We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be So Much Better”

Admiral Farragut Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral Farragut Inn
Ranked #75 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2015

I love the feel of Newport's history. I have been in Newport many times. Was there on business and really only sleeping in the room so I decided to stay in a B&B to get the colonial feel. Researched a lot of inn's and B&B's. This group of B&B's came up on Clarke Street and saw that the location was key since parking in Newport is impossible during the season and they do have off street parking, although very tight!
Check in was fine and Clarke Street is very charming. I stayed in room 6 at the top of the stairs. The building was built in the early 1700's, so wasn't expecting much, my thoughts were verified upon entering the room. The room was basically clean except for the carpeting. I could not take my shoes off for the carpet was filthy. The whole time I was there, I did not see the housekeepers use a vacuum once! That situation was confirmed when I notices 2 "dry cleaning" metal hangers under a table in the room. Did they vacuum around them? I think not. I was in and out of the room several times through out the day and never saw nor heard a vacuum. The room itself was spacious. I'm sure there are smaller ones. I had a queen bed which was fine. The a/c worked great. It was hot and muggy outside. The bathroom was clean and well stocked with towels. At some point during the day they did come in and replace the towels and made the bed which was quite comfortable. If you are a breakfast eater, this is a wonderful perk. Pancakes, French toast, eggs and omelets, fruit, cereals, etc. Coffee and the OJ. I am not a breakfast eater but decided to go down anyway and it was wonderful. You order from a menu sitting on the table and the breakfast staff were all very nice and accommodating. I stayed during the week so the price was very reasonable, $169/night. I did look up for the weekend and was over $340/night. At that price I would think it was too much for what you get, but it is Newport and rooms during the season are at a premium. My only pet peeve is the vacuuming. The carpet was stained and dirty. Cant have that! Would I stay there again? Perhaps.....

Room Tip: If you can walk up stairs, get a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTravelerToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANewporter, Owner at Admiral Farragut Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for the state of the carpeting in your room. We have replaced the carpeting in the hallways. That room is the only room in the building with carpeting and we have plans to replace it in the near future. However, in the meantime, it should and will be cleaned and vaccumed (including under the bed).

I am glad that you were able to enjoy the convenient location and great breakfasts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2015

We absolutely loved this BnB. Highlight of our vacation. Big rooms,lovely bed,awesome jacuzzi tub and very centrally located! We would definitely stay here again on our next trip. Breakfast was yummy

Stayed: July 2015
1  Thank Ellenandmike8524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015

My wife and I spent two nights in the at the Admiral Farragut Inn and had a wonderful time. The Inn complex is located in a perfect spot for walking to all the neat places in the heart of Newport. We did not have to move our car once we arrived and were able to walk everywhere. The people working at the inn, including the owner were very courteous and accommodating of our needs and many questions. Our room on the second floor was pleasant and quite. The inn is comprised of several early buildings and has the old colonial charm that fits into Newport. They had coffee available early, for those of us that got up with the sun.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocketman1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015

My wife and I spent two nights in the Cleveland House of the Admiral Farragut Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay as the staff was very courteous attending to our needs and answering any questions we had about getting around Newport. We had a nice room on the second floor with a comfortable king-size bed and spacious bathroom. Although the free parking was crowded at times, accomodations were made to park our car near the inn. The free breakfast was welcome as we did not have to venture out to dine. With so much to see and do in Newport, we plan to stay at the Farragut Inn on our return trip.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DJCeltics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2015

Upon arriving to the hotel we were given the choice of two rooms. We chose the one with the larger bathroom. The owner was very nice and accommodating. There is a door that is scraped and not painted but it looks like it belongs with the building. The building is old and if it was my hotel I would keep it without the paint. The room was clean and overall I slept well. The breakfast downstairs was superb. We were treated very well by the staff. I would say that overall it was a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask the owner what rooms he would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 571joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.5 km away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#67 of 96 in Newport
61 reviews
0 km away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#46 of 96 in Newport
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Cleveland House
Cleveland House
#42 of 96 in Newport
155 reviews
0 km away
Chart House Inn
Chart House Inn
#35 of 96 in Newport
48 reviews
0 km away
Melville House
Melville House
#66 of 96 in Newport
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Farragut Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Farragut Inn

Address: 31 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3023
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 13,009 - ₹ 23,648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admiral Farragut Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Admiral Farragut Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Farragut Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing