We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Vanderbilt Grace
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My boyfriend and I were very pleased with the entire experience. Upon checkin, we were greeted with smiling faces and a complimentary glass of champagne. All of the staff, were very attentive and down to earth; two great qualities to have in customer service. The hotel is beautiful and right in the center of downtown Newport. I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kateland19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    87
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
111
351
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having stayed in dozens of hotels this year (so far) I can honestly say that this is one of the best. And all of the ingredients are there to keep it on top. Who can object to champagne on arrival and at breakfast? Also, the young staff members are over-the-top helpful and engaging. The suites are well appointed and feature great views - ours overlooked the harbor and we could access the rooftop deck directly!

We love the central location in Newport. It is not in the center of the most active area but it is two blocks from it so almost everything in town is walkable (except the mansions or the Cliff Walk).

We recommend the deck for a nice evening drink (although we didn't like drinks served in plastic cups). We had an equally good experience in the MUSE bar where the staff made "special non-alcoholic drinks" for our teens. It is always nice when the staff at upscale hotels treat teenagers like real human beings - they have a lot to say about where the parents spend their money!!!

We enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Our suggestion for improvement would be to add some new "feature" each day so that there is some variety.

Room Tip: As about the lofts. These rooms are nicely set up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFKSAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was so happy to have saved the best for last in our northern east coast vacation that started in another Grace hotel in Kennebunkport.
Champagne on arrival, greeted by genuinely sweet and helpful staff, the hotel was beautiful and well appointed and our suite was just perfect. How cool to stay in an actual home owned by a Vanderbilt family member.....the garden and pool area were divine and the rooftop bar for sunset was just so pretty and relaxing. Having ate our first vacation meal at the White Barn...no other restaurant was going to come close.....lots of places to eat in Newport....no worries. Can't wait to come back. Please don't pay attention to comments about the staff .....they were very pleasant and helpful.....everyone acknowledging you......a lovely oasis

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flightygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This was my first stay at a Grace hotel and I'm hoping will not be my last. I loved this place. Great size, great location, fantastic details. Don't miss the roof-top bar at sunset; great views of Newport harbor (I'm a sucker for roof top bars). The in-house restaurant, Muse, was a nice surprise. And I love being greeted with a glass of champagne upon checkin. Very pleasant experience; would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkNelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Hotel stays always start well, when you are offered a glass of champagne on arrival and when you get to your room your realise you have been upgraded to a better room.

Fantastic split level room with a bedroom upstairs and a well designed bathroom - everything in the right place. A very comfortable bed, chocolate, water and weather information on turn down.

The views from the roof deck are fantastic and we did watch a movie on the roof deck on the Wednesday evening.

Breakfast included a glass of champagne if you wanted and we found the selection in the continental breakfast just what we wanted. There were addition hot items if you wished.

The staff were very helpful in getting dinner reservations one night - we ate in the garden on our first evening - initially we were the only ones in the garden and the music from 'Bridgefest' drifted in the distance it was magical. We did hope to eat at Muse but there was a private function on that evening. A perfect excuse for another visit.

The final thoughtful touch - bottles of water in the car as we left.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mostyn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
1.4 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.2 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Property: The Vanderbilt Grace
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,560 - ₹ 49,804
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing