We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, luxurious hotel in a gorgeous idyll by the sea”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Viking with my husband over a holiday weekend, for 2 nights. We had such a wonderful getaway from Boston. It was everything we wanted - a luxurious, beautifully decorated hotel to relax in, great food very friendly and prompt service all while we enjoyed Newport in the sunshine. Great location too - near the historic and not to be missed Bellevue Mansions and Cliff Walk. Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. If I had one small complaint it would be some footfall noise from the room above ours. Didn't bother us too much but was surprised at how sound really traveled from people walking upstairs. Had a great weekend here and would go back. Next time I might request a room on the top floor, if possible.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

: We absolutely love and appreciate your review. It is over and above what we always hope to achieve for our guests and that fact that you and your husband found it to be idyllic is even better. Thank you and we hope you take another getaway weekend vacation soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,036)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Viking
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,775 - 1,779 of 2,036 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a quick weekend away in Newport. All the hotels in the area were either booked or extremely pricey for the weekend. I saw mixed reviews on this hotel and decided to give it a try. We were not impressed. Upon arrival there wasn't any around to assist us with our bags. We had to pull our luggage up the steps in order to check in. We were also not offered assistance with our bags to our room, which was on the complete opposite side of the hotel (and down some steps). Once getting to the hallway where the rooms were located there was a bad smell. It smelled like a mix of urine and old must. Luckily our room didn't smell as bad, but it certainly did not smell good. The room itself was nice. It had been updated so that was a plus. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean... It was just the smell that wasn't so great.

We did order room service one night from the hotel restaurant and it was delicious! Definitely give that restaurant a try.

Before we checked out, we called ahead to have our car pulled around by the valet. It was waiting in the front of the hotel for us. Upon checkout once again, we were not offered any help with our luggage.

Overall, this was not the hotel experience we were looking for. We will definitely go back to Newport, but we would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank technogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Assrt at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

We are so sorry that your weekend in Newport and at the Hotel Viking was not great! We do apologize that you were not given the first class treatment that we wish to give to all of our guests. In a historic 80+ year old hotel, it is always a huge task to maintain the property at its best level. Unfortunately, there was an issue with plumbing, which has since been fixed, during your stay and the hallway was definitely affected by this odor. Anyway, we are truly sorry you will not return and stay at the Hotel Viking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here with our kids for a few days the week of April 8th. The rate was quite exceptional (off season of course) given that during peak season, this is one of, if not the most, expensive hotel in the Newport area. The hotel room was of nice size (a bit small, but not a complaint), but the decor and the hotel experience were fantastic. Our kids used the pool twice and had a lot of fun as their end of day activity. The hotel is right at the foot of Bellevue Avenue so you can either walk to (if you like to walk) or take the trolley to the mansions. We walked one day and trolley'd the next. It is as convenient as you can possibly get in Newport, which is why we chose it over the other hotels in the area. The only gripe? They wanted something like $28 to park in their lot, which, seemed excessive to me. Fortunately, during off-season you can usually park on the street without having to feed the meters, so we found a spot for our car and left it there. Other alternatives during season are the municipal lots if you are willing to walk a few blocks. Overall, lovely experience in a beautiful hotel. Excellent service all the way around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Your visit in April with your children sounds as if it was a great family stay at the Hotel Viking. We are glad also that you were able to enjoy the sights and sounds of Newport, which is a neat town and fun to explore. Please plan another visit when you can because there is a lot more to do and experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The outside of the hotel is lovely and the staff is very friendly, but the rooms are EXTREMELY small. The room my husband and I shared had enough room for a king size bed, a desk, two chairs and very little else. Also, there is literally no sound proofing. You will hear everything. There were no screens on the windows we had to prop up the window with a book to keep it open. The bathroom was so tiny that in order for my husband to get out of the shower I had to stop brushing my teeth and leave the bathroom so that there was room for him to open the shower door. If you like space, go somewhere else. If you like an old-fashioned feel this is the hotel for you. For the amount we paid, I would have expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderergirlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

It is always upsetting and disappointing when guests are just not happy with their accommodations, and in your case space was definitely an issue for you. We always do our very best to work with guests that are not comfortable in the room they are assigned. If we had known we would have definitely offered you another room more to your expectations. The Hotel Viking is a small 209 room boutique historic property. Our rooms range from 200 square feet to our large suites. Again we are sorry you did not have accommodations you were hoping for. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here 1 night with my husband in February and had a really nice time. The location is great- just a few minutes to all the "sights" in Newport.

We stayed in the newer wing and it was great- the decor was really nice and everything was very clean. There is a coffee maker in the room but thanks to TA reviews, I knew it was $4/Keurig pod, so we walked down the street to Starbucks instead.

There was a problem when we got to our room that was resolved very quickly and as a do-good, they gave us free breakfast the next morning! Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you for your review of your overnight visit to Newport and the Hotel Viking. We are all pleased to read reviews that are favorable and are glad all worked out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
671 reviews
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.3 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 9,087 - ₹ 38,814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing