We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,091)
Filter reviews
4,091 results
Traveller rating
2,345
972
439
193
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,345
972
439
193
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachbeach boysgarden vieworiginal buildingbeach chairsiconic hotelbeach stafftower rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,660 - 2,665 of 4,091 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

A wonderful and majestic hotel..it really does live up to its name. You feel like absolute royalty staying at The Royal Hawaiian. From little things like a scrumptious freshly baked loaf of banana bread (along with the recipe) greeting you upon check-in, luxurious bath room amenities and toiletries to the freshly chilled water bottles delivered each morning and personalised thank you notes written by the hotel general manager thanking us for our stay and happy travelling wishes.

The hotel decor is magnificent, truly magical and enchanting..it is a wonderful hotel and the best choice we made to stay for our honeymoon. The staff are an absolute delight to deal with and happy to help in any way they can.

On the evenings we also had drinks at the hotel Mai Tai Bar, a relaxing and inviting environment to just enjoy drinks by the water. It’s quite lively with a band playing each night, but not crazily busy and noisy like other bars along the water. If you’re looking to have a nice romantic night out with a bit of fun, the Mai Tai bar is the place to be.

Overall, you couldn’t go wrong staying at this hotel. Price-wise it is a bit dear but worth every penny for a completely stress free and relaxing honeymoon (and holiday)!

Mahalo for our wonderful stay! x

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thuykoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Congratulations on your recent marriage! We just love your wonderful descriptions and fantastic photographs - thank you so much for taking the time to share this review of your honeymoon stay with us in Pink Paradise.
It is so lovely to hear that you found our resort to be so majestic, and the little amenities we provide to be so special. We are delighted that you feel our resort lives up to it's grand name and that you felt like royalty staying with us.
We hope to celebrate your first Anniversary with you too. Until then, aloha and mahalo from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.



Overall, you couldn’t go wrong staying at this hotel. Price-wise it is a bit dear but worth every penny for a completely stress free and relaxing honeymoon (and holiday)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I would like to personally thank the staff and management of the Royal - the members of the team went out of their way to help make our event a memborable service. The Royal dedicated members at the event outperformed their services.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Mahalo nui loa for your very kind words. We're blushing an even darker shade of pink and you have absolutely made our day - thank you so much. We appreciate the opportunity to pass such lovely feedback along to our Convention Services and Operations Team and we cannot thank you enough for taking the time to share this review. We look forward to outperforming our services again for you in the near future. Best regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The Royal Hawaiian is a beautifully appointed hotel in an excellent location, however we were very disappointed with the service & food this 5 star hotel had to offer. At the time of our stay there was a large conference at the hotel & it was very clear the attendees of this conference were the hotels main priority. We were left waiting for someone to serve us on a number of occasions. In addition, my mum who was staying with us had a faulty hair dryer in her room. She asked for a replacement on 2 occasions & was told it would happen however a replacement never came & she gave up requesting for one. The food is also not on par with other 5 star hotels. I don't mind paying higher prices if the food is of high quality but that was not the case here. There is also no buffet breakfast which should be standard for a resort, luckily the Sheraton next door offered a great breakfast selection which we enjoyed.
Overall we were disappointed after we were really looking forward to staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us - we are pleased that you found our resort to be so beautiful and central, but are sorry to hear that you were left disappointed by our dining and service. It is certainly not our intention to attend to convention guests before anyone else, all guests are equally important to us and we are so sad to hear that you were left with that impression. We take this feedback very seriously and have addressed this with management to ensure this impression is not given again in the future.
We have also followed up with housekeeping management regarding the faulty hair dryer and would like to apologize profusely that this was not replaced immediately.
We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our Starwood Stay at One Dine at All privileges and found the breakfast buffet at the Sheraton next door to offer a great selection. As a Luxury Collection Resort, we offer Ala Carte only due to overwhelming guest preference for this type of dining, but we hope you can join us one day for one of our specialty brunch buffets over holiday periods and enjoy the excellent dining that our chefs are known for.
Thank you again very much for sharing your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. Mahalo and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I attended an event at The Royal and as a member of their program, I was appalled at how they treated the guests at this event. The service was horrible and the management of the Royal were sure to show us how not to have a good time. Royal Members at Events and Services on the resort grounds should be wary about overcharges on their room accounts.
We are from Reno, have been to may hotels in our day but have never been treated as poorly as the Royal did.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan Scott Davi... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. Your experience is very important to us and we are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our typical Royal service level during your stay. While we continually receive positive feedback from event attendees, we do not wish for even one guest to feel that they were less than royalty at our resort and we would certainly appreciate any further details you can provide. One of our Guest Service Managers would be happy to discuss your experiences with you and we would be grateful for the feedback. Yours sincerely, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Welll, I have made a lot of research (as usual) before I booked the Royal Hawaiian, it's a luxury collection resort and it was a prestigious collection service. the hotel has a small private beach and its not as good as in Maui but the service was more than perfect.

It was the first time I had to take a sunbed to get tend and the hotel employee put me a towel on the sunbed. The hotel looks too PINK but its not that bed or even cool that the bath rubs are also pink and it was a great vacation in Honolulu.

Last thing is the location the the hotel is perfectly located in the middle of the middle of HNL but there is nothing much to be in Honolulu, its a kind of mix between Miami and Tokyo. if you have to be in Honolulu - the Royal Hawaiian is a great location.

Room Tip: I was thinking a lot about to book this hotel or another - it was a perfect choise!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NirS682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Mahalo for choosing The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort for your trip to Honolulu - we are so pleased to hear that you feel you made the perfect choice staying with us.
We thank you for your kind words about our exemplary service, beach facilities and central location. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review and hope you will visit us again in the future. Best regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews