We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
27 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$565
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
LuxuryCollection
$573
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
$463
View deal
Booking.com$570
Hotels.com$565
Priceline$613
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,930)
Filter reviews
4,930 results
Traveller rating
2,819
1,132
514
259
206
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,819
1,132
514
259
206
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mai tai bar the pink palace mailani tower surf lanai azure restaurant pink lady sheraton pool historic section historic hotel garden view original building beach chairs old hawaii tower room an umbrella diamond head resort fee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 4,930 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2021 via mobile

I missed this place as the geo map wasnt to clear in September visit but this time december while eating at cheescake factory see other review it was directly a short walk away but entrance to it secluded by first heading to the sheraton waikiki then taking the very short driveway to the pink palace. Worth the visit as youll see in pics later.
Somehow we visited the sheraton walk thru but failed to realize where the pink palace was. To stay would be ideal and expensive but walking through is a journey back in time and dining is available and the beach has a walk path separated by a short wall and single gate and anyone may pass through the gate in either direction i suppose as guest at the hotel have direct assess to the beach. Routinely the grassy area in front of the gate offers luau shows for the hotel or other payers but you can stand on the walkway to catch a luau sense see the pics and enjoy then plan to visit

Room tip: Find the sheraton waikiki and the pink palace is a short walk from it to the west
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 December 2021

My wife and visited for Thanksgiving 2021. I'm a Marriott Platinum member and was happy to hear that I was upgraded to a suite upon arrival. The room wasn't quite ready when we got there (we arrived early) so we walked around the property and grabbed a quick snack at the bakery. We loved the fact that the hotel was right on the beach and definitely went for a walk on the beach. When we finally got into the room it was beautiful. My wife is not really a fan of historic hotels but even she commented and said that it was very nice. Would definitely stay here again. Only slight con was that the beach was too crowded to book and beach chairs, umbrellas, or cabanas but I guess that's to be expected the week of Thanksgiving.

Room tip: We stayed in the Queen Kapiolani Suite and it was great
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Therealkylehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2021

Aloha Therealkylehill,

Mahalo for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy member at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. We appreciate you for choosing to celebrate your Thanksgiving with us. We are thrilled to know you and your wife thoroughly enjoyed the upgraded suite offered to you by our thoughtful associates at our waterfront location close to the ocean beach. That said, we regret any inconveniences you encountered due to our high occupancy during peak seasons. It is always a joy to hear our guests are excited about returning; we are looking forward to it.

Mahalo,
Nicole Okuna
The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2021

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the Royal Hawaiian this past Thanksgiving week. The hotel is an oasis on an island which many feel is far over commercialized. Parts of Waikiki might be called a shopping mall on a beach. The Royal Hawaiian is NOT!

This hotel is a jewel in Hawaii's history. Thank you Marriott for keeping it that way. Elegance with distinction!

Room tip: Ocean view facing Diamond Head
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Aloha Jim,

Mahalo for your kind words about your stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. We are delighted you spent your Thanksgiving holiday with us and that you found the hotel luxurious and peaceful. We strive to deliver an exceptional experience for each guest, so we are grateful we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Mahalo,
Nicole Okuna
The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2021 via mobile

The Royal Hawaiian was our home away from home for 5 nights and out of our choices, we felt like we made the right decision. The biggest positive was the amazing location. Location is always our biggest factor when narrowing down our choices and it makes a big difference in a place like this where you won’t have a vehicle. There is a group of hotels next to each other on Waikiki that all are perfectly located (Sheraton, Royal Hawaiian, Outrigger, and Moana Surfrider). The atmosphere here is why we chose it out of the 4. You feel like you’re actually in Hawaii when you’re staying here, not just another beach resort. The classic Hawaiian feeling came with a cost, however. The price was a bit steep, the pool was a joke, and there were some ants in the room. That being said, we would choose this hotel again.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 November 2021

We added a couple of nights in Waikiki at the end of a 9-night Oahu visit, almost as an after-thought and weren't sure what to expect. Thankfully, we chose the Royal Hawaiian. It turned out to be a highlight of the whole trip and really put the best possible face on what I always assumed was kind of a jam-packed touristy area.

First of all, you walk into this place and you expect Clark Gable or Humphrey Bogart to come strolling through the lobby. It's as if you've been transported back to the 1920s or 1930s with everything impeccably preserved and oozing classic luxury. The feeling continues as you walk around the gardened interior courtyard.

We chose a room in the "newer" hotel tower which was added at some point as an adjunct to the original early 1900s structure, so I can't speak to the rooms in the original building. But we were thoroughly satisfied with the updated room with a view that we got. It had a marvelous view of the ocean and Diamond Head and when you got off the elevator, you were conveniently deposited at the entrance to the pool, beach access and breakfast areas. To access the wonderful Mai Tai Bar and the exclusive Azure Restaurant, you had to make your way back through the older hotel building, but you end up being happy for the experience because it turns out, there are more amazing architectural treasures revealed on the way.

The pool is small, with limited seating, but we had no problem slipping into it a couple times and there was always a spare seat when we wanted one. Marriott also runs the Sheraton next door and gives you access to its larger pool, if you care. The beach is public and gets a little crowded, but the hotel rents lounge chairs and umbrellas on it anyway and this is really how Waikiki should be experienced. I get why it's so popular now. The water is only about 3 feet deep for a very long distance away from the beach and the waves are New Jersey-style 2 or 3 footers which occasionally smack you in the back if you're not looking, but are generally just fun and easy going. You can watch the catamarans going in and out and people trying to learn how to surf while you're out there. Just swim to the side of their area and you're fine! And of course, the backdrop of all those luxury hotels and Diamond Head really makes you feel like you've just won some sort of vacation lottery.

The service here is great, as one would expect. The guy checking us in asked if we were celebrating something and when I said we were -- presto -- coupons for a free champaign toast, two free mai tais and appetizers at the bar suddenly appeared!

The Mai Tai Bar is a great place to eat, by the way. They have salads and sandwiches, all very tasty. The mai tai there is perfect -- not too bitter, a little sweet, but they definitely let the rum do the talking. Probably the best I've ever had.

Azure, the fine-dining restaurant was exquisite. Very pricey, but every round of the pre fixe four-part offering was cleverly put together in ways that are hard to experience if you aren't willing to treat yourself. We did --- again, we were celebrating! -- and we're still talking about the meal.

Can't say enough about how much we loved this place. I'm a sucker for old, historic hotels, but you never know what you're going to get. Sometimes, they're in disrepair, or under renovation. Not the RH. The Pink Princess was perfectly preserved and a hell of a place to call home for a couple nights. Highly, highly recommend.

Room tip: Eat at the Mai Tai Bar. You may have to wait in line, but it's worth it. Food is great. And definitely order their mai tai!
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pabirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Aloha pabirds,

Mahalo for the detailed review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. We are thrilled to read about your fantastic stay and how much you enjoyed our timeless property on the island of Oahu. Since 1927, we have strived to deliver an excellent experience to every guest through our design and hospitality. Therefore, we celebrate reviews such as yours.
Mahalo once more; we look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Nicole Okuna
The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews