We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the heart of Newport”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Extremely clean, updated and roomy accomodations. Located in a great area of Newport and easy to get to - loved the valet parking.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for your lovely comments. We take great pride in the Hotel Viking and it is heartwarming to know our guests appreciate all that we do have to offer.
Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,853 - 1,857 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

...with Newport, that is!

Sure we were in town to celebrate joint birthdays, and we truly enjoyed our wonderful Mansion Suite and everything else about our completely relaxing stay at the Hotel Viking (thank you so very much to Mark and his attentive staff!), but Newport is the star!

An advantageous location at the head of storied Bellevue Avenue makes the Viking a great value and an excellent place from which to base an explore of this great destination. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: Our rooms were in the "colonial " wing closest to Bellevue, so while we didn't see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Traveling_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

What a wonderful way to celebrate joint birthdays in the month of April and renew your vision of what the Hotel Viking can offer. We couldn’t be more pleased that we were able to help you both have a very special occasion. And, we could not agree more as to where we are in the scheme of things in Newport having accessible means of getting around this lovely antiquated charming city. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Recently stayed at the "Hotel Viking" for the second time and loved it even more then the first...Great Room, Great Service, Great Accommodations....Newport is lovely this time of year...When I stay at the "Hotel Viking" I get the best sleep ever...Beds are unbelievable......

Room Tip: If you have never been to Newport..Please, Go and Stay at the Hotel Viking where you will be treated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

What a pleasure it is to know that your second visit was even better than the first stay. hank you for letting us know and we are appreciative of your comments. Now the challenge will be to have every visit upstage the previous one!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

What a lovely hotel! The Viking is a historic hotel so yes, it's old, but really charming in my opinion. The room we stayed in was not huge, but very comfortable nonetheless. The bathroom is a bit quirky, but because it's an older hotel, they really did make good use of room space. They could improve on the lighting, though. Just a tad too subdued. We enjoyed the restaurant/bar area. The service wasn't great, but the food/drinks were. The hotel has a lot to offer. The location is great- within walking distance to the downtown/waterfront area. We utilized the hotel's car service to a restaurant one evening...very convenient. My kids used the gym and said it was more than adequate. All in all, we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
PS- our hallway did have an odor, but having stayed in older inns before, we chalked it off to age.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We loved your description of the Hotel Viking. You made it come to life with your comments. It is one of the historic hotels here in Newport and is has the quirky qualities of a boutique type of hotel. Your comments also help us to evaluate our strengths and weaknesses and we do address each and every one to improve and correct whatever needs to be done. Thank you and we appreciate your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Anniversary long weekend getaway. Central locations to take in Newport attractions. Small room was beautifully furnished, bathroom needed updating. We had a view of the hotel air conditioning units and parking lot. Air conditioner in the room was very noisy. Bed was comfortable and the room was spotless! Because we arrived along with a convention, the public areas were crowded and the lounge/restaurant was noisy and unappealing. Staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with "happy anniversary" at check in and two cupcakes were delivered to our room. Be warned, parking costs $30 per night whether valet or self-park. I will definitely return, but would never want to be a twosome with such a huge group.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We appreciate your comments about your anniversary weekend. There were many positives about your visit, however, it appears the noise levels were troublesome for you especially in the lounge and restaurant area. Please plan your next getaway when you are able to enjoy each other as well as all the Hotel Viking does have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
711 reviews
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
616 reviews
0.3 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.2 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 8,203 - ₹ 27,128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing