We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Oasis in Waikiki!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breakers Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hidden Oasis in Waikiki!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

The Breakers hotel is an amazing spot, it's not the biggest, it's not the newest, but it's one of the best. It is in a perfect location for transport links all over the island, and is within a short stroll of the international markets, waikiki beach and much more. The staff are extremely helpful and always friendly. Add to all this the incredible value for money and this is a sure winner!
If you want a relaxing environment to slip away into after hitting the shops or beach all day, forget the huge resort complexes right on the beach, come to the breakers.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
13 Thank KiwiTraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    88
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
62
65
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is a little old fashioned hotel hidden among the huge hotels like Trump tower. If you want hotels with all the modern fancy amenities, fine go for it. However if you want a taste of Hawaii as how it was like in the "old days", this is the hotel for you. Granted, it's older and not shiny and fancy but the rooms are clean ( i heard some of the rooms have been refurbished) and there is definitely a feel of aloha here. The staff treat you like family and the place is small enough to get to know the other guests. Some of them come here several times a year. There is a pool under the shade of a huge tree, a Japanese restaurant on property- pretty good I might add, and 2 cute cats that greet the guests. It's two stories without an elevator so make sure you can manage your luggage up the stairs. Walking distance to the beach. The best part of it is the aloha you get from from staff and housekeeping people. Nowadays, that's rare.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Wina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This little gem next half a block from the ocean is just brimming with Aloha spirit and retro delight. From the moment I booked through their website and spoke with Debbie I was made to feel welcome. I was joining friends who had booked separately, we arrived during a rainstorm and were greeted by a smiling Colleen who had us quickly in our rooms, thoughtfully across from each other. My room was lovely, think 1960s charm, with 2012 comforts, sheets crisp and clean a cute little stainless kitchette, a wonderful Lanai, lots of wood finishings but with plenty of lighting for those of us with not so good eyes. The pool was always sparkling clean and as most guests were more mature you could count on courteous companions. The frontstaff were always ready to help, the location perfect, restaurants abound, ABC store for groceries across street. I cant say enough good things about this lovely place, no wonder some guests have been coming here over 30 years. When I left I received a beautiful hula from Colleen and a fresh and wonderfully fragrant lei as a gift, its an honor to stay here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have lanais, and its a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Shawniganlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Paul Mn
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've stayed here several times over the years and will continue to return simply because you can't beat the price and the location.My chief complaint is that the room I was in (134 I believe) is badly in need of some updating and if not that at least a deep cleaning.When I first entered I wasn't sure I wanted to walk barefoot.The carpeting is beyond cleaning and quite simply needs to be replaced.There are louvered closet doors that are so filled with dust and grime that they border on gross.The wallpaper is horribly outdated and shows it's age.
Aside from the room, the staff and all the guests are incredibly friendly.The hotel provides free wifi which is avail as you sit around the pool..quite nice.All I can really say is that it's time to put some money into this place and spruce it up.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank butchpSt_PaulMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Small hotel less than a block from Waikiki Beach. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and adequate. Not a lot of frills, but we didn't come to Hawaii to stay in a hotel room. Leaving the key with the desk clerk turned out to be actually good. The staff gets to know you, and you them, plus they know who's there. I have to state that it was the first time in ages that I had seen a TV with a channel dial and knobs, but it worked fine. If we go back, this hotel will certainly higher on list than the mega-hotels like the Hilton or the Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Phaidraigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Polynesian Plaza
#81 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Ilima Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers Hotel

Property: Breakers Hotel
Address: 250 Beach Walk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1994
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,288 - ₹ 11,201
Hotel Class:2 star — Breakers Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Breakers Hotel Honolulu, Hawaii
Breakers Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing