We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #5 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Branchville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
215 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I highly recommend this inn. It was very nice to come back to our room and just relax after a long day of walking around downtown or along the cliff walk. The room was perfect for what we needed. It was clean and spacious, with a huge bathroom and large jacuzzi tub. Breakfast was delicious (especially the French Toast) and a great start to our days. Everyone at the inn was very pleasant and more than happy to help with anything that you needed. It's probably about a 15 minute walk to the downtown area, but that was great for us. It kept us away from all the hustle and bustle or the shopping area. I would definitely stay here again if we came back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Woohoo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    50
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
200
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

From the outside, the house that this B&B is located in is very cute. There is a circular drive, with ample parking in the back, and you can reach your room from either the front or the back, which is convenient. The location is not great, though. It is not located in the cute downtown that you think of when you think of Newport. It's a little off the beaten pack, a little less than a mile away from the restaurant area of this section of Newport. There were some questionable characters that I spotted walking around.
When we arrived, there was no one around to check us in, but the staff did leave a little note with our room key and instructions, which was very nice and helpful.
The room itself was fine. Small but with a king bed, which was great, and comfortable. There was a gas-operated fireplace in the room, and the windows opened, both which were also very enjoyable. The bathroom was a decent size with a HUGE jacuzzi tub in it. There was not a great attention to detail, however. The towels throughout the bathroom did not match, and there was only one bar (very small) of soap. Also, the staff did not service the room while we were there - because we must have been sleeping when they came to make up the room, they left a plastic bag of towels outside of the room.
The breakfast is very decent. Not HUGE, which I feel they tout, but adequate. Overall it is an acceptable place, but I do not think I would stay here again. Also, the walls are very thin, and I could hear a lot of the conversation from the people out in the hall and even in their room that was adjacent to ours.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Xdcdcd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niantic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We highly recommend this inn as a place to truly relax. The rooms are beautiful, and a warm, friendly atmosphere welcomes you from the very start. The breakfasts are delicious, and plentiful, with every need met, as far as we are concerned. There is also the ability to have a cup of tea after hours, and to sit and enjoy the common room at your leisure. The innkeepers are friendly and attend to your needs, as well as being interested in you as people. We are looking forward to returning again (we had been there before, and enjoyed it.)
They have a great little dog that you are sure to fall in love with, too.

Room Tip: Remember to tell the innkeeper just what type of room you need, i.e. if you'd like first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy and Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The only regret I have about our stay at The Beech Tree Inn was that it was only a one night visit. The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable. The girl who checked us in gave us a map of Newport & pointed out local attractions & restaurants. Our host was an extremely kind gentleman who also took our breakfast order in the morning. Now for the dish on breakfast: there was fruit & yogurt, toast & cereal, coffee, tea, & juice. And then we were allowed to choose an entree as well that the hosts of the B & B cooked on the spot in their kitchen! My husband had a ham, mushroom, & cheese omelet with home fries, & I got three delicious blueberry pancakes with bacon. If we are ever back in Newport we will definitely be back to stay at The Beech Tree Inn!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank raisaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

We went to Newport for a couple's getaway weekend. The Beech Tree Inn was a great place to stay. It was not too far from all the restaurants and shops. The room was sunny and bright, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious. The innkeeper was very friendly and helpful with advice on local attractions.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karenmiller521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,819 reviews
1.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#3 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.7 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#4 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 km away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#11 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,323 - ₹ 22,986
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing