We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“closest to a european hotel I stayed in U.S.A. It was 4 stars”
Review of Inn on Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn on Bellevue
Ranked #14 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“closest to a european hotel I stayed in U.S.A. It was 4 stars”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My huspand stayed at the bellevue manor next door,This hotel runs 4 properties on one block,My husband stay in large two bedroom suit with his friends and i stayed with my sister and my one year old at inn on bellevue,Paul the manager set us up very conforble we stayed 3 nights and wish we where able to stay more,The mansions where great felt as if we where in europe traveling,The hotel was just 3 blocks to center,Paul refered great seafood restrants,Wish it was warmer to go to beach but we walked cliff walf instead,newport is one of the most picturest place we visited in america,We will be back to newport this summer for some sailing and for sure will stay at these hotel,breakfast was wonder full with capuchino,we did not even have lunch in the day,We whould relaxe after jacuzzi and spent evening down town near on water front,We walked everwhere and hotel and newport was very child friendly,Thank you again paul and staff for specail treatment,We will see you in July.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taziano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    143
    72
    32
    49
See reviews for
83
270
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I've stayed at the Inn on Bellevue about ten times and have always had a great time.The rooms are elegantly antique and perfectly charming. The bathrooms are new. Plus it's conveniently located right on the edge of the too-noisy downtown so it's an enjoyable three-minute stroll to the summer hot spots like Bowen's Wharf. The staff is friendly. The breakfast, which is included, is delicious and ample. WiFi'd too. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at the Inn on Bellevue in July of 2011 with my husband and had a great stay! Great staff, great location. Returned in the off season (March) and was just as impressed. The staff knows us by name. I LOVE THAT! The location is ideal and there was no need to take the car for most of the things that we wanted to do. The staff at the front desk mentioned they would be adding flat screen TVs to all of the rooms in the spring - I look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Chester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at the Inn on Bellevue for two nights with my girlfriend in mid-March. Newport clearly is a seasonal town. That said, one would assume a small business like this specific Inn would put forward more of an effort to attract and satisfy guests. Boy, was I wrong.

The lobby/breakfast nook is freezing cold and uninviting. The floors are scratched up, filthy and have exposed nails. The paint is chipped and the furniture is untrustworthy. Our room was just ugly. Small bathroom, no sink. There is nothing historic about this place. It's run down rooms filled with cheap and broken fixtures and dirty, ragged linens.

The service was decent. The front desk girl was friendly and even called restaurants for us to see if they were open and made reservations. However, even 5 star service could not bring me back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank matthew_d1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Went here Over the summer last year for a weekend when The hurricane hit end of August. Newport is amazing but this place sucked. Everything was booked elsewhere or was crazy expensive so we resorted here, I read good things about it. First off our Internet kept going out every hour. When we first called the guy at the front desk said he would come up and fix it. Half hour later we' re still waiting for him, so we call the front desk and he said he fixed it? Yet it kept going out and we wasted half hour waiting for him to come to our door. Our AC was moldy, half the outlets didn't work. The room was nice otherwise . Saturday nite we asked to check out early due to the hurricane coming and everyone saying we will be stuck due to Newport being across two bridges of water in RI. The front desk was so rude, stated we wold not get any money back, he faked calling his manager! Said his wife picked up and that he was out l well my boyfriend has good ears and heard it was a male on the other line, grabbed the phone and pressed redial and sure enough the manager of the place picked up. We got into a major fight, ran out with the key and drove away woohoo!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angelica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 km away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.9 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Bellevue

Property: Inn on Bellevue
Address: 30 Bellevue Ave, Newport, RI 02840-3206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,914 - ₹ 20,929
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on Bellevue 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Bellevue Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing