We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place with good service”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cute place with good service”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here 1 night with my husband in February and had a really nice time. The location is great- just a few minutes to all the "sights" in Newport.

We stayed in the newer wing and it was great- the decor was really nice and everything was very clean. There is a coffee maker in the room but thanks to TA reviews, I knew it was $4/Keurig pod, so we walked down the street to Starbucks instead.

There was a problem when we got to our room that was resolved very quickly and as a do-good, they gave us free breakfast the next morning! Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your review of your overnight visit to Newport and the Hotel Viking. We are all pleased to read reviews that are favorable and are glad all worked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    581
    235
    118
    46
See reviews for
416
968
47
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windham, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

service was great. fitness room wasn't that great, there for a wedding

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonaldinhooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Guest service is the key to having a successful hospitality enterprise so we stress the utmost importance of this to each and every associate. Since your visit in November we have made some capital improvements in the fitness room area. We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Hotel Viking was fabulous....clean and very well maintained! The service was excellent and the accommodations were so incredibly comfortable. The location was central to everything that Newport has to offer and the staff was welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newport217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
The Hotel Viking is a great place to stay in Newport and we agree wholeheartedly with your comments. Being a unique historic boutique hotel, we are very proud of our heritage here in Newport and all of us work very diligently at providing excellent service from welcoming our guests to a wonderful visit until their departure. Thank you for your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Excellent location, service and accomodations. A great place to stay for a long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BranfordDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
To be answered: 4-16-12 “Hotel Viking, Newport RI”
Reviewed April 13, 2012NEW Excellent location, service and accomodations. A great place to stay for a long weekend. Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends

Answer: There is nothing more refreshing than a long weekend away from the daily schedules we all have to deal with. So the fact that we were able to provide you with all the right ingredients for a fun-filled weekend with friends, pleases us immensely. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell junction,ny
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Being seasoned travelers and used to staying at finer hotels we were quite pleased staying at Hotel Viking which is more than just conveniently located on Bellevue Ave. Not being our first choice via Trip Advisor ratings BUT being one of the top five we hoped for the best. Here is where all the historic mansions are situated yet far enough removed from the distractions of the accompanying crowds/noises and minutes walking to the waterfront district. Yes you may find a certain antiquarian feel to the lobby but more so elegance than being "run down". Think old friend welcoming instead of harsh modernism/eclectic. The entire staff from their welcoming curbside manner through the entire check in/check out process was top notch and extremely courteous. We stayed in a King Estate room on the second floor and loved the cleanliness and tidy use of the limited space. All amenities were stocked & present for our use. Large shower area with rainfall fixture made for plenty of room for a romantic shower for two. "Extremely" high marks for the comfort of the bed/bedding. Our room was facing a fairly busy street on Easter weekend and we are light sleepers to start but traffic quieted down early enough both weekend nighst for us to sleep well. THEN (there's always something isn't there?) we were awakened on our checkout day at 7am Monday morning by the hired maintenance crew power washing and leaf blowing the arrival/departure area in front of the hotel directly outside our room. I understand the need for this BUT AT 7AM?? Maybe ask them to start a couple hours later? No other issues but interrupting guests' sleep at this early hour is inexcusable. Regarding parking you will pay for it but the valets are always attendant and your vehicle will be secure on site instead of street side. Finally if you have children they will be happily find a very inviting indoor pool to play in and enjoy while Mom & Dad can soak comfortably in the adjoining hot tub. We had breakfast here upon check out and thoroughly enjoyed it and more so our servers. Well mannered and independently went out of their way to search for AND find a menu item that we were first told was sold out. These are all the little things that add up to our enjoyment staying here and negate the one short lived inconvenience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street side check in will be quietest if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsthateasy5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
It is extremely helpful to travelers when they read reviews about places to stay. The fact that you checked on Trip Advisor prior to booking your trip to insure that you and your family could enjoy a weekend visit to Newport and possibly stay at the Hotel Viking. We also are glad that you did choose us and appreciative we were able to meet and in most cases exceed your expectations. We do apologize for the maintenance issue that occurred on your checkout day. Overall though your stay seemed to be a pleasant and memorable one. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
0.3 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,174 - ₹ 44,778
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing