We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$519
View deal
Hotels.com$519
Booking.com$516
Travelocity$519
travelup.com$541
Priceline$565
Traveluro$576
View all 22 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,843)
Filter reviews
1,843 results
Traveller rating
908
588
201
72
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
908
588
201
72
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen washer and dryer paradise pool city view hawaiian village master bedroom the penthouse partial ocean view nice property ala moana blvd waikiki beach family vacation super pool per day parking garage an umbrella friday night fireworks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,843 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2022

This is my 3rd visit to the Hawaiian Village. The hotel was great with the exception of the elevators being down for a day which created long lines in the lobby. I notified the front desk 2x and security once and after about 20 hrs they were fixed. I fell in love with Honolulu this trip, the Hawaiian village is in a great location you can walk to shops and parks and even other neighborhoods and if you’re going a little further catching a taxi is super easy and much cheaper than Uber. I wouldn’t suggest eating in the Hawaiian village tho because everything is so expensive. Do some research and make reservations outside the property.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank ShimmySham26
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2022

Stayed for a week during peak XMas to New Yrs holiday season. The entire Hilton complex was bustling and it was so much better to be at the Waikikian vs some of the other properties in the Village (which were much more mobbed/crowded). Check-in was smooth and the bellhops are super helpful. Parking is rather inconvenient as there is only 1 shared garage for all the properties in the Village - it's also bloody expensive. Since you have to walk so far to retrieve your car (or wait a long time for a valet to fetch it), the heck is to park at a nearby public lot at the end of the marina/beach which is orders of magnitude cheaper.

We ate at Aoki's Teppanyaki which was excellent (island's best), had our fair share of Dairy Queen (which really hit the spot coming off the beach), and also stood in long lines for Lapperts Ice Cream (which is great but hard to justify 30 min waits). There are 2 Starbucks and we waited 40+ min in line one AM - it's that nuts at this time of year (mobile order or not).

The Fitness Center is solid and they do a reasonable job of trying to keep it ventilated (open doors) but you're bound to bump into a crowd early in the AM there. Best to go mid-late afternoon.

The Pool was bonkers - people started waiting in line 30 min before it opened in the AM to get a spot. The bummer is that you have to wait until it's open to just get towels if you want to head to the beach. You can rent chairs and umbrellas for the beach and the boys do a great job of setting you up - it's not cheap though. We didn't bother with the lagoon - that looked like a traffic jam with so many different types of aquatic toys in the water.

Our actual room/unit was great - spacious and somewhat updated. Appliances seemed particularly refreshed (Samsung dishwasher was unnecessarily difficult to use for some reason). Housekeeping was excellent (came once and really did a good job). We had a reasonably high room, so the noise was minimal.

It's a 20 min walk to Ala Moana Mall and a short drive to Waikiki (in the opposite direction). Easy access to H-1 to drive around the island. The location is really solid for this resort.

Biggest gripes - long lines for elevators and unruly guests who did not respect the limit 4 to an elevator and keep your masks on at all times. Covid cases are really surging in Oahu and we were glad to be leaving after a week as it was not feeling particularly safe at various tourist sites or how guests were behaving within the Village. Not necessarily a fault of the resort as they are clearly understaffed for the throngs of visitors, but this is what vacationing in the pandemic is all about - as much about risk mitigation as it is about having fun, sadly.

I really wonder what this resort would be like in a non-pandemic scenario - think they did the best they could but again, we kinda expected craziness given the peak week and got home happy that we took the trip.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank yangbness
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

We stayed here for one week over the December holiday, and it was basically a sardine factory. This hotel cares more about making money and is not concerned in the least about guest safety. Management does not enforce masking protocols or follow CDC guidelines. The small elevators are continuously overcrowded, and many guests do not seem to care about social distancing. There were multiple times I had to ask guests to stop eating their ice creams or snacks in the crowded elevator and put on a mask. There was one time where 2 guests almost got in a fist fight over refusal to take another elevator because of overcrowding. I even spoke with resort manager Susumu about perhaps posting some signs by the elevators asking to limit capacity to 4-5 or family groups only, and he said he was told by 'corporate' that he couldn't do it. Mind you, Covid case counts are currently the highest they've ever been in Hawaii. To add insult to injury, half the hand sanitizer stations are empty and public bathrooms are out of soap and paper towels. Everything is crowded here, and you can easily see why case counts are escalating in this situation. Be afraid and stay away is my advice!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 424gracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGV Resorts, Owner at Hilton Grand Vacations Club Grand Waikikian Honolulu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience over the busy holiday season. Since reopening, the hotel has closely monitored the local, state and federal guidelines regarding COVID responses to ensure the health and wellbeing of our guests. We are deeply appreciative of and value the many responsible and respectful guests who choose to stay with us. We hope you will return for a much improved overall experience.

Pam Yagi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2021 via mobile

We really loved our stay at the Waikikian. The rooms are large and comfortable. We were able to walk to everything. From Dukes to Ala Moana. We would stay here again for sure. While the staff was really nice, I don’t think it’s wise to lean too much on the concierge. We had our dinner plans fall through because an excursion went long, so I asked the concierge to help us find something that night…deer in the headlights.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank galenleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2021

We have Great time and the location is accessible and short walk to Point of interest like Catholic Church and Shopping and many others.The Hilton village is nice and clean. Overall i recommend Hawaii Hilton to people want to visit the island.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank teodoroalipio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews