We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Pink Palace a timeless classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Pink Palace a timeless classic”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel offers everything one would conjure up when envisioning vacationing in Hawaii in style. The staff and service are impeccable and the convenience of location cannot be beat. You can walk out the back of the hotel right onto the sands of Waikiki. The hotel is somewhat pricey, but I believe that the quality of the hotel speaks for itself. It has gone through a major renovation several years ago and the changes have made this hotel one of my favorites.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you ever so much for sharing such wonderful words about your recent vacation with us. We couldn't be happier to hear that you feel our resort offers everything one could want for a Hawaiian style vacation and we are so thankful to you for sharing that.
We have passed your kind compliments along to our exceptional staff and management, and also appreciate your mention of our extensive renovation which has restored our resort to a luxury palace. It makes us so happy to hear that we are one of your favorite resorts and we so hope you will be back to stay with us again soon. Until then, aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,090
    871
    388
    173
    121
See reviews for
1,109
1,681
134
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A wonderful and majestic hotel..it really does live up to its name. You feel like absolute royalty staying at The Royal Hawaiian. From little things like a scrumptious freshly baked loaf of banana bread (along with the recipe) greeting you upon check-in, luxurious bath room amenities and toiletries to the freshly chilled water bottles delivered each morning and personalised thank you notes written by the hotel general manager thanking us for our stay and happy travelling wishes.

The hotel decor is magnificent, truly magical and enchanting..it is a wonderful hotel and the best choice we made to stay for our honeymoon. The staff are an absolute delight to deal with and happy to help in any way they can.

On the evenings we also had drinks at the hotel Mai Tai Bar, a relaxing and inviting environment to just enjoy drinks by the water. It’s quite lively with a band playing each night, but not crazily busy and noisy like other bars along the water. If you’re looking to have a nice romantic night out with a bit of fun, the Mai Tai bar is the place to be.

Overall, you couldn’t go wrong staying at this hotel. Price-wise it is a bit dear but worth every penny for a completely stress free and relaxing honeymoon (and holiday)!

Mahalo for our wonderful stay! x

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thuykoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Congratulations on your recent marriage! We just love your wonderful descriptions and fantastic photographs - thank you so much for taking the time to share this review of your honeymoon stay with us in Pink Paradise.
It is so lovely to hear that you found our resort to be so majestic, and the little amenities we provide to be so special. We are delighted that you feel our resort lives up to it's grand name and that you felt like royalty staying with us.
We hope to celebrate your first Anniversary with you too. Until then, aloha and mahalo from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.



Overall, you couldn’t go wrong staying at this hotel. Price-wise it is a bit dear but worth every penny for a completely stress free and relaxing honeymoon (and holiday)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I would like to personally thank the staff and management of the Royal - the members of the team went out of their way to help make our event a memborable service. The Royal dedicated members at the event outperformed their services.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Mahalo nui loa for your very kind words. We're blushing an even darker shade of pink and you have absolutely made our day - thank you so much. We appreciate the opportunity to pass such lovely feedback along to our Convention Services and Operations Team and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share this review. We look forward to outperforming our services again for you in the near future. Best regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Royal Hawaiian is a beautifully appointed hotel in an excellent location, however we were very disappointed with the service & food this 5 star hotel had to offer. At the time of our stay there was a large conference at the hotel & it was very clear the attendees of this conference were the hotels main priority. We were left waiting for someone to serve us on a number of occasions. In addition, my mum who was staying with us had a faulty hair dryer in her room. She asked for a replacement on 2 occasions & was told it would happen however a replacement never came & she gave up requesting for one. The food is also not on par with other 5 star hotels. I don't mind paying higher prices if the food is of high quality but that was not the case here. There is also no buffet breakfast which should be standard for a resort, luckily the Sheraton next door offered a great breakfast selection which we enjoyed.
Overall we were disappointed after we were really looking forward to staying here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - we are pleased that you found our resort to be so beautiful and central, but are sorry to hear that you were left disappointed by our dining and service. It is certainly not our intention to attend to convention guests before anyone else, all guests are equally important to us and we are so sad to hear that you were left with that impression. We take this feedback very seriously and have addressed this with management to ensure this impression is not given again in the future.
We have also followed up with housekeeping management regarding the faulty hair dryer and would like to apologize profusely that this was not replaced immediately.
We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our Starwood Stay at One Dine at All privileges and found the breakfast buffet at the Sheraton next door to offer a great selection. As a Luxury Collection Resort, we offer Ala Carte only due to overwhelming guest preference for this type of dining, but we hope you can join us one day for one of our specialty brunch buffets over holiday periods and enjoy the excellent dining that our chefs are known for.
Thank you again very much for sharing your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. Mahalo and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I attended an event at The Royal and as a member of their program, I was appalled at how they treated the guests at this event. The service was horrible and the management of the Royal were sure to show us how not to have a good time. Royal Members at Events and Services on the resort grounds should be wary about overcharges on their room accounts.
We are from Reno, have been to may hotels in our day but have never been treated as poorly as the Royal did.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan Scott Davi... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. Your experience is very important to us and we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our typical Royal service level during your stay. While we continually receive positive feedback from event attendees, we do not wish for even one guest to feel that they were less than royalty at our resort and we would certainly appreciate any further details you can provide. One of our Guest Service Managers would be happy to discuss your experiences with you and we would be grateful for the feedback. Yours sincerely, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,479 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,837 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,242 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,029 - ₹ 48,253
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927, the iconic Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, ushered in a new era of luxurious resort travel to Hawaii. Situated in the heart of Waikiki, the hotel offers cultural activities, gold standard signature concierge service, valet parking, doctors-on-call, florist, currency exchange service, Japanese concierge, laundry and dry cleaning, dining service and world-class restaurants and bars, wireless internet access in rooms and all public areas, multi-lingual staff, 24-hour room service, business center, and beach and pool services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing