We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Well-Run Inn in Newport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belle View Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Belle View Inn
Ranked #37 of 102 Newport B&B and Inns
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Well-Run Inn in Newport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here for a last minute weekend trip and were able to obtain a good, off-season rate.

The staff were all nice, helpful, and professional and our room was well maintained and comfortably furnished. We had a sitting area, large bed, cable tv, and en-suite bath which was a nice set-up for two people.

The location is just off the beaten path which makes for a quiet stay. It's a short walk to the Tennis Hall of Fame and quite a few restaurants and if you have to drive, free parking is available here which is a huge plus in Newport.

Breakfast was freshly made and well presented with thoughtful touches such as table place holders with our names correctly spelled. It reminded me of an English-style inn and breakfast experience which I find charming.

I would recommend this property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qmis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    21
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
103
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

This is a very pleasant b&b and very good value. In nearly eight weeks travel around the us, Belle View Inn has probably had the best service of any place we have stayed at. We stayed one night and left early the next morning. The host went out of her way to ensure we had something decent for breakfast.

The location was ok, close to Bellevue Ave and a reasonable walk to the waterfront. It is near some industrial action and a supermarket loading area, but this wasnt an issue for me. The bed was comfortable, and the room spacious with a separate sitting room. My one complaint would be the lack of good heavy curtains or blinds to block out the irritating light that shone across the street all night. This could easily be rectified and would make a big difference. Otherwise, I would have no hesitation recommending the Belle View.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford Ct.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Belle View Inn is clean, nicely located relative to waterfront, cliff walk and mansions but not sure it rates as one of the best in America, or Rhode Island.
The location is on a mixed residential commercial street with a loading dock for the chain grocery directly across the street and a seven eleven and gas station at the end of the street. There is no common parlor or sitting room, only a breakfast area with straight back chairs that do no encourage lounging.
For breakfast we were asked to order a single pastry from a listing of choices. In the morning the pastry was presented on a plate with a plastic wrap around it.
We have stayed in incredible places and dreadful places and this struck us as average, that is not a bad rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deep_harbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our kids treated us to a two-night stay at this absolutely charming B & B for our wedding anniversary. ("The Triple Mansion Package:") The accomodations were wonderful - spacious, comfortable, with a private deck. Lorna was a most gracious hostess: friendly, charming, informative, and helpful. She treats you like you've been a friend for years. The location of the Inn is fantastic. You can walk to nearly everything: the waterfront and all its restaurants and attractions; the famed Cliff Walk; the mansions along Bellevue Avenue, etc.
Lorna really knows Newport and she'll give you the best advice available and will cheerfully make reservations for you. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed here at the Belle View for 2 days this week. We stayed at the Parkview Suite which is above the carriage house. It was absolutely beautiful and spacious, it was like having a huge studio apartment. Lorna the host was welcoming and helpful. She made sure to answer any questions about Newport and was great making suggestions of things to do, and restaurants to eat at. We used all of her recommendations and were pleased with them all. The B&B had everything you needed, water, chairs & umbrellas for the beach. The B&B is also within walking distance to everything including Cliff walk, downtown Newport, and some of the beaches. Lorna even takes your breakfast order and has everything you need for a nice little breakfast before starting your day. I can't say enough about this great B& B. This was my first experience at a B&B and I can say I was nervous at first, but once I arrived all my worries went away and I had a great trip. Thanks to Lorna for hosting us and helping to make our getaway memorable.

Room Tip: Loved the ParkView Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teemarie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 km away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#29 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.7 km away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 km away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#20 of 102 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#30 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.9 km away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#28 of 102 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.6 km away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#2 of 102 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle View Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle View Inn

Property: Belle View Inn
Address: 22 Freebody St, Newport, RI 02840-3548
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,085 - ₹ 22,267
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the spectacular Cliff Walk at Newport Beach and downtown Newport is Belle View Inn. Our Grand Victorian features views of the legendary Tennis Hall of Fame. We get rave reviews from our guests since are rooms are spacious and well appointed and they love our our central location in the heart of Newport. We are an easy walk to downtown, the harbor, the beach, the mansions, Cliff Walk, the Tennis Hall of Fame and Salve Regina University. Private and secure with free off-street parking, private baths, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, relaxing decks and porches, fresh-baked afternoon cookies and free Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing