We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The B n B place to stay in Newport”
Review of Black Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Duck Inn
Ranked #21 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The B n B place to stay in Newport”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Our room was up to date, wiFi included and well atired and very clean. The breakfast was exceptional with great choices and very friendly staff. Just a short walk to the waterfront and all the stores and clubs such as the Speak Easy where we had a great 'Meet and Greet' party for all our wedding guests. Their service and rates were worth every penny (dollar) and we'd be glad to return again.
Other than the $12.00 parking fee, the Moorings was also a very enjoyable place for dinner. No recession here !!!! Excellent food and the best clam chowder available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
100
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The room wasn't too big but big enough. The bathroom was nice and modern. The lounge is very nice with city scheme furniture. My husband loved the cookies they put out. I have celiac disease and they were able to make me delicious gluten free pancakes with fresh blueberries. It was fun but not noisy (lots of young couples stayed there). Ideal location!!!! convenient parking in the back.
Let them know ahead of time if you need gluten free breakfast... or any other allergies.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PPmgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Our girls' weekends are very important to us. For years we have stayed in Newport in different places, own a timeshare, and have made many friends there. Once we stayed at the Black Duck Inn, we knew we'd never stay anywhere else. The rooms and bathrooms are spotless. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfasts are delicious.
I recommend highly the Inn (and the sister properties). Once you stay, you will become a return guest. VERY FRIENDLY STAFF!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermont45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2010

This is hands-down the best B&B in NPT. Lovely, clean, comfortable rooms; park and walk to everywhere in downtown newport; affordable yet first-rate. Best part of the whole place is the inn-keeper Jeannie, who goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is the best ever. This is my 3d time there and I'm planning on staying there when I return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krkaczmarski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

I chose this B&B based on the modern photos on the web site. I knew the inn had been recently renovated, so I expected it to be very clean and updated. We stayed in the Chardonnay room. I had read that the rooms were very "cozy" so I was not surprised at the very small size. What did surprise me...the disgusting old pink carpet and the badly outdated bathroom. The tile in the bathroom was very old, stained, and cracked. The sink was faux marble and stained by old cigarettes. The shower was a plastic stall with shower curtain. There are some positives about staying here which include the fantastic location and the breakfast. The breakfast consisted of great blueberry muffins, yogurt, cereals, bagels, orange juice, and fruit. We were also offered hotcakes and sausage made to order which were very good. I think the inn would be more appropriately priced at $110 a night. We also had a very peaceful night with the window open for fresh air. Beware if visiting in the summer since the inn does not have A/C. Queen size bed was nice, but pillows hard as rocks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golden0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 km away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Property: Black Duck Inn
Address: 29 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,394 - ₹ 22,541
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing