We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of Victorian Charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilgrim House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pilgrim House Inn
Ranked #26 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lots of Victorian Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our overnight in Newport. This place was lovely and had a lot of the old Victorian charm you would expect in a historic home of this era. The innkeeper is lovely and her staff are helpful and efficient. The 3rd floor room was clean and loved that we didn't have to share a bath. While it was small there is a first floor sitting room and a third floor breakfast area. the little extras like water bottles and candies were nice and the towels were so soft. The parking was a couple of blocks away on a quaint street but appreciated that it is included. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawnbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    38
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
19
46
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

We enjoyed our one night here. It is an old building, like most of the buildings in Newport, but very charming. The innkeeper was very friendly and he helped us out with restaurant choices and made a great breakfast! The place was very clean. The bathroom was small but the room was roomy enough and the air conditioner was pumped cool air (it was in the 90s when we were there!) The price is right, about $160, it has free parking, and it's right in the heart of Newport. There are journals in the room which date back to 2000 (sort of like a pen and paper Trip Advisor) and all of the reviews are great. The rooftop is a great place to watch a sunset. I'm glad we stayed at the Pilgrim House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLTraveler619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
142 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

Our third-floor room was cozy, clean, and quiet, with comfortable beds. I slept like a log! Bottled water and hard candies on the dresser top gave a nice feeling of welcome. Bathroom small, with a stall shower, but adequate, with hair dryer and soft towels. Location very convenient. No on-site parking, but free parking a block away. Innkeeper Barry was friendly and helpful. Excellent continental breakfast with several options. View from the roof deck was terrific. We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saltyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Other than the location, there's NO reason to stay at this hotel. First and foremost, the Inn Keepers shouldn't be in the B&B business. They honestly feel as if they're bothered that you're there. Room are INCREDIBLY small. We stayed for two nights and on day two the small 'hotel' soap and shampoo weren't even replenished. The hotel is very 'tired' and in need of many upgrades. Showers are very small. Just not a good stay at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3129traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We had a great weekend in Newport in a great location, with great friends. However, the sole reason for us never returning to the Pilgrim House is the Inn Keeper's wife. Her husband should keep her behind closed doors. She is the most miserable woman in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathersojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#12 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.4 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#17 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 km away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
0.2 km away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim House Inn

Property: Pilgrim House Inn
Address: 123 Spring St, Newport, RI 02840-6805
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,934 - ₹ 21,016
Hotel Class:3 star — Pilgrim House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing