We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close walking distance to beach and main drag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks at this hotel. Wyndham owner so not sure what other travellers are put in. Staff are very helpful, friendly and personable. Hotel was clean, rooms were nicely decorated and modern, very comfortable. Room was furnished with a KS bed, tv/dvd/cd/radio, fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee pot, blender and cutlery, plates etc. convenient for breakfast or quick lunch. Small table with 2 chairs and also patio with couple chairs. Hotel had a laundry room, media and tv room. Was in close walking distance to beach and main drag. Trolley bus stop a block away. The pool is small and only limited loungers but we always managed to get one. We only saw one family with kids so it was relaxed and quiet.

If you are looking for tour deals don't do Expedia as you can get exact same tours through www.savontourshawaii.com or www.hawaiidiscount.com for much less if you book online. Also check for coupons in magazines for good deals. If you are in Hawaii for the beach only then you should book a hotel on the beach. North end of beach is much quieter and nicer. Half day rental for 2 loungers and umbrella was $20.

Some of tours and attractions we did were the Paradise Cove Luau. What a beautiful location and resort. We debated whether to do this one or Germaine's Luau but was told Germaine's is located in an industrial area.North Shore tour was much better than the South Shore. We didn't want to spend a whole day on Circle tour. Pearl Harbour very interesting and do the pre show as it gives you an insight to how it all went down.

The www.waikikitrolley.com trolley pass is worth purchasing. We bought the 4 day pass which you could use any days. Looking at their site you will also find good deals for tours. Pink line is more public and will take you to the ala moana center that has restaurants on top floor and over 260 stores. Red and Green lines are sight seeing tours. We did all lines round trips one day to see what was out there and went back on other days to hop on/off to the places of interest to us. The Palace was very interesting and really nice area and good photo opportunities. The Diamond Head walk is tiring and has over 260 steps to climb but well worth it for the view over Waikiki when you get up there. Don't forget your sunscreen and water and wear runners or walking shoes for a more comfortable experience. The Aquarium is small and doesn't take long to walk around but worth a visit to see the 2 Monk Seals there and the variety of colorful fish. Hilo Hattie's is one of the stops but basically an indoor market of everything you can get elsewhere. The Dole Plantation is nice and also has the most delicious pineapple ice cream!

We shopped at the Food Pantry to begin with but later just shopped in the ABC which was cheaper and on every corner practically. Eating out can be expensive but depends on your tastes. We were there for 2 weeks and never managed to get into the Dukes. Not sure if this was because of food or location. We had a buffet breakfast at the Shore Bird restaurant one day which is in the Outrigger Reef. Was $13.95 for all you can eat and includes juices and coffee etc. They also do a lunch and dinner buffet with Kareoke most evenings. There is a 50% off coupon in one of the free magazines and Oahu Gold I believe that come out weekly.

I also liked the California Pizza Kitchen beside Macy's as you could watch the world go by from the outdoor patio. The other show close to here is the Magic of Polynesian show. Seating is weird but show is pretty good if you like illusionists. I wouldn't do the pre dinner on this show or the Legends show not worth the money. The Legends show is okay but not worth $55 as it really only runs for an hour.

Room Tip: We overlooked busy street that could be noisy may have been better overlooking pool. Depends if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 324 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

My family stayed at this hotel in March and had an overall great experience here. We were told up front about the parking situation before we booked. The parking is mandatory valet and it is $25 a day. The staff is nice and helpful. The property is very well kept. This is not a resort, but it is right in the middle of all of the action. The rooms had been recently updated and the accommodations were nice. The only other thing I was not a fan of was the concierge pushing the timeshare program they have. We told them that we did not make enough money to qualify and she told us that they check credit on everyone so if you want your credit checked go to the seminar.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SABoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Warning: We actually booked a private condo in the hotel so can't say how nice the rooms are if you book through Wyndham although the pictures show the Wyndham timeshare condos are way nicer then the private condo we booked. We booked through paradisewithaview.com unit 1911. Our condo was kind of strange since there were rugs covering all of the carpet which made me think the carpet underneath must've been filthy and I didn't try to even look. Every corner or behind the night tables and furniture looked like its never been vacuumed. We also tried cutting a pineapple with the supplied knife but found it as dull as could be.

The hotel itself was nice, there is a media room and laundry facility available and some other guests said they had laundry in their condo which ours didn't have. There is a small pool which we did not use. The activities desk was super helpful and would give us a map everyday pretty much whenever we had a question of where to go or where to eat. The walk to the beach is about 10min through Fort De Russy Park so can be a pain hauling chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards etc. The service was great, the valet can book your shuttles if you need to go anywhere and don't have a car. We rented a car and be warned that parking is $25 at the hotel with in and out privilege. We rented our car for 2 days and just stayed out all day and parked in a lot on the same street for $5 from 5pm-7am..no in and out. We then used the car the 2nd day and just returned it that night. There is also metered parking on the street which is free from 6pm-7am but can be found to find a spot.

Overall, we decided that even if we had a timeshare condo we wouldn't stay there again. It was too far from the beach and the main strip of Waikiki where all the shopping is even if its only 10 -15 min away. It would've been nicer to stay closer to the beach to make it easier to just pop down there and grab a swim or head down to the strip for some food if we didn't have to walk 10min to get there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the Wyndham Royal Garden from March 4th-11th, 2012. I am a long time Wyndham timeshare owner and this was our first time in Waikiki and at this new location. Despite the weather (full week of rain, hail, road closures, floods) we thoroughly enjoyed our visit despite spending more time indoors than planned. We had a unit on the 14th floor with views to the west of Honolulu/Canal/Mountains, and some peek-a-boo views of the ocean. We are a professional couple in our fifties, away for a restful and romantic week’s break.

This location was not in the heart of Waikiki like the Wyndham Beachwalk resort, but we found this an overall plus since we are not major beach dwellers (really beach walkers) and the beach was a 10-15 minute walk away. Being just outside the core made things much quieter and less hectic, after a couple hours spent on or near the beach with shops/traffic/hotels/hawkers etc it was pleasant to walk 5-10 minutes back to tranquility. The resort is on Olohana St. and backs onto Namahana about a half block from the Ala Wai Canal. Both streets are quiet without steady traffic. Not “rural” quiet but way quieter than our suburban condo back home, though not as quiet as our suburban house.

The Royal Garden was a much different resort than any of my previous Wyndham stays with the exception of Avenue Plaza in New Orleans, which was similar in location and character. (I have enjoyed 15+ different timeshare resorts). What set this resort apart was the staff and feel unlike anywhere else I have visited in the Wyndham system. The place felt like family, and I suspect some staff predated Wyndham’s buyout of the resort. I have always enjoyed good service with Wyndham, but this was good and personal. Size and design, one way in and out, probably helped with this but multiple staff would greet you coming and going, and you greeted them. Major kudo’s to Aaron and Sheldon.

Concierge desk was very helpful, AND, they were not excessive in pushing the owner’s updates. Much appreciated! This kind of behaviour does lead one to more referrals, not less, who wants to send friends to the sharks.

Wyndham’s remake of the hotel was fabulous, for us some of the best decor we have seen (admittedly a matter of taste). The remake does have some limitations compared to the typical Wyndham resort. No in room laundry (though shared facilities as superb), and no full kitchen. Kitchen was great for what we needed since we had no plans to make dinners, easy to walk to dinner daily. No dishwasher, and one quibble, no cutting knives for fruit etc., though Aaron was quick to remedy this issue. Btw if you want to cook steaks they do have 2 grills outside by the pool, hopefully they have steak knives somewhere.

Pool was very pleasant and quiet, the one sunny morning we had. Well designed to give a feeling of shelter and solitude despite being in downtown Waikiki. The neighbouring 3 storey apartments do look over, but rarely is anyone seen coming and going.

If you have a car parking is a problem, $25 per day for valet. Given the Westin Surfrider on the beach charges $15 this is steep.

We stayed here mostly due to a last minute booking and this was all that was available from Wyndham Hawaii timeshares with one month’s notice. While in Waikiki we checked out the other Beachwalk location, but would probably return here unless we had family and needed the bigger units. The other advantage of Royal Garden is the much lower timeshare points cost than the Beachwalk location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Randy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

So after reading past reviews, I was nervous staying here, but upon first walking through the lobby doors, I was greeted and instantly felt welcomed. The staff is amazing, very nice and friendly and always there to answer any questions you have. They made your stay even better just with their friendly hello's and willingly answering questions or helping out with whatever you might need, whether it's how to use the bus route, or where to go for a good place to eat.

My room was on the 8th floor and was very nice, the bed was comfortable and the small kitchenette had a small dorm-size fridge, microwave, toaster and blender. The only drawback was there were no sharp knives in the room, just butter knives. I'm sure they would have been delivered upon request, but I didn't need them.

Another great service is the laundry room. They provide free laundry rooms and free detergent if you need to do laundry.

The hotel is located about three blocks from the beach and a nice walk down there. Fort DeRussy is the closest beach and has a couple beach volleyball nets set up and easy to get yourself playing a game if you want.

Best places for Happy Hour would be Top of Waikiki with the spinning restaurant and great happy hours prices, and also a place called Yard House that has 150-200 imported beers, mostly on tap. It was a nice place to go for happy hour and such a variety of different beers. The food was a little pricey, but very good.

All in all, it was a great trip and a great location. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to a nice place to stay. Not extravagant, but definitely nice and staff makes the difference.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
588 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,124 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki

Address: 440 Olohana St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2193 (Formerly Royal Garden at Waikiki)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: ₹ 10,120 - ₹ 23,613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki offers vacation ownership units within a high rise; mostly studios with a few one and two-bedroom suites. Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki is an ideal choice for a quiet stays in Waikiki while being within walking distance to all the action. The building is mixed use with 140 Wyndham units and 68 privately owned condos. In additions to the free laundry room and fitness center, Wyndham guests and owners have access to the game room and the media lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Royal Garden at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Waikiki Honolulu
Royal Garden Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Wyndham Royal Garden At Waikiki Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing