We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This was our 10th visit in 9 years. Everything was perfect, as usual.

Carol & Evelyn provided nightly "turn-down" service with chocolates. They are friendly and helpful.

The beach staff provides the ultimate Waikiki experience. The hotel provides umbrellas, chaise lounges, and plenty of towels. Chuck and Paul remember us and make us feel very welcome.

Next year I am bringing my granddaughter for her 8th grade graduation. I sure she will fall in love with The Royal Hawaiian like we have.

There is no where in the world like The Royal Hawaiian.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinDobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Aloha and mahalo for your loyalty and your very kind words about your recent stay with us. We are delighted that everything is always perfect and we thank you for your mention of Carol, Evelyn, Chuck and Paul and we have passed these compliments along to them and their managers.
It is fantastic to hear that you feel we deliver the ultimate Waikiki experience at our guest beach area and we cannot wait to welcome your granddaughter next year. Until then, thank you ever so much from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,999
    849
    376
    167
    116
See reviews for
1,064
1,618
128
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

$190/person for preferred seating includes miserly portions of mediocre food,plenty of alcohol, okay entertainment if u need a primary school review of Hawaiian history. One big highlight was the Amazing Tiamane Gardner, a STAR Ukelele player. Check her out on You Tube!

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

In the customer service industry, first impressions are everything. After renting our car at HNL, my partner and I were both very excited to explore the island of Oahu, but more excited to be a guest of the Royal Hawaiian Hotel. This was his first trip to any of the Hawaiian islands, so I wanted to splurge and make this a trip of a lifetime for him. I have been to the Hawaiian islands numerous times, but had never been a guest of the Royal Hawaiian hotel, so it was definitely a dream for the both of us as we had seen the "Pink Palace" on various travel
shows. The moment we pulled into the hotel, we were deeply disappointed by the hotel valet and bell staff. I had read online that self parking was included in the resort fee, so I knew in advance that I would self park the rental car. I first wanted to check into the hotel or at least get the paper work started and once that was complete, park the car. I was told, however, that if I wanted to self park rather than valet, I would have to relocate my car immediately. My partner remained with our luggage as I parked the car. During this time, the valet staff told my partner, "Good luck finding a parking spot and you better hope he doesn't park in the wrong garage because if he does, they'll tow the car," all while laughing. One would think, the valet staff would point a hotel guest to the correct direction for finding the parking garage, but boy was I wrong. After parking the car in the CORRECT garage, we made our way to the reception desk area. I
did like the fact that each front desk agent has their own reception desk and two chairs rather than standing for the check in process. We were soon greeted by Sora and the check in process began. This is when the true trouble began. As Platinum cardholder members with American Express, we booked the hotel with an AMEX representative over the phone as it comes with perks for doing so. After no word of AMEX Fine Hotels& Resorts, I inquired about the Platinum/Centurion benefits associated with our rate. Sora informed me that we had not booked with AMEX and there was nothing that she would AND could do for me. I have
immediate issues with her statement. I am not sure if it was my race, sexual orientation, and/or age, but she had no interest in helping my partner and/or myself in resolving the issue at hand. Being a FHR with AMEX, she could have either 1. spoke with a reservation agent and/or
manager to resolve the situation OR 2. called AMEX herself to alleviate the situation. Sora never even considered these options and told me that we wouldn't be receiving the perks associated with the special rate. At this time, we excused ourselves and called AMEX. I
spoke to a great rep on the phone, who worked with me to resolve the issue. After being transferred three times herself, she finally spoke to Evan, the Guest Services Manager. The two of them were able to rectify the issue. During this time, I asked Sora, who was annoyed
that I would call AMEX, if I could talk to a Front Office Manager regarding the situation or any manager. After waiting 10 minutes, she brought Evan. During this entire time, Evan showed no interest in hearing our side of the story and smirked and smiled while I told him
the situation. At no time did he apologize for the inconvenience or alleviate the situation. He informed us that our suite was not ready( it was 1500 at the time and check in is 1500) and he would give us a call when it was ready. He also gave us 2 coupons for a free Mai Tai
as we waited. We of course took the coupons, but we had plans for the afternoon and had to wait for the room to be ready. At this time, I inquired if were wanted to no longer remain at the hotel if we would be charged the cancellation fee. He said normally they would, but he
would waive the fee. After consulting with my partner, we decided to stay one night at the RH and move to a new hotel. After talking to AMEX, we found our paradise and heaven on Oahu: The Kahala. ( Be sure to read my review on the Kahala.) We informed Evan of our decision and
he made the change in the computer. One would think that Evan would work to retain our business, but he didn't. He couldn't have been bothered to retain our business and simply didn't care. Did I fail to mention that we are Starwood Gold Preferred members. There was NO
UPGRADE offered( SPG Gold Benefit AND AMEX benefit)-- I checked spg.com before coming to the hotel and there was an upgrade available). Also, during the check in process you are supposed to receive a welcome drink, which we did receive AND a cold towel, which we did NOT receive. After receiving the drink coupons, we went to the outdoor bar, had an aperitif and Mai Tai and waited 30 minutes until Evan called. We got our keys and went to our room. In summary, don't spend the money to stay at the Royal Hawaiian... We booked the Royal
Garden Junior Suite at a price of $460/night PLUS a mandatory $25/night resort fee not including tax and a lot of taxes on top of that.... You are EASILY looking at over $500-550/night and for what? Someone to be rude and downright nasty? No thank you, we'd rather stay
at Motel 6! If you read anything in this review, read this... DO NOT waste your money at the Royal Hawaiian... Instead, stay at the Kahala Hotel and Resort. It's less expensive and DEFINITELY worth every penny as they will treat you like gold!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, we are always listening and grateful for guest comments. We are in absolute agreement that first impressions are very important and we are so sorry that your first experience with us was not our usual Royal welcome. We absolutely empathize with you and understand the disappointment that you must have felt and we have shared your experiences both at the porte cochere and with the front desk with management, who are working to ensure this does not occur in the future.
We also sorry to hear that you did not receive the upgrade you had hoped for; we do all we can to provide upgrades wherever possible based upon availability and do apologize that we had no upgrades or suites available during your time with us.
We are so pleased that you did enjoyed our check-in concept, with chairs and amenities, rather than a stand in line arrival, and hope that you will give us a second chance to deliver the true Hawaiian aloha-spirited service which we are known for and which has made us famous over the 85 years our resort has been operation. With kind regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The outrigger reef hotel is being remodeled, go to a different island until they have completed the remodel next door. It's so loud from 10 am until 5:30pm.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123funforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
We are so sorry to hear that you experienced noise from the neighboring resort renovation. We certainly do not wish our guests to have anything but a truly relaxing vacation and we do hope that you let us know immediately so that we could assist with the situation. We are here to help with anything that you may need during your time with us and we do hope that despite the noise you encountered, you enjoyed our charming resort and aloha-spirit ambiance. With kind regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

This hotel has excellent service from the the bell boys to check in to the staff in the food services. We always add on a few days in Honolulu to our Hawaiian trips because it's fun too have a couple "touristy days" shopping, eating and walking in the "city" in addition to all the natural beauty of the islands. The number one thing I love about the royal is you feel very secluded and the atmosphere is old Hawaiian even thoughbyou are smack dab in the center of honolulu which really is "crazy touristy hawaii." The remodel of the hotel is pretty good overall and it's like going back in time but in a very luxurious way. I've stayed numerous places on the island and for location and value I would say the Royal Hawaiian is my choice when I want a few days in Waikiki!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvhawaii-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,381 - ₹ 47,001
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing