We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wayside Guest House
Ranked #34 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Perfect staying!!! Friendly atmosphere. Great breakfast with freshly baked muffins and very goo d coffee. Spacious rooms with high ceilings, huge windows, good beds with comfy mattresses.. Location is the best!!! We walked to everywhere. The museums are next door. Cliff Walk and restaurants are in 5 minutes walk. We loved it there and we are coming back in summer to try a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager. He is great!!!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welena22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Wayside Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Our family stayed in the cottage last summer for a long weekend. It's nothing fancy, but it was great to have a spacious apartment, away from the noisy streets. The pool is just steps away from the cottage and our kids had it all to themselves most of the time.

If you are accustomed to traditional hotels with a concierge desk and a bustling lobby, don't stay here. But it if you'd enjoy a private little hideaway just a few blocks from the main drag and don't mind if the decor is a little tired, Wayside's cottage is a great place to stay.

BTW, Contrary to other reviews, I found the air conditioning in the cottage more than adequate even in the July heat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatJack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I wrote a day or so ago, but was not sure that it went through. I'm trying again because this is such a lovely and unique place to stay when in Newport. I believe I said that it was like visiting old friends or dear cousins and the Posts do everything to make your stay pleasurable. Each room has a quality of its own and is unique. No mass hotel decorating! You are surrounded by things from a past era and can imagine yourself living in the 1800's. The place is clean, cheerful and in an excellent location and certainly the price is right. This time we stayed in the little cottage in the rear which is also cheerful and has a nautical theme. There are 2 bedrooms, a private bath and kitchen and a living/dining area. If you are lucky, you will be able to experience a stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newport23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is my second trip to Newport and was my first time staying at the Wayside B&B. After my first visit to Newport, I was determined that for my next visit to Newport we would stay somewhere located in a more central location to the sigths and the Wayside was the perfect place for us. The apartment was perfect for my wife, 2 sons and I, very clean and my sons couldnt get enough of the pool! In addition to being just a couple of minutes away from Fourty steps,mansions and less than a block away from Narragansent avenue that takes you straight to all the restaurants and attractions on Thames street, the owners were extremely gracious to my family and helped make our family vacation one that we will remember for a long time to come....thanks and we will see you next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b2ramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

if you care about location and there are only 2 of you, then the Wayside Inn is probably ok. The Inn is on Belleveue Ave right next to the spectacular mansions. The rooms in the main house are a bit shabby but they are spacious and have character, although the bathrooms are miniscule. We unfortunately made the mistake of staying in 'the cottage in the garden' as it was erroneously described. At $300 a night I was expecting something at least slightly endearing. I wasn't expecting to be led across a cracked concrete carpark away from the main house to the garage. We were led up musty smelling stairs to some rooms above the garage that had damp stains on the ceilings and tiny dark bedrooms with spiderwebs. The air conditioning apparently only works if the bedroom and bathroom doors are closed, which means only the person on the uncomfortable fold out couch gets to sleep in a coolish room. It was absolutely unbearably hot while we where there and none of us slept at all. Apparently there were fans in each of the 2 bedrooms, but in one room the fan was in the cupboard and as the lighting was so dim we didn't actually find it until the next morning. The other bedroom with the King size bed had musty smelling pillowslips and the bed slanted not only to the side, but also downwards, so your head is lower than your feet. Subsequently we suffered both gastric reflux and the unpleasant sensation that we were falling out of the bed all night. There is a swimming pool which is relatively pleasant and breakfast was perfectly adequate - fruit, cereal, juice and fresh muffins, but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waysidenewport, Manager at Wayside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

So glad you enjoyed your stay Paul! And...a soap dish is now installed in Room 1's shower!

Best Regards, Lorraine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 km away
Hawthorne House of Newport
Hawthorne House of Newport
#45 of 95 in Newport
15 reviews
0.5 km away
No photo provided
Coles Court Newport
#4 of 7 in Newport
1 reviews
0.1 km away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#17 of 95 in Newport
174 reviews
1.0 km away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#31 of 95 in Newport
194 reviews
0.6 km away
Samuel Durfee House
Samuel Durfee House
#10 of 95 in Newport
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest House

Address: 406 Bellevue Ave., 406 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-6914
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 9,745 - ₹ 12,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to Governor Elijah Dyer, Wayside is on Bellevue Ave. between the Cliffwalk and lower Thames Street. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing