel have a suggested route to take that includes Pearl Harbour (free to enter and well worth a trip), Japanese Monestry, famous road side shrimp trucks and many other places.
Hawaii also has one of the US's lowest purchase taxes at about 4.8% so also a great place to shop.

Room Tip: I would recommend as high a floor as possible for the best views.Fill in your pre arrival form that...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JackC1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We travel to Honolulu fairly frequently for various things and we've stayed at most of the better hotels on the island. We wanted to stay in Waikiki this trip to do some surfing and check out a couple of restaurants, so we decided to try Trump because we were traveling with our 10-year old and our 20-year old in school at Manoa was going to come over, so we wanted more space than a hotel room at the Halekulani, Surfrider, or Royal Hawaiian. The one bedroom suites at Trump were running quite a bit cheaper than our suite options at the other hotels, plus it came with a kitchen.

I'm not a Donald fan, but I have to give him props for this hotel. It's awesome! The suite was very large, with two lanais and tons of windows and a great, completely stocked kichen with top of the line appliances and a mini wine cellar, flatscreen TVs, great bathroom, comfortable bed, and a pullout sofa bed in the living room. The restaurants and pool were very chic. Hawaii 5-0 was fillming while we were there and we saw camera crews and security and running actors, it felt like a little bit of LA in Hawaii. We did screw up by not requesting a higher floor as everyone says to do, we were on the tenth and the road noise in the morning was loud. We didn't mind the views of all the hotels and condos and pools, we like being in the city and enoying the "scene", but for the noise factor, elevation is key.

It's a block to the beach, the concierge sets you up with towels and a beach bag and water. Service is impeccable but friendly. The lounge has great happy hour specials. The breakfast buffet was very good. This is definitely our new, cool spot to be in Waikiki and we will be back! It would be especially good for longer stays because of the size of the rooms and the awesome kitchen. It is not at all "Hawaiian", and that may turn some people off, but for locals like us who just want a great stay in the city, it was perfect.

We walked to dinner one night at Taormina Sicilian, highly recommend!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SheaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Trump international. Our room was a 'standard' room but there was nothing standard about it. It was huge and fabulous! Goodness knows what the more luxurious rooms are like. We asked on arrival if an upgrade was available, they told us an upgrade would be available from the following night, but we were so happy with our room we didn't bother chasing it up.
The pool and area was very small, like a 'business' hotel, which is the downside to this place. But don't forget the greatest pool on earth is only a block away! It is very comfortable, top quality as you would expect, but the atmosphere doesn't really have that holiday vibe most visitors probably come to Waikiki for.
If that's not so important to you, you will enjoy the comforts of this excellent hotel, but for that holiday feeling, maybe consider splashing out (even more!) on the Royal Hawaiian, or a little less on the Outrigger Reef on the beach, or possibly the Ala Moana.
Finally, for anyone who has never been to Waikiki, it is not, surprise surprise, a little group of thatched huts on an idyllic beach, as some people may think! It is a big American city, with all the great things and not so great things that go with that. For that reason, all the hotels will have an element of 'city' ambience about them.

Room Tip: I very much doubt there are any 'bad' rooms!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Helvellyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trump International Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trump International Hotel Waikiki

Address: 223 Saratoga Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 20,057 - ₹ 53,998 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Trump International Hotel Waikiki 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trump International Hotel Waikiki has been rated the #1 TripAdvisor Waikiki hotel since October 2010 and is the first and only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star Hotel on the island of Oahu. As part of the Waikiki Beach Walk development offering vibrant entertainment, exclusive boutiques and world-class restaurants, it is one of the premier luxury hotels in Waikiki, Hawaii. Add the simple fact that Waikiki's famous white sand beaches are just steps away, it becomes the perfect respite for your next Hawaiian getaway. Trump Waikiki offers all of the exceptional amenities and superior services of the Trump Hotels to help guests live the life Hawaiian style. A 6th-floor infinity pool with an expansive lanai deck, world-class indoor and al fresco dining, The Spa at Trump® and signature services of Trump Attache - only the best will do at our luxury hotel. This is paradise, after all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trump International Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trump International Hotel Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing