We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Little Inn - Amazing Host”
Review of The Attwater

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Attwater
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Little Inn - Amazing Host”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Modern chic hotel with best hotel host I have ever had. I believe Rob is the actual owner, and he always made sure we had a great day planned out. He was very knowledgeable about the area, and gave great recommendations. I enjoyed the modern and chic look to the hotel compared to some of the older B&Bs that Newport had to offer. Very comfortable beds and nice amenities.

Great treats and options for breakfast and snacks. Less than a 10 minute walk to wharfs. The only thing that was not 100% seemed to be a couple details that were related to the newness of the Inn - Rob seemed to already be addressing the ones I noticed. I was going to mark the value as only four stars, but compared to area hotels, B&B, and Inns I thought it was well worth the money.

It was a fantastic stop on my honeymoon around New England.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Well, you got Rob blushing! We are so glad you joined us during your honeymoon trip through New England. We strive every day to continue making The Attwater better and better for our guests and we appreciate your thoughtful review and comments. Please make us a stop next year on your anniversary (if not before)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    93
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
61
253
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Be dazzled by the chic and stylish decor;
Appreciate the convenient location;
Enjoy the tasty breakfast choices;
Revel in the warm hospitality; and,
Delight in the personal attention of the owners and staff.
That's what makes the newly renovated Attwater a a place we recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTrendies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Well, that is very poetic! Thank you for your recommendation. We enjoyed having you stay at The Attwater. Love the photos you posted! Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I learned about the Attwater Hotel on the Today Show and I'm glad I took notes because when I needed a room during a busy Newport weekend, the reservationist was very customer-service oriented and accommodating. As I had researched hotels and B&B's in Newport, the rates, accommodations, amenities, and even free parking could not match the those offered by the Attwater. I was even more pleased when I arrived and saw the hotel in person. The design is chic and funky, yet approachable and comfortable. The common areas are spacious and well-appointed and the rooms were a delight--modern, well-situated, yet cozy. The combination of the bed and sheets equaled a wonderful night's sleep. The Attwater is newly-renovated and very clean--it's as if no one has used the dresser drawers. The owners and staff are welcoming and knowledgable about Newport. The location is convenient to many attractions. I look forward to staying at other Lark Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
It's so nice to hear that you found The Attwater chic/funky and comfortable/approachable. That's exactly what we were going for! We appreciate both your visit and your review. It's always great to hear that a guest slept well and enjoyed our amenities and location. Isn't that what a great getaway is all about? We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I feel like this place is the best kept secret in Newport. Great location, walkable to everything. Great service, super clean rooms and delicious breakfast/treats! So glad we stayed. I will definitely tell everyone I know to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
That you for your kind review, and please, share the secret! We love having happy guests at The Attwater!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I spent some time at the Attwater in early June and had an outstanding experience. We learned of the Attwater after seeing the segment The Today Show did on the hotel. The rooms are recently updated, very fresh, and extremely clean. I had a great conversation with the owner and learned quite a bit about the chic style of the hotel and the design concepts used. They offer a delicious and healthy breakfast every morning (included in rate) in an attractive and bright space...the perfect start to your day. The price was right and I will certainly return to the Attwater very soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWGII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The Attwater, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Well, we certainly are glad you watch the Today Show! Thank you for your lovely words and for coming to visit. We're glad you had a chance to chat with Rob about the design - a subject very dear to his heart. Please come and visit us again when your travels bring you to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,992 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.0 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.4 km away
Gilded
Gilded
#10 of 21 in Newport
177 reviews
1.8 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Attwater? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Attwater

Property: The Attwater
Address: 22 Liberty St, Newport, RI 02840-3221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#5 Spa Hotel in Newport
#9 Business Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,883 - ₹ 41,750
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Attwater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in Newport’s nautical history — yet with a bold touch of the unexpected — you’ll experience our most original Newport accommodations in stylish comfort.Discover a more personal lodging alternative to big box hotels — yet with a chic, modern edge elusive to most B&Bs. Find exceptional rooms and amenities; a clever, all-day coffee cafe; the latest tech amenities; and attentive service when you want it (privacy when you don’t).As one of the first hotel properties in Newport, the Attwater is set on a quiet street just a block off Bellevue Avenue in the central historic district. All of Newport’s sights, sounds and tastes — sailing, tennis, night life, restaurants, beaches, history, mansions — are all only a short stroll away. In fact, our newly renovated boutique hotel is merely three blocks from Newport Harbor and an eight-minute walk to First Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Attwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attwater Villa Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing