We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marshall Slocum Inn
Ranked #6 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I recently went to the Inn while on vacation on my own in Newport, the room was comfortable, the breakfast yummy and the innkeeper was very accomdating telling resturant recomendations checking to see how things were going, make converstion and on the last day when i couldn't mail the artwork i bought home cause the postoffice closed 15 min before the stated time, he offered to mail me it and it arrived a week later ( I think that makes him awesome a definate class A innkeeper). I would definatly recommend this place to stay at.

Room Tip: If you are looking for value choose the snuggery its a great room to stay in. Also take advantage o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cuteangel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

I forgot to write up this great B&B from our stay in early December 2011. The room was charming with a very high (and comfortable) poster bed. The breakfast was great and fortified us well for our flight that morning. If we are lucky enough to return to Newport, would definitely return to Marshall Slocum Guest House.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxieCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

It was easy to chose the Marshall Slocum guest house because I didn't see anything else for the price, private ensuite, queen bed, and including breakfast with outside dining in Newport, when I booked. We stayed in room 2 on the second floor, which had two windows facing either the side or backyard of the house. It was roomy, had a ceiling fan, queen bed, and all the quilts, etc that one would want. There was a closet, armour, 2 stuffed chairs, 2 night tables with lamps, rugs. The bed was firm and excellent! The windowed bathroom had a huge sink, lots of mirrors, modern toilet, and roomy tub/shower with curtain. The water was hot and good pressure. I didn't like the tub not draining fast enough to keep up with the shower water, and a couple of the vanity tiles need replacing, but otherwise it was fine. There were plenty of towels and shampoos, etc., and a hairdryer. Breakfast was cooked and served by Mark, one of the owners. We met his wife during breakfast. The first day my husband and I both had the fruit, scrambled eggs and toast. The second day we had the omelet of the day with fruit and toast. Coffee and tea is available starting at 7:30am. The other guests at breakfast included Swiss, French, and Canadians. The cars are to be parked behind the house in a graveled portion of the fenced back yard. There is a porch swing and chairs in the front. We would definitely stay again. It was convenient to walk downhill to the wharfs, and not that bad even after a full meal to walk up again. Beats $10 parking! Its $1.25/hr at the meters by the harbor. The neighborhoods around are nice and quiet; lots of old colonial period side streets to traverse, where there was little traffic to negotiate.

Room Tip: Rm #2 was the quietest in our mind. One room next to ours had the ensuite bath up a circular stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thekansaspyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had intended to leave Newport during the day but decided at the last moment to stay another night. The previous evening had been a delightful stay at another B&B and we considered trying there for another night, but decided to mix it up. Innkeeper Mark gave us a great rate and helped us settle in. He also provided a map and gave us lots of suggestions for evening dining.

The breakfast menu the next morning had 5-6 selections on it and Mark cooked it up. It was delicious and sitting on the back deck enjoying the morning while eating a breakfast cooked to order was delightful.

They rent bicycles here and if we had stayed another day, we may have given that a try. HINT**** In their room info, they say there is a 5% cash discount as well as another 5% cash discount if you donate 7 or more cans of food to them that will go to the Women's Resource Center.

All in all, the room/Inn was clean. Mark was a polite host and good chef. Location was great. I would definitely stay here again. The value for the money can't be beat.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed for four nights and having stayed in numerous B & Bs around the world, found this to be excellent. Mark is an excellent host and cooks a great breakfast! The location is ideal, a short work into town or for the cliff walk. There is mention of the 'dreaded room 6', well thats where we stayed and it was fine. You would need to be packing bags for elephants to find it small!! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank 0590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,098 reviews
0.2 km away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
1.1 km away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,113 reviews
0.1 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marshall Slocum Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marshall Slocum Inn

Address: 29 Kay St, Newport, RI 02840-2735 (Formerly Marshall Slocum Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 8,637 - ₹ 16,431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marshall Slocum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Top of the Hill district and just minutes away from Newport Harbor, the mansions and beaches, the Marshall Slocum Guest House is a five room bed and breakfast that has been meticulously preserved to its original 1855 charm. Join us for exquisite breakfasts, wonderful lobster dinners and five star service while touring the beautiful city of Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marshall Slocum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall Slocum Guest House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing