We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
66
42
12
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
42
12
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toaster oven indoor pool living room huge kitchen partial kitchen looked brand new quiet end main bathroom off season newport bridge washer and dryer two twin beds coffee pot the dining room table exercise room couple of nights overlooking the water
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Spent a weekend at the Wellington with my boyfriend to celebrate my birthday and loved our stay!! We have a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, private balcony with views of the harbor, and a large living room with a flat screen tv! The staff was so friendly during the check in process, and gave us a great list of suggestions for places to go/things to see/popular restaurants. The resort is a short distance away from the main part of Thames street, but it was a really nice walk and we had amazing weather! Only downside was the bedroom facing the street and some noise from cars, which made it a little hard to sleep. Other than that it was such a wonderful place to stay! Will definitely be staying at the Wellington next time we visit Newport!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cassie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

This place has it all in places that count.
What do you want in real estate? Location. The Wellington is located on the water and it appears ALL rooms have a water view. Our room had a magnificent view out the bedroom window and, more importantly, from the living room and living room deck (1 of 2 decks).
What do you want for the Staff? Friendly, knowledgeable, efficient. We met Mattie and Allie at check-in. It was almost like meeting old friends we hadn't seen in a while. They welcomed us, they remembered us from phone calls, they gave us what wee needed to get checked in fast and they asked what else we wanted to know before we went to our room. Best of all, when we asked a question, they knew the answer, not just about the resort, but about their town, too
What do you want in a room? Clean, well equipped and functional. Our room had all of that, we needed nothing after check-in, we were good to go!
Bottom line, this resort had excellent off-season prices and they exceeded our needs. I will definitely look to the Wellington when next we visit Rhode Island.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank me_and_Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

Very nice resort, great location, house staff very friendly and accomodating. Surrounded by plenty of places to eat and drink and right on the water. Room (basically a one bedroom condo complete with washer and dryer) was an unexpected bonus. Grounds buildings and room all in excellent condition and well maintained. Will definitely try to return in future for longer stay!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We had a third floor 900 or so sq. feet condo style apartment. Decent kitchen area (bizarrely, no cooker, only microwave and toaster), dining area/sitting room with fireplace, bathroom and double bedroom. Small terrace with great sea views. Very good location just at the quiet end of Thames, 1 km from Bowen Wharf. Great and convenient local bars (cafe Zelda), diners (Garys Diner) and restaurants (The Revolving Door in particular). Very good value by comparison with other offerings. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NjTravel_hound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We got home a week ago. Our suite was on the third floor about sixty feet above the water and it took my breath away. The sunsets had 4 or 5 colors bouncing off the harbor (loaded with white sailboats). The staff was extra friendly (most resorts are) and were quick to offer free DVD's and Popcorn on the one day where RAIN crossed our path A shout out to the Housekeeping Staff were A NUMBER ONE...

Our younger son had an upset stomach and gave up his lunch in our suite's living room...The head of Housekeeping brought allong some coworkers and handled the clean-up in record time

3 TV's 2 DVD players and a fireplace...Great staff...Great suite and a half mile from everything...Don't stay anywhere else

Room Tip: Ask for Matty at Front Desk
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marriedtomyjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews