We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to cramped, crowded, noisy and expensive hotels of down the hill”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wayside Guest House
Ranked #36 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great alternative to cramped, crowded, noisy and expensive hotels of down the hill”
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Our family stayed in the cottage last summer for a long weekend. It's nothing fancy, but it was great to have a spacious apartment, away from the noisy streets. The pool is just steps away from the cottage and our kids had it all to themselves most of the time.

If you are accustomed to traditional hotels with a concierge desk and a bustling lobby, don't stay here. But it if you'd enjoy a private little hideaway just a few blocks from the main drag and don't mind if the decor is a little tired, Wayside's cottage is a great place to stay.

BTW, Contrary to other reviews, I found the air conditioning in the cottage more than adequate even in the July heat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatJack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    14
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I wrote a day or so ago, but was not sure that it went through. I'm trying again because this is such a lovely and unique place to stay when in Newport. I believe I said that it was like visiting old friends or dear cousins and the Posts do everything to make your stay pleasurable. Each room has a quality of its own and is unique. No mass hotel decorating! You are surrounded by things from a past era and can imagine yourself living in the 1800's. The place is clean, cheerful and in an excellent location and certainly the price is right. This time we stayed in the little cottage in the rear which is also cheerful and has a nautical theme. There are 2 bedrooms, a private bath and kitchen and a living/dining area. If you are lucky, you will be able to experience a stay there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newport23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

This is my second trip to Newport and was my first time staying at the Wayside B&B. After my first visit to Newport, I was determined that for my next visit to Newport we would stay somewhere located in a more central location to the sigths and the Wayside was the perfect place for us. The apartment was perfect for my wife, 2 sons and I, very clean and my sons couldnt get enough of the pool! In addition to being just a couple of minutes away from Fourty steps,mansions and less than a block away from Narragansent avenue that takes you straight to all the restaurants and attractions on Thames street, the owners were extremely gracious to my family and helped make our family vacation one that we will remember for a long time to come....thanks and we will see you next summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b2ramu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

if you care about location and there are only 2 of you, then the Wayside Inn is probably ok. The Inn is on Belleveue Ave right next to the spectacular mansions. The rooms in the main house are a bit shabby but they are spacious and have character, although the bathrooms are miniscule. We unfortunately made the mistake of staying in 'the cottage in the garden' as it was erroneously described. At $300 a night I was expecting something at least slightly endearing. I wasn't expecting to be led across a cracked concrete carpark away from the main house to the garage. We were led up musty smelling stairs to some rooms above the garage that had damp stains on the ceilings and tiny dark bedrooms with spiderwebs. The air conditioning apparently only works if the bedroom and bathroom doors are closed, which means only the person on the uncomfortable fold out couch gets to sleep in a coolish room. It was absolutely unbearably hot while we where there and none of us slept at all. Apparently there were fans in each of the 2 bedrooms, but in one room the fan was in the cupboard and as the lighting was so dim we didn't actually find it until the next morning. The other bedroom with the King size bed had musty smelling pillowslips and the bed slanted not only to the side, but also downwards, so your head is lower than your feet. Subsequently we suffered both gastric reflux and the unpleasant sensation that we were falling out of the bed all night. There is a swimming pool which is relatively pleasant and breakfast was perfectly adequate - fruit, cereal, juice and fresh muffins, but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waysidenewport, Manager at Wayside Guest House, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay Paul! And...a soap dish is now installed in Room 1's shower!

Best Regards, Lorraine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We stayed at the Wayside last year. This was our 3rd trip to Newport in 20 or so years. On the good side, the Wayside has a real nice location...you're just down the street from the Casino and walking distance to some of the tour mansions. Having a pool is also handy, and it is in a quiet area of Newport. The breakfast area is beautiful and the breakfast was first rate. The owner is very nice and friendly, and he tried to accomodate our needs as best as he could, On the down side, we experienced that "shabby" aspect other reviews have spoken about. This place is in need of serious upgrading...much of it is simply run down. Our room had a TV that had to have been made in the mid 1970's. Dust, spider webs, un-vacuumed floors, worn out carpets, etc. It must have been a beautiful place in the 1930's, and it still could be magnificent, but right now it needs some work to become a top level B+B.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NortheastUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.3 km away
Hawthorne House of Newport
Hawthorne House of Newport
#52 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 km away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#12 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#40 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 km away
Bouchard Inn
Bouchard Inn
#20 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 km away
Admiral Weaver Inn
Admiral Weaver Inn
#78 of 95 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest House

Property: Wayside Guest House
Address: 406 Bellevue Ave., 406 Bellevue Avenue, Newport, RI 02840-6914
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,689 - ₹ 12,596
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing