We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beachside dinner”
Review of Azure Restaurant

Azure Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Azure Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 2,633 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 60 - US$ 80
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Waikiki
Description: The Royal Hawaiian presents Azure - a world-class restaurant perched along the Waikiki beachfront under the canopy of hotel's dramatic architecture. The bejeweled oceanfront space is adorned with intimate candles, plush banquettes, and pillows - creating an ambience of exquisite relaxation. Daily at 5:30 am, the ringing of a brass bell announces the opening of the Honolulu fish auction. And it is here that our chefs begin their quest for the freshest morning catch. Obsessed with quality and driven by excellence, they handpick the best of the best. Offering you, our discerning patrons, the tastiest seafood on the island and an experience beyond compare. Whether it is ahi, opah, onaga, opakapaka, or moi that whets your appetite - locally caught fish are selected each morning at daybreak from the Hawaii fish auction and then prepared with your pleasure in mind.
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Started with some cocktails with a great view of the city and beach,
and then i took the tasting 5 course menu which was 90 $, starts of with a small sashimi, then moves to a excellent lobster soup, some shrimps come as the inbetween and the main was a small filet mignom and scallops. All was well prepared and looks very nice on the plate but had a taste to it.
The end was their version of the cheesecake.
Good choice of wine and service was good.
not the cheapest place but we enjoyed it.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank zdaati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Had breakfast here three days. Tried three different dishes. All very tasty. 10/10 would recommend.

Was confused about the restaurant title/location- turns out the same location has two names depending on the time.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank mleehalloran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

For our last dinner in Waikiki we wanted to have a delicious fish dinner with a view of the beach and were attracted by Azure's claims to purchasing the fresh catch of the day from pier 38. We were able to reserve a table 2 days in advance and while we did not have a table outside on the patio (a couple of large parties were there), we did have a table right at the edge of the interior which still gave us a lovely view. Good start.

We had the Hibachi grilled prawns as a starter and they were large, succulent, and very well prepared. We both went with the fresh catch (opakipaki and mahi mahi), one prepared the island spice way and one with lemon butter. Again, simply, but very well prepared and so delicious. The accompanying sides were excellent. The flourless chocoate cake was "damned good". My only (and very small) complaint was the cost of the after dinner espresso. $7 an espresso seemed a little steep even for this excellent restaurant.

Cocktails and wine were well matched and the service was pleasant and not too intrusive. The bread basket at the beginning had the most delicious combination of breads and crackers. All in all a delicious dinner and and lovely evening by the beach.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 155004Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017

What a place! Helpful waitstaff, beautiful views but most importantly wonderful cuisine. I found the seafood just dreamy delish, everything balanced and not over flavoured or drowned in sauce as can happen.

The ocean salad was to die for and I loved the crispy red snapper. A wonderful place to experience the very best of local seafood.

I really appreciated that they mark which dishes are gluten-free on their menu.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Isolde E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

After eating breakfast there for five mornings, I cannot ever remember a better breakfast place in the world! One can enjoy the morning sunrise while sipping fresh pineapple or guava juice and hot Kona coffee by the ocean. The buffet was comprised of Portuguese sausage, crisp turkey bacon, fluffy scrambled eggs, salmon salad, wild greens salad, fresh pineapple, papaya, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, all kinds of freshly-baked breads including their signature banana bread, lilikoi and guava jelly and Asian selections as well.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 986madvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Azure Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Azure Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing