We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis Near Waikiki”
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakers Hotel
Ranked #64 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis Near Waikiki”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great location close to Waikiki. Convenient to numerous restaurants and shopping. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Sandpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    92
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
65
65
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My son stayed here between the 23rd & 31 may as a cheap option. We did go check out his room & the staff also showed us other rooms
What we love. ...
The price. $130 for a single person in a ground floor room. 1xdouble & 1 xsingle bed. Shower sink & toilet. Kitchenette. Private courtyard. Tv. Small table n chairs. Drawers.

The position. Just behind the trump tower. Restaurants, abc & sandwich place within a few feet. Beach 2 minutes walk. Close to main strip.

The staff. ...friendly & helpful. Very homely feel.

The pool. Nice size with tables & chairs & loungers. Plenty sun.

It's just a 2 story old building. No elevators. Upstairs rooms have balcony overlooking pool. Downstairs rooms have year courtyards but most have a front door that opens to the pool area which is central.

On the downside...
Decor of the rooms is very tired. Clean enough tho. Feels old but not dirty. Rooms can seem a little dark. No air con. Portable fan.

It does depend on what u expect from your room. My husband & I think we may try it for 3 or 4 nights next trip. See if I can stop myself redecorating the room ! :).
My son said it suited his needs perfectly. All he needed was a shower n clean bed.

Worth considering.

Room Tip: We were shown a great room, perfect for a family or group of frends. Downstairs. Double bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Caroline63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Cool, unique, charming, retro. And yeah I agree, it really felt like a tiny oasis in the bustling neighborhood of Waikiki. After walking along the beach past the tall concrete hotels or spending the day shopping among swarms of tourists, it was such a relief returning to Breakers' calm sublimity.

Reasonably priced for a short stay at a well-run, clean and comfortable establishment. The management and staff were helpful and friendly.

We also liked the very local-flavored open-air front desk area with cute low entrance gate, endless flow of coffee, decent collection of left-behind books, and yes, a fat old cat (only saw one). Nice pool and area with a plump tree that provided shade in one corner. Didn't realize until the last day that there are inflatables (plus boogie boards) for use hidden under the stairs next to the tree. Inexpensive laundry facility with 1 dollar wash and dry (though we just hung our clothes out on the lanai). Free ice and wi-fi (unfortunately, only in pool area). Funky old TV with cable in the room. Room also had a safe but with a 2 dollar per night charge, which I wasn't aware of, or maybe I just didn't pay attention.

There's an ABC Store and 7-11 right across the street for things like booze, snacks and water. For real groceries, we took a bus to the mall and shopped at Walmart outside the mall (there's also a Foodland in the mall). Great little kitchenette with cool fold-down stove, and fully equipped cupboards made cooking convenient. Right across the street there was a decent Italian restaurant, which we tried, and a Japanese restaurant, which we didn't. On the same side of the street, on the other side of a parking lot towards the beach is a tiny ice cream, fruit and sandwich shop that's apparently been there forever. Delicious homemade ice cream and sandwiches. Everything (but drinks) is 5 bucks. But really, there are all sorts of dining options in the area, and bus stops conveniently behind the hotel. The restaurant at Breakers, Wasabi Bistro, which is independently owned, was too expensive and just OK. We tried the Rainbow sushi roll and an appetizer called Wasabi No. 1, kind of a crab cake. The white and mishmash (think outdoor furniture, faux columns and chandeliers) interior decor needs an overhaul.

Some minuses: our kitchenette drawers had an strong, old musty smell; maybe that's one of the drawbacks of staying in a vintage establishment. Also, not everything worked. Wooden blind shutters above the air-con was inoperable (would have been nice to open it up at night) and our toaster was dead. And the huge mirror next to the bed was disconcerting. Felt like a Japanese love hotel. Kinda creepy getting up half-asleep in the middle of the night to take a leak only to glance upon your dark figure in the mirror. Pillows were plentiful but flat and hard. Finally, while there were wash rags for the dishes, there were no sponges with scrubbers, which made cleaning pots and pans more of a chore.

Still, I'd recommend the place and will definitely consider staying there again. Wish they offered long-stay deals, though. It would make sense to do so, at least during the off season, as there were many vacancies.

Room Tip: Room in back heading toward rear gate and laundry room was quiet and large but didn't get much s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank seespotsurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Most newlyweds choose the all-inclusives, resorts, or posh new hotels for their first (married) trip together. We did opt for mostly resort- style hotels during our stay in Hawaii, but The Breakers was our budget-friendly, mid-vacation break while we were in Honolulu.

For the two nights we were there, it was a great space in a great location, at a great price. It was also a great juxtaposition to trendy Waikiki.

The rooms (and showers!) are a great size. We stayed on the first floor, so our balcony/porch didn't have a great view, but who cares? A high-rise would have blocked it anyways.

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, especially the tubby cat on a leash who chases lizards around your feet while you check in.

It's a fun, kitschy, retro experience. Like stepping into a time warp back to the 60's, with digital cable boxes from the 21st century.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Reens82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

The Breakers hotel is an amazing spot, it's not the biggest, it's not the newest, but it's one of the best. It is in a perfect location for transport links all over the island, and is within a short stroll of the international markets, waikiki beach and much more. The staff are extremely helpful and always friendly. Add to all this the incredible value for money and this is a sure winner!
If you want a relaxing environment to slip away into after hitting the shops or beach all day, forget the huge resort complexes right on the beach, come to the breakers.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank KiwiTraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Ilima Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
935 reviews
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#32 of 84 in Honolulu
1,540 reviews
The Polynesian Residences
#80 of 84 in Honolulu
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Property: Breakers Hotel
Address: 250 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1994
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,161 - ₹ 10,973
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Breakers Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing