We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed here for his birthday weekend. The room was nicely decorated & very clean had a tv & dvr. We also loved the fireplace. The bathroom was updated & had comfy robes. They had a large selection of DVDs to borrow which was a nice touch. The bed was a bit hard & we both woke up with aching backs, but I understand comfort from beds is very personal. The breakfast was fabulous. A hot choice each day & also a buffet with muffins, breads, fresh fruit, oatmeal & cold cereal. The afternoon tea was also wonderful with baked goods ( the brownies were amazing) & cold hors d'oeuuvres. The sitting rooms were very cozy with lots of books & games & fireplaces. The service was great & everyone was very nice & helpful. The only weird thing is that we were asking about a homemade ice cream place & there is an awesome one down the street called KILWIN'S ( you must try it) & they wouldn't tell us about it ??? We had a great stay & will be back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pink444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,183)
There are newer reviews for Francis Malbone House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 932 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Once again Will and his wonderful staff have made our stay. There are many lodging choices in Newport, but we are frequent repeat guests of Frances Malbone, because of how we are made to feel right at home, each visit! We look forward to our next visit to our home away from home, you are all fantastic, and great company, we thank each and everyone for making our stay once again, exceptional, we truly feel like your family!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We fell in love with the inn and our room. This was a splurge stay for us and it was worth it. Wonderful room, so many thoughtful touches, great bed, beautiful bathroom, luxurious shower, super scented soaps, cozy fireplace, delicious afternoon teas and fabulous breakfasts. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will certainly stay there again when in Newport and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We peeked in lots of open doors and each room we saw was lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Clean, charming, great breakfast and afternoon tea. Great location. Enjoyed fireplace & jacuzzi too. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy29amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

From the Elegant Rooms to the Gourmet Breakfasts to the Afternoon High Tea, to the Wonderful Staff. Our stay at thFrancis Malbone House is unsurpassed for our many stays in Newport. Just Wonderful

Room Tip: All rooms have been considerately sound insured so that there is little in outside ambient noise tha...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mothersbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
2,034 reviews
1.4 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
669 reviews
0.5 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
575 reviews
0.2 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 23,528 - ₹ 28,671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing