We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I love it here.”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

From the smooth sandy beach (no coral in the water here) to the excellent chi-chi's (pina colada with vodka as opposed to rum), this place does it for me. As you face the water, behind you is the main street, restaurants, the honolulu zoo, art galleries and entertainment. But in front of you is nothing but one of the coolest stretches of beach on the planet. Friendly staff, Duke's restaurant where you can watch the sunset and eat wonderful fresh seafood and everything you need right there. I wish I was there now.

Room Tip: Partial ocean is nice. It's less expensive then ocean view, but you still get water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Aloha Robin360. Thank you for your comments and in appreciating our hotel and location. We look forward to wlcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,511
    1,506
    400
    132
    58
See reviews for
1,430
2,035
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed here for 9 days in early Feb. The beach is beautiful, soft sand, very easy for swimming, lots of people. Beach chairs with umbrella are 50 a day, there are plenty of nice areas near the pool to relax, towels are plentful. I was on the 16th floor, in a partial ocean view, and i do mean partial, facing the Moana, so the view is ok, not great, its also very noisy due to the street scene. the balconys on the 16th floor are double the size , and are the preferred way to go. the west side of the hotel has very small balconys and they can always hear the loud air conditioning units, all day, all night. The rooms are nice , but a bit worn, nice TVs, nice toiletries, very nice maids, and i loved sitting out on the very nice balcony. I love Dukes, a very fun place to eat or drink, The Hula Grill was also very nice, and they have a very nice small deli on the main floor with great sandwiches. Elevator service was very good, staff friendlyness was excellant and the location , being right on the main drag is fun. Their in the beginning of a year long major renovation, i think after that , this will be a terrific hotel, i plan on returning next year.

Room Tip: Try for the 16th floor, best views and the best balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halla1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Front Office Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Aloha and thank you for your comments. The guest rooms, corridors and swimming pool areas are currently undergoing major upgrades through June 30th. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can experience our nrewly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed here for two nights in February. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach, near great shopping and right across the street from the International Market, another great shopping spot! The room was small, the view was oceanview, but a very limited ocean view and mostly looking at the hotel next door! The bathroom was large with a separate dressing area and place to store your luggage and a safe for belongings. This was nice and helped with the smaller room size. You must pay $30 for valet parking, $60/day for a beach umbrella and two chairs and all your meals. The pool is nice, but kind of small as well as the pool deck area is small and a little hard to navigate through when there are a bunch of people at the pool. They do have surfing, outrigger and catamaran services located right on the beach which is convenient. When on the beach there is a great view of Diamond Head! There are washer and dryers available and they are located outside near the pool area. Overall a pretty nice hotel, but I might check out another hotel in the same location which offered a better view for the price and possibly more amenities included.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetybeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Aloha Tweetybeets, thank you for your review of the Outrigger Waikiki. Happy to hear you were able to book an oceanview room and enjoyed your stay. The greatest views are from our oceanfront rooms. The oceanfront rooms have a panoramic view of the ocean and stunning views of Diamond Head.

Mahalo,
Puna~Front Office Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The hotel is right in the heart of all the action. The beach is beautiful with gorgeous sunset views. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel. We didn't try the steak house, but both Duke's and The Hula Grill were excellent. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient.

I agree with other comments about the pool area leaving something to be desired, but the beach is great. Part of the outdoor lounge-chair area is turned into outdoor dining in the evening. We enjoyed a nice dinner here with great views, but be sure to get there early, because you will have a long wait!

One other negative was that the bed wasn't the most comfortable, but not terrible.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Aloha Linda G, thank you for taking the time to reivew the Outrigger Waikiki. You are right about this hotel being right in the heart of all the action. I am happy to report that the pool is currently undergoing a renovation and all of the rooms will have new beds by July of 2012. Please come back and visit us again!

Mahalo,
Puna~Front Office Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This property is ideally situated right on Waikiki Beach between the historic Moana Surfrider and the Royal Hawaiian. The rooms are very comfortable with most inclusions you would expect, however, for such a large resort the pool and surrounds leave a lot to be desired. This area is cluttered and overcrowded with guests in peak times. Dukes (downstairs) provides a good buffet style breakfast at a reasonable price and night-life activities. Most staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from next door's noisy air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele-flynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LornaPuna, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Aloha michele-flynn, thank you for your review of the Outrigger Waikiki. I am happy to report that the hotel is currently doing a renovation of the entire pool area. It will be complete by July and encourage you to come back and visit us again!

Mahalo,
Puna~Front Office Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,241 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,221 - ₹ 28,895
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Honolulu, Hawaii
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing