We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent all around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Vanderbilt Grace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vanderbilt Grace
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Vanderbilt delivered in every way - great service/food/accomodations/location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JElliott_601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    84
    35
    14
    6
See reviews for
111
347
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My husband and I just spent our mutual birthday weekend in Newport and stayed at the Vanderbilt Grace. The service was impeccable and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. We felt like we were arriving "home" after a long day of sightseeing. The hotel was very well located and we were able to walk to town and the many fine restaurants on the wharfs. Our room, however, had a few problems from a guest's perspective. There was no place to sit, other than at a desk, to relax and read a book or watch TV. The storage space was minimal. The room was very clean and attractive but wished that they had made the bathroom just a little bit smaller so there would be more room in the living area, This one negative did not detract from our vacation and have to give kudos to the Vanderbilt Grace for pampering its guests and providing excellent service.

Room Tip: Duluxe room not up to "duluxe" standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMilesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had been meaning to write this updated review for some time, but had a hard time finding a free moment. It was a rocky start to our relationship with the Vanderbilt Grace, but we were given a complimentary nights stay for our difficulty with reservations, and we were impressed by the overall experience.

We were graciously greeted by the manager upon arrival, and the staff was wonderful. The food, oh my! At one point, we just couldn't fit another morsel in our mouths, kudos to the chef and the kitchen staff. The sommelier continuously impressed us with this extensive knowledge, and his impeccable attention to detail. We definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melladrama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel was amazing from the moment we arrived! Breakfast was fantastic and we especially LOVED Danielle!! She was fabulous and made our stay! We would definitely stay again! Location was amazing, too! Love, love, love!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

If you've ever stayed at a Four Seasons hotel, you'll appreciate how similar the service is at the Vanderbilt Grace. Every staff person we encountered, all weekend, met us with a smile and a cheerful greeting. And, whether it was reserving a room, checking in, or helping with directions, they always went out of their way to provide the best possible service. Vanderbilt Grace is conveniently located a short walk to the waterfront, close to restaurants and shopping. The rooms are well appointed, clean, comfortable, and quiet. There's a great bar and a pool. And, they meet you at check-in with a glass of champagne. It's no wonder it's the number one hotel in Newport!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristopherS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
1.4 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.5 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.2 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vanderbilt Grace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vanderbilt Grace

Property: The Vanderbilt Grace
Address: 41 Mary St, Newport, RI 02840-3027 (Formerly Vanderbilt Hall Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#1 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#6 Business Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,087 - ₹ 47,705
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vanderbilt Grace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanderbilt Grace is a quintessential Newport mansion with 33 guest rooms and suites, full service spa with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, fitness center, roof terrace with amazing views of Newport Harbor and two restaurants. Experience our newly renovated, elegant restaurant Muse or enjoy casual a la carte dining at The Conservatory, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Vanderbilt Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanderbilt Grace Hotel Newport
Vanderbilt Hall Newport
Hotel Vanderbilt Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing